We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Coral Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Coral Sea Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our second stay at Coral Sea Resort.
We stayed for 2 nights as 2 couples in the coral sea spa suites after 8 days of sailing. We requested an early check in, late check out, and rooms on the top floor overlooking the sea (and not the pool, as this can be noisy). All our requests were met by friendly and obliging staff. The rooms were clean. The buffet breakfast was fine. I am really surprised at previous negative reviews, as we found this hotel to be very nice with amazing views. We will stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    335
    84
    35
    34
See reviews for
197
637
38
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for the first night of our honeymoon in a Coral Sea Spa Suite. It was a fantastic room with a beautiful view. Spacious, a very very comfortable bed (thank you!), swivel tv, a large balcony with an awesome hammock and outdoor spa. The room service was also lovely food. Our only bit to be picky about was that there was no lift access to the suites. We did ask staff but they said we had to take our luggage up the stairs. The pool, restaurant, jetty & gardens were also lovely. Staff were friendly. As we had to leave quite early in the morning, staff brought our continental breakfast tray to our room the night before to place in the fridge. Cheers. We will recommend this hotel and enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed paying good money for a spa suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRS_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The staff are available to assist with bags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Just had three nights at the coral sea resort in an ocean view room overlooking the swimming pool a view to die for. It was school holidays so we expected lots of families and a very busy resort which we got but all the staff were very attentive to each of us, we ate in the restaurant 2 nights out of the 3 had the degustation menu fantastic. As you can see from the photo of swimming pool it has 4 sides to it the far away end was used for weddings that was on when we were there perfect setting, this took up probably a 5th of the space around the pool so there was ample more space for everybody else to use it was not all the area blocked off as the previous review. We had a great time and certainly will be back. A big thank you

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dm1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This has been one of the most stressful hotel experiences. Don't choose this hotel is you want peace and privacy. You'll get more peace and privacy booking a room over the beer garden at the local pub.
We booked this hotel several months ago as the final relaxing stay in the Whitsunday's after a week of sailing. We booked with another couple, who actually stayed a night prior to our sailing trip to ensure the hotel was relaxing and peaceful. The management actually wrote down our room requests and said no trouble in getting the rooms on our return.
However, when we booked in on our return, despite our request, we were allocated the noisiest rooms right over the pool and sun lounge area. We were really disappointed. The reception staff claimed that the owners daughter was getting married and our requested rooms were no longer available and these were the only two rooms left. As we discovered later this was not the case, we were just told this to justify their giving us really undesirable rooms. We were thoroughly disappointed but had no choice but to accept these two rooms.
However, it actually got worse. After booking in at about 1pm we noticed that the sun lounge area was blocked off and some event was being arranged. By 2pm the lawn under our balcony was filling with people.....and serious noise. Raucous voices, clinking glasses and cigarette smoke meant that our balcony was no longer peaceful and by 3pm we had anywhere from 70 to 100 people staring into our balcony and room.
We complained to management, but they basically weren't prepared to do anything about it...except offer us a bottle of champagne. They had to be kidding! The rooms they put us in would have been more suitable for people attending the event, not two older couples requiring peace and privacy.This event went on until 6pm until it moved to another part of the resort, where the next group of guest were undoubtedly being disturbed by the noise.
The event took over the sun lounge area so that guests could not use this space, it actually had signs up asking guests to stay out of the area. It also made the pool area very busy, loud and only the very hardy stayed around trying to use the pool.
There is no where in the promotions for this hotel that explain to paying guests that you have to share pool areas ( and virtually your balcony) with large events. In the four nights at this resort there were three events. Totally stressful and unacceptable. The management at this hotel are double dipping. Asking premium rates from guests for rooms and then booking the spaces out to large events.
It just wasn't worth the stress! This holiday was specifically planned to relax and de stress....what a mistake!
Whilst it is a lovely location it just wasn't peaceful or private. The management were totally ineffectual and inefficient.
Having such a bad time has also made me very critical of other failings within the resort. This is a two and half to three star resort asking five star prices. There are no bath robes, there was only enough shampoo for one person. There was no shower gel, only some very pathetic little soaps. The old shampoo bottle was not removed during cleaning. The tiled floors are actually greasy and very slippery when wet. There were no tissues in the bathroom. Very average toiletries all round. No barista coffee available at breakfast, just a help yourself machine that poured out white frothy water with a dash of caffeine.
I will say that the restaurant and pool service staff were very nice and of course the location was very beautiful. However, management has got it really wrong putting events before guests. We will never stay at this resort again...it just wasn't worth the it!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms if management is just going to put you wherever it suits them on the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Regrettably there was a small inconvenience to guests whilst the couple getting married enjoyed the area for 3 hours, before moving into the spacious and quiet nautilus room away from the main hotel guests and no bother to anyone. There is a barista available for coffee at all times at a reasonable cost. Every attempt to apologise and compensate you for this inconvenience was not acceptable to you, what more can I say,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Coral sea resort is absolutely perfect! the resort is breathtaking, the facilities are fantastic, we couldn't have chosen a more beautiful place to stay in the Whitsundays. We were blown away by the location, and the amazing service. We would love to come back in the future!

Room Tip: Spa suite is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Lovely stay for our anniversary. Relaxed atmosphere and lovely service from the staff. A nice touch for our anniversary too, thanks Coral Sea resort. Clean and comfortable with all required amenities. Lovely cocktails. I enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you we are pleased you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Walking distance to restaurants, shops, pubs & the marina. Wonderful rooms and views. Great pool with lots of room to relax and enjoy the sun. Cocktails were yummy too. When booking request ocean facing room with a hammock. We had a 2 bedroom apartment. Perfect size especially if you had kids.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juzsavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We look forward to welcome you back Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,316 reviews
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
447 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Resort

Property: Coral Sea Resort
Address: 25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the absolute ocean front and just a short stroll via seaside boardwalk to the enchanting Airlie Beach resort village; with its relaxed atmosphere and collection of eclectic shops and cafes; lies the Coral Sea Resort. A stroll in the opposite direction crossing a separate boardwalk with the sea below is Abel Point Marina, your direct access to the Whitsunday Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Coral Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Resort Hotel
Coral Resort Sea
Coral Sea Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing