We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed for an overnight stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial Palms Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what we needed for an overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

We found this by mistake after we missed a connecting ferry and had to stay overnight in Airlie Beach. This was exactly what we needed for just an overnight stay. It was cheap ($100/night) with two lovely looking pools as well as all the basics (bed, bar fridge, tv, dine-in area outside) and yes, it was all clean. We were also surprised to see the entire New Zealand Warriors team had booked the rest of the rooms and were enjoying themselves there. The beach and main town area was about 10-15 min walk.

Basically, I think this place is suitable for those who are time-bound and not fussy. If you're just in Airlie to go out and spend lots of time at the beach or are wanting to explore Airlie before catching a connecting ferry to Whitsundays / Daydream Island, then this place is quite alright.

  • Liked — Cheap, nice pool scene
  • Disliked — Outdoor pool area wasn't lit or heated for night time swimming
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    139
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
63
189
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

Stayed here for two seperate nights either side of an overnight reef cruise. One night was booked as part of a free night using fly buy points.

Upon arrival the lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We had a room upstairs which was very basic and a little dated but suited our needs. The hotel was a short 10minute walk from the main street in Airlie. The hotel was quiet being situated away from the backpackers and clubs. Breakfast the following morning was included yet the fact that only the buffet (cereal and toast) was free was not explained when we were seated with a breakfast menu. Breakfast was nothing to write home about especially for the price.

Our second night stay here we were placed in a room downstairs. These are all brand new rooms after a mud slide earlier in the year. These rooms were very modern with a king size bed, nice slick furniture and a flat screen tv. Much nicer than upstairs!

Overall, our stay here was pleasant especially when its hard to get a room in Airlie under $200/night! I would stay here again if it was only for 1-2 nights.

  • Liked — The location - Only a short walk from the main street
  • Disliked — Upstairs rooms very basic and outdated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

First of all Airlie Beach is a very difficult place to find a decent hotel that is under $200 a night for 4 people. After seraching for hours for a hotel I settled on the Colonial Palms.

We arrived at this hotel at 10:30PM at night and the man at the front desk seemed nice. We were booked for a 4 night stay and had garuanteed one night. The lobby smelled awful and made my daughter feel sick. We went into our room and were surprised at the starkness of the room. Walls were painted white, no paintings the kitchen was non-exsistant and consisted of a microwave and an electric water kettle. The mini fridge doubled as a cupboard. Not only was this not what they advertised, but it was not well kept. Bugs were crawling everywhere, it smelled awful, and the linens on the beds were at least 10 years old. If they had put a little more effort into this hotel it would've been much nicer.

We settled in and my kids slept in the too twin beds right next to the sliding door, which sounded like it was wide open. When morning came we looked outside to see our view and all we saw was the construction across the street in the bay.

We decided we would check out and find a new place to stay, but we ate breakfast at their in house restaurant. We were greeted by the same women who ran the front desk, waitered the restaurant, and booked the tours. We honestly felt sorry for this poor women. We sat down and I ordered the continental breakfast which claimed to serve fresh fruit. When i walked over to find the "fresh" fruit I was shocked to find that "fresh" fruit was canned peaches, pears, and prunes, not exactly my idea of fresh.

After Breakfast we tryed to check out and she told us since we booked through Best Westerns reservations not the hotel directly we had to make an international call back to the states before 10AM to cancel. It was 9AM. We were able to cancel however she made it very clear that she would be recieveing a penalty. We then headed out and went on a search and were able to find a gorgeous apartment suitated on the hill named the Sea Star Apartments, for $220. Bottom line is we felt this hotel cut as many corners as possible.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ItsAlwaysAnAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2006

Rooms were clean but very basic and decor comprised little more than paint directly onto breeze-blocks - it felt like being in the toilet block of a campsite. Bathroom was functional only, it was shabby, smelled damp and the mozzie netting was ripped. The pool was quite nice and the service reasonably friendly, but that didn't make it worth the price, which was steep for what you get. We didn't risk the restaurant as it didn't look up to much. Overall disappointing and not what I would expect from a Best Western.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2005

Hotel was 10 minutes walk out of town and had no atmosphere whatsoever. Rooms are very basic and unwelcoming. Left early to find somewhere livelier.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.7 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#7 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Palms Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Palms Motor Inn

Property: Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Address: 2 Hermitage Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Palms Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Colonial Palms Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach Best Western
Colonial Palms Motor Inn Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing