We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coral Seas Resort a Execellent Place to Holiday”
Review of Coral Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Sea Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We Stayed At Coral Seas Resort as part of a wedding package and veiws from the penthouse we stayed in were amazing, overlooking the coral sea,Airlie Beach and Whitsunday Islands. Overall the staff were absolutly amazing, they were so polite and very helpful in everything we needed to know. The penthouse room we stayed in was the cleanest room we have ever stayed in. Overall the Resort offers everything you need to relax and enjoy your stay, The Resort is the cleanest Resort i have ever stayed in and Recommend it Highly as one of must do's when staying in the Whitsundays. If you are thinking about staying at Coral Seas Resort,"Dont think about it Do it"

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HFA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2009

Whilst visiting Airlie Beach I stayed at Coral Sea Resort on the recommendation of friends who live in Airlie. They knew I was looking for somewhere quiet to relax and unwind, and the Coral Sea fulfilled by desire.
On checking in to the resort the staff were very friendly and courteous without going over the top, first impressions count in my book.
The room was very clean and modern with a great view and to top it off the resort was very quiet, with the rooms being away from the swimming pool.
In the evening I dined in the on-site restaurant, staff were very efficient and the meals were five star, they even obliged by wish of a table away from the main area, not that it was noisy, I just wanted to be out near the water and soak it all in.
Of course you can't stay on holidays forever, but I will definitely be going back to the Coral Sea for my next chill out.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank onemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

Our recent stay at the Coral Sea Resort was a most enjoyable experience. All the staff working there, from reception to room service and the fabulous Clippers restaurant were very friendly and welcoming. We were well looked after with a smile. The room was well presented with fabulous views. The restaurant was 5 star quality. The pool area is well situated with stunning views of the Whitsunday Islands. Everything was accessible, in close proximty to all local venues. Highly recommend the Coral Sea Resort to any couples or families thinking of visiting the Airlie Beach Peninsula. The Hawaiian Fire dance dinner show on a Saturday evening at the Clippers restaurant is a definite attraction. The seafood buffet and a la carte menu is exquisite.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pugszy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Hubby and I have recently returned from a trip to Queensland Australia. As part of the trip we were fortunate enough to have chosen the Coral Sea Resort, Airlie Beach in the Whitsundays for a three night stay. The first thing to hit us on the approach to the resort was the setting, the resort overlooks the sea and offers great views of the whitsundays and harbour to one side, whilst a small stroll to the other side will amaze you when you see the sea lapping at the roadside.

The resort itself is bright, cheerful and clean looking and we just knew we were going to have a relaxing time. On checking in, the reception staff could not have been nicer, so very friendly and welcoming; they told us about the town and informed us that the local market was on that morning should we be interested. Although we had arrived very early, our room was ready for us, for which we were very grateful given the heat and humidity outside. On arrival in our room, which was more an apartment, we were amazed with the space we had. There was a sitting area, a kitchen area, laundry facilities, separate toilet/ bath/shower, a huge bedroom with patio doors that opened onto a patio area with fantastic sea views. The sitting area also had patio doors with the same fab view. We decided quickly that we could have easily lived there.
Whilst there we booked a sailing trip around the Whitsunday’s through the hotel, we found that unlike some hotels, the price we were given was very competitive and we were able to speak to someone who had done the same trip recently.
The pool area is a fantastic place to relax after a days shopping or sightseeing, it is elevated over the sea, and there are ample recliners and shaded areas (so no need to throw your towel over). And you must try the pool bar for snacks, but most of all the cocktails (yummmm)
But what stood out for me was the service, absolutely nothing was too much trouble, during our stay in Australia, there had been a family problem at home and on our day of departure I needed to make some urgent e mails. On asking at reception about internet access I was offered card with $14 worth of credit on it. Real service from genuinely nice people. We will definitely be going back, but for longer next time.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JKD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We have spent quite a lot of nights in this hotel. The check-in was very fast but unremarkable. They just sort of hand you your key and tell you where your room is. Be aware when you book a suite on the upper floor: there are no elevators so you have to haul your luggage up yourself. We were not asked if we needed someone to help us.
The room was ok (rattan furniture,shower needs an update) but the jacuzzi is not big enough to sit 2 people as they show you on the picture. They apparently have different sizes so make sure you check with them.
Front desk is totally hopeless with any question you have for them. There is one guy that is very efficient and helpful (Geoff). The rest of them either do not care or are just plain rude. They need to be retrained and reminded that they are there to help the guests.
We booked trips through the hotel shop. Wow what to say here.
They promise you go to the Withsunday beach. Well instead they take you to see the beach from the lookout post and then drop you off on some small beach next to the real thing. I have looked now at many blogs(too late) and this seems to be the thing they always do. Their excuse is that "the currents are wrong" but they cannot be "wrong" all the time right?? So if you want to go specifically to that beach make sure you book it with someone else. Plenty of places to book in the town itself. Snorkeling in Manta Ray bay was awesome and better than we have seen at the Great Barrier Reef itself.
Poolside chairs. It is pretty clear a lot of guests prefer the grassy area because that is the only shady place with an overlook on to the sea. Great actually. So you would think there would be chairs set out for you to lay on. No. Every day you have to lug your own chair to that area from the pool chairs. No idea why this is done.
Overall judgment: reasonable stay with irritations. We would not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ispyforgoodplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2008

The Coral Sea Resort is a lovely hotel overlooking the sea out to the Whitsundays, it has a stunning location and good walks to the marina and into the town with the bars and restaurants of Airlie beach.

Rooms are very comfortable and the bar is set in a lovely setting looking out to the pool and beyond to the sea. I cnnot comment about the food as we ate out the days we stayed but restaurant did sound good if you didnt want to walk into the town or to the marina.

Staff helpful with sorting out trips out onto the Whitsundays which is a must if you visit Airlie Beach. W

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dixie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

For both of us this was our second marriage and I chose the Whitsunday Islands for our honeymoon as I had been there 20 years ago. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon at the Coral Sea Resort. I can not believe some of the reviews of this resort as it was a wonderful experience, from the beautiful meals, the cleanliness of the room, the convenience of the laundry facilities and the lovely staff in the resort shop. She booked all our day trips to the Islands without a hitch. The resort is ideally located close enough to the town but far enough to not hear the 'young ones' in the bars. Everything was in walking distance, the marina, the restaurants, the beach, the foreshore and the lovely Saturday market. Our room faced the bay and the morning we had breakfast overlooking the sea - the best of both views. We would certainly recommend this resort and will be staying there again, this time our children all want to come too!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShirleyandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
424 reviews
16.7 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
12.8 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Resort

Address: 25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $155 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the absolute ocean front and just a short stroll via seaside boardwalk to the enchanting Airlie Beach resort village; with its relaxed atmosphere and collection of eclectic shops and cafes; lies the Coral Sea Resort. A stroll in the opposite direction crossing a separate boardwalk with the sea below is Abel Point Marina, your direct access to the Whitsunday Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Resort Hotel
Coral Resort Sea
Coral Sea Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing