We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Fun on Big Fury”

Big Fury Island Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fun, fast cruise around the Whitsunday Islands. All in one day visit world famous Whithaven Beach, then it's off to a pristine snorkelling reef off of another island, a delicious picnic lunch served right on the beach, afternoon snacks, entertaining and educational crew commentary throughout the day. Fun from start to finish!
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

A fast, comfortable ride out to the breathtakingly beautiful Whitehaven Beach with an impromptu dolphin show thrown in.

Surprisingly OK picnic buffet in the shade sharing the spot with 3 smal monitor lizards.

Great snorkelling in a sheltered bay with a caring crew making sure guests of all swimming abilities are looked after.

Lots of fun

1  Thank CohortMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneF383, Public Relations Manager at Big Fury Island Tour, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Good morning,
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed our personalised hospitality on your recent cruise on Big Fury to the Whitsunday Islands. I think we really do have the best job in the world ! We are dealing with happy holiday-makers like yourself everyday and our goal is to exceed your expectations, and after reading your review, we have succeeded in doing just that! Hope to see you back in the Whitsunday's some time in the future ! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 543 of 588 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

As previously mentioned, this is a great day if you don't want to leave at the crack of dawn, we had a fantastic day, we took our 2 kids (9 & 5) our son (5) snorkelled for the very first time, he will always remember big fury for that, thanks and I thoroughly recommend it

Thank Mixdnutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneF383, Public Relations Manager at Big Fury Island Tour, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.. We have many first time snorkellers on Big Fury so hopefully we have converted your 5 year son into an underwater baby ! Looking at our brocure not everyone thinks the cruise would be suitable for children, however in my experience the kids enjoy Big Fury as much if not more than the adults ! We even had a 4 year old the other day ask the skipper "if he could have his job when he grows up as he has the coolest job ever !" Hopefully see you guys back on Big Fury over the next school holidays :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great trip out , best staff I have come across in awhile,the guys were helpful, pleasant and happy.was so good to see,..Snorkling wonderful, Whitehaven amazing. Over all BEST trip available in Airlie Beach... Once again thanks guys for the best day out......

Thank chrissytooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneF383, Public Relations Manager at Big Fury Island Tour, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Hi Chrissy,

We are delighted you and your daughter enjoyed your day cruise with us on Big Fury ! The small group we carry really makes you feel like part of the family for the day ! The Whitsunday Islands truly are spectacular at this time of the year. We hope to welcome you onboard Big Fury again some time in the future, but in the meantime, we will continue to offer our localised friendly hospitality to new guests joining us on Big Fury :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Husband and I went on this trip on the 29th August 12 had a fantastic time and the staff were fun and helpful.
Loved the spot they took us for snorkelling (we didnt want to get out of the water) then over to Whitehaven for lunch to which there was plenty to go around.
We were picked up from our accommodation and dropped off again in the afternoon.
This trip is really good if you dont want to get up at the crack of dawn and still see the reef.
Everyone has to go to Whitehaven as it is the one of the best beaches I have ever been too and it has some wildlife to which we didnt expect.
I thoroughly enjoyed my time on this boat and would recommend this anyone and there was a bonus as it didnt cost alot either.

Thank Deanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneF383, Public Relations Manager at Big Fury Island Tour, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Hi Southern Girl !!

We are delighted that you have shared your experiences onboard Big Fury and the Whitsunday Islands to fellow Trip Advisor users. Alot of our guests do not realise what is included in our $99.00 Special package, but you've said it all ! There's no other cruise in the Whitsunday's that offers such value for money ! I hope you got to see the Humpback Whales whilst you were out there as they have been an added bonus on most trips lately ! We look forward to seeing you back in the Whitsunday's again when you need a break from the big city of Sydney !! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a quick option for a reef tour but a better option is on the Derwent Hunter tall ship tour, which is more personal, sedate, eco friendly and with better trained guides

Thank driverrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneF383, Public Relations Manager at Big Fury Island Tour, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent cruise on Big Fury to the Whitsunday Islands. Big Fury and Derwent Hunter are indeed very different cruises and offer guests a completely different perspective of the Islands. Big Fury as you said is fast and fun, the boat has 4 x 225hp outboards, so yes certainly, a different feel to sailing ! Our boat is designed to get you out the islands quickly so that you can see more, visit more islands and spend longer time at the snorkel reef and one big difference between Derwent and Big Fury is that Big Fury gives you upto 3 hours on beautiful Whitehaven Beach. Our crew do spend a considerable amount of time walking up and down the boat talking to guests and providing information about the islands, the reef and wildlife. And offer plenty of local knowledge to guests once everyone is settled at Whitehaven Beach. They even get involved in footie and cricket games with the kids and Adult kids on the beach! Infact a lot of guests combine the two cruise options whilst visiting Airlie Beach. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fury Island Tour also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Big Fury Island Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing