We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but not great value.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coral Sea Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location but not great value.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Stayed a week here - view good, but despite being half empty we didn't get a room with a great view and the sun never reached the balcony. For the money you spend to stay, the fitness centre is not up to scratch, newspapers not provided and average service in the restaurant and reception. Despite staying 7 nights they still wanted us to pay $80 to stay an extra 1 hour after checkout.
The room was fine, but was ground floor, and so got a bit noisy with people in the room above.
Restaurant was again expensive, and yet the food was ordinary (and on the first night, cold).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie11270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    324
    84
    34
    34
See reviews for
190
621
38
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

Fabulous destination! Great accommodation which is located right on the ocean waterfront front. The sounds of the ocean lapping over the rocks carresses you to sleep. Accomodation is ideal and suitable if you wanted to spend more than a few nights and do meal preparaton in your room, supermarkets are close by for provisions. Restaurants have a well thought out menu and the food lives up to its descriptives. The wine list is very good and not your typical base varieties that can tend to happen in resorts. Airlie Beach is so easy to get to from Melbourne, Jetstar offer a direct flight from Melbourne to Hamilton Island and then a refreshing trip to Airlie Beach on the ferry. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melinda003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
131 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

We spent Easter at the Coral Sea Resort in Airlie Beach. We got a very spacious room in the new wing, with a large queen size bed and great view of the bay. We enjoyed to sit on the balcony, looking out to the sea and watching the cockatoos flying. The bathroom was nice, but it is right next to the bed and only split off by a wooden wall, so if you have intimacy issues, you wouldn't like it so much. There is a big telly with digital TV, you'll enjoy that on a rainy day (as there is not much to do on those days in Airlie Beach).

We had dinner twice at the restaurant, located by the pool. Food is very good. Staff is trying hard, but sometimes a bit too hard: being asked four times by different waiters whether I would like to have cracked pepper over my soup/salad/main course/dessert is quite annoying. A tropical breakfast is included, it's good enough. As we stayed there over Easter, we had expected something special for Easter Sunday, being the highest Catholic holiday and all, but were highly disappointed. No decorations, no special menue, nothing at all. One would expect more from a hotel as the Coral Sea Resort.

The pool is large and very pleasant but could use a refurbishment, as could the main building's facade. It looks a bit old and is longing for a little make-over. The walk to town is about 5 minutes and quite pleasant, there are also good restaurants there.

Overall we liked our stay and can recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberbob2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

We spent one night at the Coral Sea Resort and stayed in the Ocean View room with the spa on the verandah. This was fantastic - this was the first night of our honeymoon and we were happy to sit there for hours enjoying the views and the cockatoos who came to visit. The room look newly furnished and was very tasteful. Staff were a bit prickly, but obliging. Definately recommend spending a little more and upgrading to these rooms :-) Lovely breakfast included. We also enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant down stairs - great atmosphere. Lovely staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BreeKats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

While travelling as a part of my job, I get to stay in many hotels & resorts from 3 star to 4 star. The Coral Sea Resort at Airlie Beach has to be the best I have had the pleasure to visit. The location, restaurant, staff & facilities were all above my expectations. I would thoroughly recommend the Coral Sea to any who have the pleasure of travelling to Nth Queensland.
Rex Woellner
Sales Manager
Duraplex P/L

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rexwoellner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you we look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

Stayed here for one night before a 3 day Whitsundays cruise and for one night after. When we arrived the receptionist gave us the wrong directions to the room which wasn't very helpful! The room was quite average but still nice and clean. Breakfast was good, luckliy it was a buffet as the service for lunch was awful. There was only one other table there for lunch but the staff couldn't even handle this, we were left waiting to order for about half an hour. The food was ok.
The second night we stayed there we were in a nicer room on the 2nd floor....although there were quite a few ants in the bathroom. I suppose this is to be expected in the tropical climate, although I don't really understand why there were no ants in our downstairs room on the first night.
The pool area was nice though with a great view out to sea.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

Hotel room very comfortable with tea making facilities, a small sink and microwave so you could prepare a limited meal. Restaurant good.; both breakfast and evening meal. Hotel had washing machines and dryers useful if you are touring around.Good sized swimming pool. Views from restaurant/ gardens beautiful.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Easy walk to main town.
Main town and restaurants really more suited to backpackers

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolElaineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
16.6 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Resort

Property: Coral Sea Resort
Address: 25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the absolute ocean front and just a short stroll via seaside boardwalk to the enchanting Airlie Beach resort village; with its relaxed atmosphere and collection of eclectic shops and cafes; lies the Coral Sea Resort. A stroll in the opposite direction crossing a separate boardwalk with the sea below is Abel Point Marina, your direct access to the Whitsunday Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Coral Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Resort Hotel
Coral Resort Sea
Coral Sea Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing