We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2012

very clean and organised. ask for the key of the toilets close to the restaurant, much clean because you have to give 20$ cash deposit, but you have almost your private toilet, in 1 week just me and my partner have used it. staff very polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariodambrosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 336 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

we arrived at 5 pm, the lady at the reception desk was kind and we decided to stay two days. After a short review and internal discusion we decided to leave one day earlier to do some more km on our trip at the next day. So only one hour later (6 pm) we went back to the reception to tell the lady to stay only one instead of two days but she doesn't gave us the money back, so we had to take 16 bottles 1.5 l water because the lady said she is not allowed to recharge the day. We were very disapointed about that restriction :-(.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karstengrebing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirlieCove, Owner at BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

We apologise for the inconveniences you incurred. Whilst we do have refund policies in place, the reception staff member was a trainee. Our training procedures have been reviewed and once again sorry for the confusion. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have stayed at Airlie Cove 4 times before and enjoyed them all. We recommended it to friends this year, and joined them there for 7 days. They were taken back with our recommendation, and believed we had mixed the parks up. We arrived 2 days after them and we were shocked at the decline in the place. Most of the place look very run down. First up we had a problem getting the van level as the slop was too much for a 20ft van. Then they put us down the back in the corner, as if we had a bad disease. It was like camping on your own. We also requested to be near our friends, but we were 100mts away from them. We were expected to stay for 14 days all together, but moved to Canningvale park for the other 7 days, and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirlieCove, Manager at BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Our apologies that your stay at Airlie Cove on this occasion did not reach your expectations. Being a repeat guest, we would like to think that you enjoy your experience here each time. We currently have a progressive maintenance program in place as unfortunately the park suffered significant weather damage earlier this year and it is being completed in stages. In regards to your location, many people prefer being in a more private area given the type of park we are, which is why the staff may have allocated you the spot, but of course if this was not your preference our sincere apologies. Our staff would normally endeavour to assist with any special requests and very sorry to hear that it was not addressed. We will discuss this with Front Office and we hope you see you back in the Whitsundays again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

It is with a heavy heart that I write this review. My wife and I originally stayed at Airlie Cove Caravan Park in 1996, while travelling around Australia. We were so impressed with Airlie and the caravan park, that we have used Airlie Cove as our base ever since, even as our family has continued to grow. It would not be an exaggeration to say that we have probably stayed here 12 times - in small cabins, camping, in a campervan, in more comfortable villas and in the Bali Deluxe villas. I give this preamble to make clear that my negative review below overrides 15 years of customer loyalty and many, many happy memories.

Unfortunately, our last visit to Airlie Cove, during the Easter holidays, will also be our final visit. Over the last few years we have taken to staying in the Bali Delux Villas with friends on an annual holiday catch up. This year was no different, but on checking in to our villa we were shocked to see such a decline in the park. The internal roads inside the caravan park were in a poor state of repair. One of the roads was closed off with sandbags - obviously a flood mitigation strategy from the wet season. The restaurant at the back of the complex was shut down, the tables and chairs covered in dust.

When we arrived at our villa, it was hard to escape the dank, mouldy smell of the rooms. The bunk room's carpet, in particular, smelt like the hair on a wet dog. My kids who had been sitting in the car for 8 hours, were ready for their showers. Unfortunately there was NO hot water - a problem that was not fixed until the next day. Our friends finally arrived and we offered them a cuppa before they got themselves settled. Unfortunately the kettle contained a dead cockroach floating in the kettle. The next day became quite hot. Turn on the fans? Sorry, not working. Sit down for dinner? Chair broken, resulting in my two year old tumbling to the floor. Comfortable sleep? Sorry, cockroaches in the sheets. I kid you not!

Of course, we reported all these things to the new management team who made comforting sounds, fixed some things reasonably promptly, but couldn't seem to empathise with the feeling of having cockroaches as bedfellows. We did request upon leaving that the Airlile Cove refund us one night's accommodation costs - $210. Instead the manager offered us three night accommodation voucher as compensation for the unhygenic conditions we paid for - which we declined. The manager told us that she would email us at a later date to confirm whether a refund of $210 would be issued.

Unsurprisingly, after waiting many weeks, we had not heard back from Airlie Cove about the status of our refund. We emailed them instead and this time they offered us a two night accommodation voucher saying that it was against 'company policy' to issue refunds. Again, we respectfully declined their current offer. As we said to them as we were leaving, we have no intention of staying with Airlie Cove again until they completely change their approach to cleanliness.

Over the years we have told scores of people about our positive experiences of our time staying at Airlie Cove - 14 years worth of positive experiences! However, it seems that by declining refund of $210, Airlie Cove don't seem to think our loyalty is worth much. If I had a company, it would be my 'company policy' to address complaints promptly and reasonably, and to look after loyal repeat visitors.

We are due to return to Airlie in May next year for our annual holiday with friends. I'd like to thank Airlie Cove for providing us with a lot of good memories and it's a shame that we no longer feel Airlie Cove can meet some fairly basic hygeine and maintenance standards. I hope, for their sake, that they can make Airlie Cove great again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Claybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirlieCove, Manager at BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

It is with regret that we read your review, particularly as a repeat guest, and hope we can explain some of the factors relating to your feedback.

Unfortunately the park suffered significant damage with the constant amount of rain, local flooding and cyclones earlier this year and ever since then we have had an ongoing maintenance plan and program in place which we are working on and which is required to be completed in stages.

I know you did your review in October but we do realise that you stayed earlier in the year at Easter and at that stage there was more evidence from the recent flooding.

Our sincerest apologies for the insects...we did apologise at the time but understand this was very unpleasant for you. Unfortunately wet weather does not help with creepy crawlies but rest assured this is absolutely not an ongoing problem. We attempted to address your complaints as quickly and as efficiently as possible...it was a Sunday over Easter long weekend but we were still able to call in a tradesman and sent housekeeping in the re-clean the whole cabin. It does become difficult to offer a refund on completion of the entirety of any given stay, instead of earlier on, but we were certainly happy to offer a free voucher at that point in time given the problems you had incurred.

All this aside we are most displeased that you had such an unpleasant experience as we endeavour to ensure all guests have an enjoyable stay, particularly guests who have stayed with us before.

In recent months we have had a significant overhaul in staff and we are endeavouring to continually enhance the park grounds, facilities and accommodation. Our apologies once again and it would be nice to think that perhaps one day you may return to Airlie Cove and remember a family favourite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is a smaller Big 4 then the other in the area... which we liked it as it was not so much for familys as the other. We stayed in one of the Studio Ensuites for 3 nights ... it had nice clean bathroom and bedroom, which inc TV, tea and coffee and small fridge. We eat out but you could keep your bbq meat etc in the fridge as ther is a couple of big, clean and nice camp kitchens and bbqs.
Ther is a bustop right outside the park and if you ask at reception you can get a $4 all day ticket, this is about $10 cheaper then geting it on the bus.
It is in walking distance from a friendly pizza place down the road and from Jubilee pocket tavern. The bus goes in to Airlie beach but is a good distance to be out of the way, yet close enough to pop down the road if you wanted.
The Staff are very friendly and heplfull. They rang the tavern for us to see when they opend for lunch and dinner. Ther is a small kind of shop that sells bits like soap and pot noodles.
This is a quieter time of year so maybe be difrent over the summer.

Room Tip: We stayed in an end room by the gardeners area and was the nearest to the TV room... I would go on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 2011sue2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirlieCove, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Glad you had a great stay, thank you for the great review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed here before and after our Whit Sunday trip and would not be able to recommend this resort to any backpacker. The staff are very unfriendly rude even. The cabins are for familes - double bed and 3 tier bunkbeds that are meant to sleep children not adults. The TV closes at 7 and it is a long walk into town. There is no free shuttle service into the town and you have to pay for linen.

Room Tip: Not a nice atmosphere to be in, don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirlieCove, Manager at BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

We are very sorry to hear that Airlie Cove did not meet your expectations. We do promote ourselves as a tranquil property and many backpackers enjoy the nature, wildlife and serenity of the environment with many choosing different accommodation options. Unfortunately it seems we may not have suited your needs and we will endeavour to follow up with your booking agent to ensure they are updated on our product. I am unsure which staff member you felt was rude – good customer service is an important part of our staff training and we will look at this process and talk to staff involved. It is not something that we would ever condone so please accept our apologies. In regards to the TV room, we are open from 7am to 7pm but we are always happy to keep the TV room open longer upon request. Other room types have TV and linen but not the cabins that you were booked in. We don't have free bus service to town but there is a bus stop right at our front door which takes you the short ride into town and there is a $4 day pass covering Proserpine to Airlie Beach all inclusive. Our apologies once again and we hope you otherwise enjoyed your Whitsundays holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Really disappointing. We were sad to be placed in a little cabin with a leaking airconditioner facing onto what was obviously a dumping ground for used items.
Pity!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 255068HappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirlieCove, Manager at BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

We are very sorry to hear that your stay was a disappointment. Airlie Cove does endeavour to offer a product that people are happy with...our natural environment is one we are proud of and we certainly don’t want it to be seen as a dumping ground! We are questioning whether you are referring to the service station next door but regardless we would have liked more details so we will look through our guest feedback cards in the hope of finding further information. Our apologies also regarding the air-conditioner. We do have a maintenance team and schedule, so again we will see if we can investigate this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
14.9 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.6 mi away
Island Gateway Holiday Park
Island Gateway Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
164 reviews
2.4 mi away
Seabreeze Tourist Park Airlie Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort
1.1 mi away
Flametree Tourist Village
Flametree Tourist Village
#1 of 1 in Flametree
172 reviews
2 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park

Address: Cnr Ferntree Rd and Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $59 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park is a tranquil 28 acre tropical haven, offering a natural environment whilst being conveniently located just 2 kilometres through Airlie Beach. Airlie Cove is the perfect base for exploring the Whitsundays for day tours to the Great Barrier Reef and Whitsunday Islands. BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort has a range of comfortable and affordable accommodation including deluxe Bali Villas, one and two bedroom cabins, en-suite cabins, park cabins and powered sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Cove Hotel
BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing