We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day out”

Big Fury Island Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fun, fast cruise around the Whitsunday Islands. All in one day visit world famous Whithaven Beach, then it's off to a pristine snorkelling reef off of another island, a delicious picnic lunch served right on the beach, afternoon snacks, entertaining and educational crew commentary throughout the day. Fun from start to finish!
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Day out”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

brilliant day out, great value for money. lovely boat, cool staff. and beautiful scenery, wasnt to busy as boat only take about 30 people, really good day out

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Golfgti220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    82
    25
    6
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
“What an AMAZING experience.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent the day out on Big Fury with Bluey and Dale. From the very beginning they were friendly and funny. We had an amazing snorkeling experience followed by an afternoon on Whitehaven beach that will forever be remembered as one of the best I have ever had. Lunch is provided as well as all the snorkeling gear (stinger suits can be hired for a very small fee)

Highly recommend this to anyone that is looking for a fun day out on the water.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing day, very worthwhile!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had a fantastic day. A good mix, with snorkeling off the side of the boat at a great reef! Relaxing on Whitehaven beach with fantastic views and a yummy lunch! The guys on board do a great job looking after your safety at all times! A must do!!

Helpful?
Thank Rayshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneF383, Guest Relations Manager at Big Fury Island Tour, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi Rayshel,

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent trip with us on Big Fury exploring the Whitsunday Islands. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the crew - I think they have the best job in the world - cruising the islands on a fun fast speed boat, lunch on beautiful Whitehaven Beach, followed by a game of cricket - usually England Vs Australia, followed by snorkelling with tropical fish and turtles, and hanging out with happy customers from all over the world each day... now that's what I call a good job ! Hope to see you both again on your next visit to the Whitsunday's !! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Top day out”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

With so many trips to Whitehaven to choose from its hard to know who to pick. We're pleased we chose the Big Fury. The vessel is fast, fun and only takes a smallish group of about 30 people so you feel you're being looked after.

Ryan the guide was hilarious and informative. He does a great job of organising everyone and sorting out the food by himself. The buffet on the beach was above expectations for this type of tour too.

Whitehaven was stunning and the snorkeling spot excellent. If you're not a strong swimmer there are noodles or Ryan will take you on his little tender and you'll still see heaps of coral and fish. This makes it a great trip for kids.

Helpful?
Thank hubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneF383, Public Relations Manager at Big Fury Island Tour, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Greet from the Whitsunday's !

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback about your recent visit to the Whitsunday Islands onboard Big Fury. It is truly a pleasure to be part of such a team - the crew onboard Big Fury go out of their way to that ensure everyone, from the little kids to the 'big kids' have a fun and memorable cruise around the Whitsunday Islands. You cannot choose a better location to enjoy a fresh buffet picnic than the beautiful surrounds of Whitehaven Beach. Snorkelling off of one of the pristine island coral bays without the crowds of the Great Barrier Reef is always a bonus ! Our deckie Ryan has been with us for over 6 months now and swears he never wants to leave - he is enjoying himself and the company of tourists way too much !! We hope to see you and your family back in the Whitsunday's some other time ! :))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Big Fun on Big Fury”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

A fast, comfortable ride out to the breathtakingly beautiful Whitehaven Beach with an impromptu dolphin show thrown in.

Surprisingly OK picnic buffet in the shade sharing the spot with 3 smal monitor lizards.

Great snorkelling in a sheltered bay with a caring crew making sure guests of all swimming abilities are looked after.

Lots of fun

Helpful?
1 Thank CohortMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneF383, Public Relations Manager at Big Fury Island Tour, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Good morning,
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed our personalised hospitality on your recent cruise on Big Fury to the Whitsunday Islands. I think we really do have the best job in the world ! We are dealing with happy holiday-makers like yourself everyday and our goal is to exceed your expectations, and after reading your review, we have succeeded in doing just that! Hope to see you back in the Whitsunday's some time in the future ! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fury Island Tour also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Big Fury Island Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing