We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a makeover”
Review of Coral Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Sea Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“In need of a makeover”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hotel was a little dated, the pool is a great size but looks in need of renovation. Can't argue with the location though outstanding views. Service is pretty average, i booked via wotif and then decided to take my 6 year old daughter i rang the resort and they said it would be an extra $20 a night, then when I asked for late check out, they said they would have to charge me. Whilst I understand there a business a little customer service wouldn;t go astray.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njp40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you we are please you enjoyed your stay. Our 25 metre ocean front pool has full service all day enjoy lunch or cocktails from the comfort of your sunlounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    343
    85
    35
    35
See reviews for
204
653
38
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the Coral Sea suites. Good sized rooms with all you need. Comfortable beds.Great views from the balcony which had a hammock & spa pool. As it is next to Marina there is plenty of interesting boats going past. Excellent salt water swimming pool with cover over the center. Dining room overlooks this too. Easy boardwalk to Cruise departures or Marina tavern.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collee481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you, we are please you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night and wish we could have stayed longer! Nice large, clean rooms with beautiful views from the large balcony. Dining area is open air overlooking the pool and bay/sea, my favorite spot to relax with a cocktail! The resort is a short walk to the main shopping/restaurant area as well as the marina. Staff was helpful and accommodating to our late check-in and late check-out (Check-out is 10am which is quite early).

Room Tip: It seems like all of the rooms have a good view but the higher up the better so you are above the fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you, we have recently finalised a 2 million dollar refurbishment replacing all furniture and upgrading public areas. We have kept the original feel and charm of the property and enhanced our nautical theme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Lovely location. We had a beautiful room with a gorgeous view and a large balcony. There was a huge pool; the staff were very nice, the food was good. There was only one drawback whilst we were staying there: it was clearly very popular for weddings. On both the second and third evenings we stayed, weddings pushed us out of the restaurant to the poolside. We didn't really like that, so we ate out on the third evening. Apart from that, it was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndTedcametoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you, September is a very popular wedding month on weekends especially, our large
ocean front manicured gardens are ideal for ceremonies. Our pretty private jetty is a really special place for wedding receptions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a rocky start but persisted after reading all the positive reviews. We phoned to make a reservation and spoke to Jenny who was abrupt and not helpful. So we turned to Webjet to make an internet booking and were successful. We are so glad we based our choice on reviews rather than letting a grumpy member of staff talk us out of making a booking. We stayed for 2 nights and to be honest could have stayed forever. Beautiful room with a spa bath. Fantastic bay view. We met Jasmine the hotel receptionist. She has personal knowledge of trips and we booked a day on the Great Barrier Reef through her. We are very greatful as we can now cross off something else from our bucket list. In short we had a magnificent stay in the perfect setting. ALL the members of staff we met in person were fantastic and very helpful. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED AND WE WILL STAY HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornbeefhash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you we appreciate your time to write this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Comfy bed, good service from all staff (except from the older male manger who was rather rude and hard to talk to as below), and very clean room and hotel in general.

This hotel is rather out dated, especially for the 300+ per night price tag.

Also, half way though our stay we received a note under our door asking to change rooms. I was told the cleaners noticed our roof was wet and the bathroom above us was leaking into our bathrooms ceiling, or so i was told, because I didn't notice anything wrong with the roof. When we went to reception to change, the manager who was summoned by the friendly receptionist to do the room change, or whatever the reason was for getting him, was rather bunt and rude. I felt as tho he was blaming us through his attitude for the leak, even tho obviously it was not us.
We then asked where our new room was, and this seemed to only be taking up more of his time.

After that hour wasted, we quickly got out on the reef and had a beer and I was happy. Luckily we didn't see that manager again for the rest of our stay and the rest of the staff where great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inthatribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay despite the small inconvenience of the room change. Regrettably we had a hot water leak which required urgent attention. Thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

stayed at coral sea resort for the 7 th time from 4th jan / 9th jan/ ,this time in the one bedroom penthouse ,we usually stay in the two bedroom penthouse ,but that was booked ,very suprised by the size and layout ,'excellent''of this one bedroom one .The rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard by lovely ladies .we have stayed in most of the room types except ,garden room .but all seem great .restaraunt staff were excellent ,great refurbishment has been done definatly worth it .drinks are very exspensive also evening meals ,but the quality is good ,This place has the best views ever 'heaven on earth ' love it love it Thanks heaps for a great holiday Will be back soon

Room Tip: personnally dont like the bayview rooms /suites .but the rest awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you, we appreciate your kind comments, Regards Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
403 reviews
10.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Resort

Property: Coral Sea Resort
Address: 25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the absolute ocean front and just a short stroll via seaside boardwalk to the enchanting Airlie Beach resort village; with its relaxed atmosphere and collection of eclectic shops and cafes; lies the Coral Sea Resort. A stroll in the opposite direction crossing a separate boardwalk with the sea below is Abel Point Marina, your direct access to the Whitsunday Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coral Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Resort Hotel
Coral Resort Sea
Coral Sea Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing