We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My family of 4 (2 adults 3 year old and a 4 month old) have just returned from a 3 night stay at Colonial Palms. I can not recommend this hotel enough.
Bernie the owner is a friendly approachable person who made us welcome from the second we arrived,even organising Oysters Kilpatrick for my husband one night. And giving my daughter her very own princess cup!
The hotel is in a perfect location, literally a 5 minute walk to town.
The rooms are beautifully done and have recently been renovated.
We loved both pool areas.
Only negative is we only booked for 3 nights - would have loved to stayed longer.

Thanks Bernie and staff!! Happy New Year!!

Michael, Bernadette, Sienna and Logan

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Colonial Palms Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 365 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights in December during our East Coast tour of Australia.
I booked a queen room with a pool and sea view. The room was clean but the view was less than impressive. Our room looked out onto the main road and building site behind it, yes you could just about see the sea and the very small pool below us but the description certainly made it sound more pleasant than it actually was. No safe in the room which was disappointing.

The location is good. 15 minutes walk into Airlie Beach and most tour operators offer pick up and drop offs from this location.

The staff seemed fine. We didn't see much of them. Just a hello at check in and once at breakfast. We had a few trips booked in the day so didn't spend much time here during the day.

The pool area looked lovely on the pictures but it is more like a pond. Both pools are shaded most of the day and the water was filled with plants, flowers and bugs. It did not look like it had a cleaned in a while. Another couple staying in the hotel had the same thing to say. I would recommend not to waste your time around the pool and take a trip into Airlie Beach.

Breakfast provided in the daily rate which is good but the choice was low. Cereals, boiled eggs, toast and a couple of apples, bananas and canned peaches. Nothing to look forward to in the morning so again, just walk 15 minutes down the road into Airlie for more choice.

We booked our stay through Expedia and believed we had paid in full, however Best Western only accept payment on departure so we had a nasty surprise when we left. Not the hotels fault but if I was aware of this when we checked in, I would of stayed elsewhere so make sure you read the fine print!

Overall, we had a fantastic time in Airlie Beach and the Whitsundays but if I was to return to Airlie Beach, I would probably not stay here. The price is the average you would expect in this area so you are not getting a good deal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bvbbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialpalms, Owner at Colonial Palms Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

We thank you for taking the time to post a review, as all feedback is important to us.

I would like to take the opportunity to respond to the points that you have raised.

With regards to the Construction site...our regional council has undertaken a large civil works program, and as part of this...the site has been turned into a Boat Ramp. The works are on the verge of completion, with the Landscaping and Tree planting being completed today. In the end this is a great positive asset for the community and travellers alike.

Our two pools are nestled amongst our Landscaped Garden. They are cleaned and serviced regularly, including testing of PH and salt levels. Unfortunately wind can cause some leaf litter to fall into the pool after it has been cleaned. We have two pools on site...one may be shadier than the other depending on the time of day.

Our complimentary continental breakfast is provided to help us serve our guests better. We do not charge for this on top of the room rate, as many other hotels/motels do.

With regard to your payment, depending on which booking site is used determines if money is taken upfront or not. It does clearly state the credit card details are used to guarantee the booking only when bookings are made on certain channels that operate that way.

While i can understand this can cause confusion, especially if different channels are used to make multiple accommodation bookings at once, this is beyond our control.

We do advise people upon check-in whether or not their room has been pre-paid or not as a reminder.

We take pride in our family run establishment, and endeavour to do our best to ensure our guests enjoy and get the most out of their Whitsundays experience.

Kind Regards,

Bernie

Part Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed one night in the Best Western. The accommodation was clean and had plenty of room. The breakfast included toast, conflakes, eggs, some fruits (canned peaches etc. but also fresh apples). All in all, our stay was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffelinchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here for three nights at the end of November 2012. There is nothing I can say to some this hotel up other than SUPERB! Greeted by Bernie (i'm assuming hotel manager) on arrival, who was very pleasant and talked us through everything from rooms, breakfast, the best excursions etc etc.

The rooms were very new and well maintained. Air con, balcony with sea view, breakfast included, five minutes walk to town, free WIFI .. everything was spot on.

The kitchen staff came to talk to us each morning to find out our plans, again very polite.

There is nothing bad to say about this hotel, I'd recommend to anyone. The value for money is for all to see!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davieeees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice and quiet clean and also nice priced for the average of airlie beach. A little out of the center but 15 min walk to everything. Staff was very nice and kind: we forgot a t-shirt there and they shipped it to us after we left, it was really appreciated and we would surely go there again if we came back to airlie beach.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancing_Queen_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, it was great everything you would want in a motel. Lovely pool and spa, very relaxing and quiet. Staff were very welcoming nice friendly place and not far to walk to Main Street where there are plenty bars, eating places, shops.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jomacferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for a night before and after a boat trip in the Whitsundays and couldn't be more satisfied customers. The laundry and free internet facility really enabled us to have a great pit stop in our travels. Clean and comfortable rooms, nice range of breakfast choice and very convenient location. Really friendly staff and very helpful service - even looked after our luguage whilst we were on the boat.

Jo and Liz, Devon Engalnd.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizcahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.6 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
9.4 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
272 reviews
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
448 reviews
4.6 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Palms Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Palms Motor Inn

Address: 2 Hermitage Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Airlie Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $104 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Palms Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colonial Palms Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach Best Western
Colonial Palms Motor Inn Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing