We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills but tasty food, and cheap”

Down Under Bar and Grill
Ranked #58 of 102 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Down Under Bar & Grill is a vibrant Bar and Bistro in the Heart of Airlie Beach. Offering great value Breakfast & Dinner plus an unrivalled night-time atmosphere. Situated at the top end of the main street with views of the Whitsunday's from our Beer Garden, it doesn't matter if you require Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch or Dinner. We have you covered.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
849 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“No frills but tasty food, and cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Down Under Bar and Grill is adjacent to X Base and Nomads. They have a relatively short but adequate menu and a meal deal of meal and a pint of beer, or with a wine or soft drink for $10!!!

We are locals and keep going back when we don't feel like cooking ourselves..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank croftonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    49
    37
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinner time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a meal here which they produced in a quick and efficient manner. The price was very reasonable and the food very nice. I had fish which was nicely cooked and plenty of it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiwisailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value, but choose wisely”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We got a $10 ($13 normally) meal deal as part of a boat trip after party of sorts. We both ordered the burger and chips and a pint of Tooheys. The beer was good, but the food was nowhere near as hot as it should have been. Had it been piping hot it probably would have tasted pretty good! Other people in our party had similar experiences with other things on the menu. A good deal, but they need to take greater care with the food. The atmosphere is pretty good and there is a pool table and giant Jenga as well as large screen and TVs around the seating area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donkjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“$10 meal deals!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Hit and miss with the food, the salad always cracks me up, a grotty piece of lettuce, 1 slice of tomoato and 1 bit of onion is not a salad? Also how can someone not cook chips properly? But for $10 fro a steak and a drink you can't expect too much?

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cherie080684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Town!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Dinner and beer $13 ($10 if your part of a local tour’s after party). You can't beat the price! Fun atmosphere. Get the burger or chicken schnitzel. The serve food past 9pm.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KM-RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Down Under Bar and Grill also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Down Under Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing