We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAD TO GO BACK AGAIN,THIS PLACE IS PARADISE,TOTAL R & R,HEAVEN!!”
Review of Coral Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Sea Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2011

a few years back i came here & to be honest,it is PARADISE!! My sister just came back after me telling her its fantastic resort,so it prompted me to go again,we just love the manager, Greg,he is a great guy & he will do anything to make sure you have a good time,such a happy fellow & the desk manager,Enzo,he`s such a gentle man,but ,not only are those 2 cute,but the rest of the staff,all of them,so friendly happy,they are just like one big happy family,even the sweet lady in the gift shop!!but,must say,the resort is just paradise,its so clean,pool is huge & clean,rooms are serviced daily & they are BIG rooms,food is to die for with a great menu & again such friendly staff.i had 13dys of sunshine out of 18,even on cloudy days theres lots to do.What i liked best about this place is,you dont have to leave the resort,EVERYTHING is right here,how good is that,unless of course,you want to site seeing or shopping,but for me,i just love it & I'LL BE BACK SOON GREG & my sister as well, no complaint,just a place in PARADISE!!!!
I really had the time of my life & my sister too....thanks to ALL OF THE STAFF......

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank di50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2011

4th time back thisto this magnifcent resot& i owe it all to the manager,Greg & his Staff,im 53 single,the resort has everything here,you dont even have to leave the resort,everything is here,10 out of 10for Greg,nothing is to much trouble for him,he always greets you with a smile,a true gentleman, &Enzo the desk manager,again, always smileing & ready to help & the rest of the staff are so kind & helpful,the grounds of the resort are spotless,the pool is huge & clean,,the rooms are spotless,cleaned each day by the friendly staff, & the food is just, to die for!! & room servie too..but most of all,the whole resort is beautiful,magnicent views..i cant fault it at all..thanks Greg & the fantastic staff that i've got to no,i will see you again real soon...

Room Tip: the coral sea suite/spa on balcony+hammock,views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank di_dee_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

This hotel is beautifully situated looking out to the Whitsunday Islands.excellent facilities - 25m pool, restaurant overlooking the islands and within walking distance to Airlee shops & restaurants. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Its very clean, rooms good size again with the wonderful views and very comfortable beds. We had a brilliant stay here and didn't want to leave. Lots to do and see and would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: e-mail or drop in to look as we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridgetinplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Stayed here for two nights as part of a media group. The food was excellent at the restaurant. Lovely nautically themed interiors. Only thing is that internet is charged. The location on the waterfront is very convenient for trips to the islands.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalpana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

The GM got a bee in his bonnet when our toddler was screaming in the foyer. Every parent feels bad enough when their child misbehaves and we were trying our best to calm him down but we don’t expect to be made to feel like second class citizens. If you cater for families then you need to expect a little noise from children now and then. I’ve worked in hospitality in Townsville and my GM would NEVER in a million years have behaved so rudely towards a paying guest. If you don’t want any noise I suggest you make it a child free resort as it seems you have no tolerance for them anyway.

On top of this, the miserable little man on reception (possibly the same one as from a previous reviewer) gave us the most unpleasant welcome, had a very ‘no can do’ attitude and just pointed to the sign on the wall stating a 1.5% surcharge for credit cards. When we’re handing over our money in a 4.5 star resort we do expect SOME level of pleasantness and a smile, not a lot to ask for really. At least the young Scottish lad was helpful. Never mind the rain and floods, it’s no wonder the tourism industry is still struggling and Aussies flock to SE Asia to holiday – they get value for money and GENUINE hospitality there.

Please don’t bother with a stock standard reply, apologising for the lack of ‘our usual high standard of customer service’, I highly doubt if it ever did exist for these particular staff members. At least the breakfast staff and female staff were pleasant….but never again. It seems this resort’s received a lot of bad reviews over the years, it also seems they haven’t learnt a thing about improving customer service. They are only after your money, don’t waste it here!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Townsvillepeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

Coral Sea Resort welcomes both families and couples and supports the rights of all our guests to the peaceful enjoyment of our tranquil oceanfront surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We walked in without a booking on a rainy day. We were offered a comfortable sea view room with twin queen size beds. The bathroom had a noisy extractor fan. The decor does feel a little dated but rooms have LCD TV. Disappointing that no WIFI.

We ate out and wished we'd eaten in as the food looked good - certainly the Sticky Date Pudding we had was yum! Breakfast was a comprehensive buffet and/or cooked - very pleasant by the pool.

The hotel has a wonderful setting which must be magical on a fine day - shame it had been raining for weeks. We were told they do lots of weddings, especially in March - best check if there is a wedding reception booked as might affect pool access and noise.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

Thank you for your comments, Coral Sea Resort Restaurant has won many awards for our great food and service, wedding parties are conducted on our ocean front lawn area in a resserved area , and receptions held on our private jetty do not disturb other guests. Returning guests qualify for special discounts please contact reservations for assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

I really recommend this resort.

Views: There are amazinhg views from the pool and from the oceanveiw apartments
Rooms: The Oceanview suites are just perfect! Clean, big, beatifull and well decorated.
Service: Friendly people always happy to help the guests
Pool: Not too big, not too small! Just the right size.
Location: the best!!!


There is just one bad point for the whole experience that we had..
The continental breakfast is very simple and there are not many optins.
Egs.
Only one type of cheese / ham.
The fruits were not that tasty,
if you would like eggs, cake, or many other things that were not included, it will be really expensive.

The drinks are also very expensive (more than many other places that we staid at...)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zlochevsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
424 reviews
16.7 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
12.8 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Resort

Address: 25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $156 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the absolute ocean front and just a short stroll via seaside boardwalk to the enchanting Airlie Beach resort village; with its relaxed atmosphere and collection of eclectic shops and cafes; lies the Coral Sea Resort. A stroll in the opposite direction crossing a separate boardwalk with the sea below is Abel Point Marina, your direct access to the Whitsunday Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Resort Hotel
Coral Resort Sea
Coral Sea Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing