We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUM! Wish I could eat here everyday...”
Review of Cha'mah - CLOSED

Cha'mah
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“YUM! Wish I could eat here everyday...”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great atmosphere, top service, super reasonable prices, and best of all - delish food.

My boyfriend and I shared the chicken, the carrot salad and the corn cous cous - all of which were completely amazing. I also had a glass of prosecco and he had a fancy tea from their extensive fancy tea menu.

You can choose to sit at a table with chairs or plonk down on a cushion and eat at one of the low tables on the other side of the restaurant.

One of the best dining experiences I've had in years.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    35
    10
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Generally Good”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Food was unique and good, except for the dessert, which was a little overcooked. Atmosphere was good, with various seating options. Food came out quick.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Unique and unusual in Airlie”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

On entry your senses are drawn to the carpets, lounges, large cushions and candle lit ambiance.

Once seated you are provided with a menu that described a range of unusual dishes of Moroccan influence.

Our group of 9 decided to share a range of different platters mixed with a delightful wine. Our taste buds were delighted with what we had selected. Some then ventured to dessert the crown of which was the stuffed dates.

Overall a delightful experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisnjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Our first wedding anniversary was spent here, and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we grabbed a cushion on the floor the service was fantastic and we knew we were in for a unique dining experience. Entrees were bloody delicious, and we couldn't wait for our mains which included their signature dish, lamb tangine and the hugsnkisses had the seafood soup. Both outdid our expectations.
We will definitely be back, and would highly reccomend this restaurant.
We both commented that cha'mah was up there with the best dining experience we have experienced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Austravla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food with a real Moroccan ambience”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was such a fun food find. Cha'mah is about 5 minutes in the car away from the main strip of shops and restaurants at Airlie Beach in the newer Boathouse complex at Port of Airlie. The food was delicious, the staff were friendly and the restaurant really took you to a tiny corner of Morocco with floor cushions and colourful curtains and candle lit tables. Each table had a different game which kept us entertained while we tried a Hookah and Raspberry Shisha. I had a delicious goat dish and my husband had the amazing lamb tagine....the food really is tasty here.
Great value food in a cool morroccan ambience. If we ever visit Airlie again I would be booking a table here!

Just a tip on seating.....my husband and I sat on the floor cushions while we had a cocktail and Hookah and then moved to a table and chairs when our food arrived, you may not have this option if its super busy but not everyone is comfortable eating on the floor cushions so book an early/late table maybe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HayleyMoriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cha'mah also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing