We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love it!”

Down Under Bar and Grill
Ranked #55 of 105 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Down Under Bar & Grill is a vibrant Bar and Bistro in the Heart of Airlie Beach. Offering great value Breakfast & Dinner plus an unrivalled night-time atmosphere. Situated at the top end of the main street with views of the Whitsunday's from our Beer Garden, it doesn't matter if you require Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch or Dinner. We have you covered.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I come here all the time with my friends for a meal and a drink or two, or three.. Beautiful location, close to the clubs. However not so great on the service behind the bar from a young lady.. It's not hard to fake a smile and at least PRETEND you're enjoying yourself. Apart from that, everything is great! Wish I could be spending New Years there again this year..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimLangford, Manager at Down Under Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Hey Georgia,

Thanks for taking the time to Leave some feedback for us.
Generally our staff are in good spirits and we encourage them to have fun with our patrons.
Hopefully just an off day on their part.

Shame you can;t be here for New Years. We had some pretty rad stuff going on.
Next time your in be sure to say hello :).

Many Thanks,
Tim Langford
Bar Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Down Under Bar and Grill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 110 of 148 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

When staying at Base in Airlie you are given a discount at the bar, only $10 for a meal & pint of beer (they are not like your normal b'packer meal they are BIG) having a beer on the deck and listening to the live music was awesome!

Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimLangford, Manager at Down Under Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Hello Tim,

Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our offers and entertainment to be worthy of commenting on.
I thank you for taking the time to write this positive review.

Do visit again and say hi!

From one Tim to Another - Many Thanks and Happy Travels.

Tim Langford
Bar Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went to this bar after our boat trip on the Whitsunday Islands and I was impressed. The beers were good, they do lots of cocktails in jars, jugs and buckets as well.

Food is good and cheaper if you have been on a boat tour but prices were 13 dollars which I think is not a bad price.

Would definitely come back again if in Airlie Beach

1  Thank mjd6888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimLangford, Manager at Down Under Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hello there fellow Kentish Traveller!

Thanks for the positive feedback on our operation here.
Muchly appreciated, and i'm glad our staff provided you with a positive experience as part of your stay in Airlie Beach.

Its also true we will put a cocktail into almost any kind of vessel conceivable.
Our latest addition is Milk Bottles.

Any way hope to see you back in the Beach soon.
If you do stop by, please say hello!

Many Thanks,
Tim Langford (Bar Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Brilliant food and a great atmosphere even with kids.Not to many places you can get a steak,chips,salad and a pint of beer or a basic spirit for $13.The kids can have a pizza and a pint of soft drink for $7

1  Thank Glen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimLangford, Manager at Down Under Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Howdy Glen,

Thank you very much for the feedback on our Meal Deals.
Always good to hear the hard work we put into ensuring customers receive good service and value for money is paying off.

We hope to see you stop by again!

Cheers

Tim Langford (Bar Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The problem with these tourism spots is they just don't care about return service.

This place is overpriced, dirty and run by hungover backpackers who just don't care.

changed breakfast without consent. Only ate it because was charged in advance

never again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hqhostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimLangford, Manager at Down Under Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hello there,

Our breakfast has only recently launched and we have received a lot of positive feedback so far.
So its a shame for us to receive some negative feedback, also a shame that you didn't seek to raise concerns or issue with management at the time.
If we could not have resolved the issue at the time then we would of been happy to issue a full refund for your order.

Firstly i'd like to say at Down Under Bar we have had a huge focus on local patronage over the last 18 months. Illustrated by issuing 500 more local members cards, and introducing with breakfast a Loyalty system for coffee only available to locals.
We are not a venue that just caters for Domestic and International Tourists.

Being a new breakfast menu we conducted research into pricing and we feel we are very competitive with other breakfast offerings in town. In a lot of instances our items are cheaper like for like.

Our staff base is a mixture of Long term Airlie Beach residents and a few working holiday makers. Jasmine our main barista is in the resident category.

Having spoke to Jasmine she has told me that she tried to explain to you that unfortunately part of the breakfast you were ordering was not available. That extras above and beyond the cost of the missing item could be offered instead, this is why the breakfast came out to you slightly different.
I apologize for any confusion in the order, but please be assured that my staff did try to compensate you on the day.

I would absolutely love for you to afford my establishment a chance to show you we provide good Breakfasts and Beverages in a clean environment.

Feel free to contact me at the venue if you wish to discuss this further.

Cheers

Tim Langford
(Bar Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Down Under Bar and Grill also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Down Under Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing