We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute gem”
Review of Coral Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coral Sea Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2009

This hotel is a a little dated but the rooms are really big and we enjoyed fabulous views of the Coral sea. It was much better than we had expected and was a great base to discover the Whitsunday islands. We have stayed in many other resorts in airlie beach but in terms of value and views - this one stood out.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2009

The hotel is OK and room was adequate but the whole place needs a bit of a facelift. Just little things that people expect now ie flat screen TV in the room and electronic keys. The restaurant after getting off to a shaky start be serving us on dirty crockery was actually pretty good. The pool is large and has a canopy to provide some shade. The location is a far walk out of town but the flip side is the views from the pool side of the hotel are spectacular and you can watch all of the boats coming in and out of the harbour. I would stay here again if the price was right but if they want to charge 4* prices they need to spruce it up a bit.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Yet, I cannot suggest a better place. I guess the one disappointment was that it was in the middle of the rainy, humid season and the air conditioner was not on in the room. We had to turn it on and wait until it became comfortable. It was late at night when we arrived, so that is not what one would expect. There was no air conditioning in the common area, so once outside of your room, it was uncomfortable. The good points were that the staff was helpful, the location was great, it was a pretty resort, but in their efforts to keep their costs down for utilities, they were suffering the effects of humid weather inside their hotel, such as mold and mildew which is a constant battle. We had stayed in mostly 4 and 5 star hotels during our extended trip and this one was at the bottom. Sorry, Coral Sea.! And yet, I don't know what would be better in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weatheringhts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

just got back from coral sea resort ,great view s and loverly hotel room ,very cean and comfortable ,good service from smiling staff very happy place to stay .handy 5mins walk into airlie beach and handy walk to abel point marina to catch boats for day trips .missing the view already will go back again . thank you coral sea for making my holiday so enjoyable .

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reddevil1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

This hotel is so over priced, there was no storage in the room apart from 3 hangers no shelves, why should I have to live out my suitcase when I have booked and paid for one of the most expensive rooms.

As for the staff that served food, as for the prev reviewer saying try talking to them, I WOULD IF THEY SPOKE ENGLISH!

The room had a spa on balcony great if your a midget, maybe good for one person but where is the fun on that.

Hotel great for backpackers if you do not expect much.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Partygal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Had package deal which was pre booked months before the actual dates we were due to go away and things started going wrong from when we arrived at the airport. Things were meant to be booked and they werent, we had to do all the ringing around to find out what was happening. No one took responsibilty. Came back from holidays and lodged complaint and Coral Sea Resort still wont take any responsibility. Had very poor customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank big76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaResort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2009

Dear big76

Thank you for your feedback.

I would like to advise I have replied in detail to your travel agent in relation to your concerns during your stay at the property. I would encourage you to contact your travel agent who has detailed feedback in relation to your concerns. Once you have been in touch with your travel agent I would be happy to discuss with you any further issues (if required). Please do not hesitate to contact me at your convenience.

Sincerely

Jeff Aquilina
General Manager
Coral Sea Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Like most people I read previous reviews and became slightly worried, I need not have, I booked over the internet and on arrival they had all my details ready and booking in was no problem at all.
The room was a Bay View Suite, and it was excellent, well appointed with 2 setees, large double bed, ample storage, large tv, as well as microwave, fridge etc, and spotlessly clean.
revious reports have criticised the Schooner restaurant for slowness of service and young travellers employed as waiting staff, again we experienced none of this. If I order a meal and it is on the table in 2 minutes I tend to think that it is already prepared and just heated up, the meals here were what you would expect from a high class restaurant, the steaks were the best I have ever eaten and all meals were of an excellent standard, not cheap but excellent for which I don't mind paying. The staff were all local and very helpful about where to go and what to see, perhaps the people complaining about young "travellers" working in hotels and not caring about customers should try talking to some of them instead of looking down their noses at them and treating them as skivvies.
All in all this is a wonderful place to stay, ignore all the negative remarks from the grumpy people and have a great time. we did

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DevizesSteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
418 reviews
16.7 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
10.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Resort

Address: 25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $153 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the absolute ocean front and just a short stroll via seaside boardwalk to the enchanting Airlie Beach resort village; with its relaxed atmosphere and collection of eclectic shops and cafes; lies the Coral Sea Resort. A stroll in the opposite direction crossing a separate boardwalk with the sea below is Abel Point Marina, your direct access to the Whitsunday Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Resort Hotel
Coral Resort Sea
Coral Sea Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing