We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with very helpful staff”
Review of Coral Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Sea Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went there for a wedding on in March. We stayed 4 nights in a 2bedroom apartment and others stayed in the hotel rooms. The rooms were very clean and neat and the view from each of the apartments was fantastic.
The resort is a pleasant 10 min walk to the heart of Airlie Beach, not much to do in Airlie but shop or buy tickets to go out to the reef or visit a restaurant.
The resort is probably the best thing about Airlie. The bar was a little pricey but you can always stock up your fridge and sit on your balcony which was very pleasant.
The staff were all fantastic which always adds to the experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisAllambie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Fabulous even during monsoon rain. Had the edge of a cyclone last time I stayed in April!!
We had one of the Spa Suites on the second floor. The ocean laps at the base of the building. Awesome views. The hot tub is on the balcony with total privacy though. Spacious rooms and clean. A birthday surprise was a bottle of champagne and choc dipped strawberries - wonderful :)
Restaurant here was great and good value. Staff were all fantastic - just lovely. We did have 3 nites of trouble getting the movie channel but apparently the manager heard about the problem and on the 3rd night the channel was put through (along with a lovely bottle of wine as an apology) Wonderful again :)
Short 750m walk to town and Airlie's landscaped swimming pool and lots of eateries.
Thoroughly recommend this Resort and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Splurge on the spa suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you, we look foward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

we found only three nice and helpfully persons of the stuff - thank's to these guys (two women and a man) but.....

the others are unkind and a customer seems to be a cashcow, not a traveller on holiday. Without a 'good morning' or G'day asking unfriendly for the room number at first ?!? Especially very rude was Mr. D...k in the morning we checked out, he should has forgotten that the money comes from guests, who pays his salary.... anyway ... Australia was great !

Gigi from Europe

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gigi969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent two days there.It is really a great location between the marina and the beach with nice rooms with a beautiful view, if you have one with a sea view. The rooms are large and clean and the beds offer a high mattress comfort. There is a big pool next to the sea.
There is a breakfast buffet bur very poor for a 4star hotel.
The gym has absolutely no equipment, it was one of the reason why we booked this hotel and we were very dissapointed.

The ladies at he reception were ok, definitely not highly motivated and patient and we had some times the impression that we were an inconvenience to them.

The worst part of our stay was the unacceptable attitude of a guy at the reception with the name Derek, i guess he was the manager, who was arrogant,disrespectful and unfriendly and treated us rudely and insultingly as we asked him about price difference for an upgrade to room with a sea view. In this arrogant and disrespectful manner he treated also a group of elderly customers from Germany.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex1652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you, unfortunately there is a cost to upgrade to a bigger room with a view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Fabulous location between the beach and marina. Very quiet with breathtaking views. We booked a sea view and it had a nice balcony to sit and take it all in. Large room and very well looked after. Outstanding staff, lovely garden and nice large pool. Good breakfast buffet. Just a few minutes walk towards the marina we found a wonderful restaurant named Sorrento with fantastic food and views with outdoor balcony.

Room Tip: High floor for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Despite arriving before check in time, our room was ready, and the first thing we checked out was the view from the balcony - just beautiful. Despite poor weather at times, the balcony spa was used every night - a great place to have a drink before tea and watch the sun go down.
The hotel was about 10 mins walk from the main street and plenty of food choices. However, if you were happy to stay at the hotel, the pool was great with what has to be one of the best views in the world.
If you get the chance, visit the lagoon pool in town. A very popular spot with travellers and locals alike, and its free!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Garly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent our first two nights in the whitsundays here and had a great time. The hotel is situated in a perfect location, right on the sea with gorgeous views. We booked a garden room with a wotif deal, the initial room we got was quite small with no balcony, we asked reception if we could move and they kindly gave us a room with a balcony which was very spacious. (Ask for a room with double queen beds as these are larger.) although the view wasnt great it was nice to have the outside area. The rooms were clean with plenty of space and a nice clean bathroom.
We had a continental breakfast at the hotel which was fresh, with hot croissants and muffins and beautiful fruits. The staff were generally quite friendly and the restaurant staff made cocktails etc. there is also a jetty at the hotel that offers various watersports with great staff.
Overall a lovely stay in a beautiful located hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gles_rhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
412 reviews
10.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,411 reviews
16.7 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.9 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Resort

Address: 25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $153 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the absolute ocean front and just a short stroll via seaside boardwalk to the enchanting Airlie Beach resort village; with its relaxed atmosphere and collection of eclectic shops and cafes; lies the Coral Sea Resort. A stroll in the opposite direction crossing a separate boardwalk with the sea below is Abel Point Marina, your direct access to the Whitsunday Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coral Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Resort Hotel
Coral Resort Sea
Coral Sea Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing