We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“shame on them”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Airlie Wok Inn

Airlie Wok Inn
Ranked #71 of 102 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“shame on them”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We dined in the restaurant today, which is boxing day, at around 6 pm. There is a little menu displayed on the first floor and the price looks alright so we went upstair. We were given another menu, then we ask is the price the same as the one displayed outside. The woman, which obviously was the boss, said yes. And we went on sitting down, had a look at the menu, turned out to be, at least 6-8 dollars more. At that point we should have leave, but as the last night in airlie beach, we thought we're gonna spend a little bit more and enjoy the time. We ordered scallop, Mongolian lamb and stir fried vegie. The scallop, not fresh and tasteless, the beef was horrible as the source is not even close to what it should be, and it's just like coming from cheap supermarket. The vegie was the worst,. tasteless, and cost 16.9 dollars. That's fine, as we dont want any drama for the last day here. We went on pay the bill, the waitress (a white woman) said, total cost 81 dollars and there's 10% surcharge for holiday. Wt..? No one told us that there's a surcharge and there's no sign anywhere in the restaurant or the menu saying that there's a surcharge! We asked why no one told us, the second we ask, the waitress became aggressive, "oh, i haven't seen you guys seated, i've no idea, and it is common here to have a surcharge blablabla" I don't mind paying, as they are working on boxing day when they should spend the time with family or fds, however their attitude and the fact that they are not honest made us really upset.
Will never come back again and anyone see this please tell fds who are coming to airlie beach to stay away from this restaurant. The same as the thai next door as they use the same kitchen and they are owned by the same person. This sneaky business should just end.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay_W111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    4
    6
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The price is right!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

After reading the reviews before I went, I was expecting the food to be in-edible. So when 11 of us went on a Saturday for the all you can eat buffet I was pleasantly surprised.
It is by no means the best Chines food but for $18 it was more then fine. The food was mainly always topped up apart from near the end of the night ( why would they make up more when closing tho?) The food inc the curry's were not hot (as in spice) but still spices and a nice taste. I guess they have gone for the less spice the more people from all walks of life will eat it. I had a bit of everything including the prawns. It would have been nice if they were on ice. The staff were friendly and helpful, the only thing they did not have, which one of us asked for, was coffee or normal tea, which we thought was a bit odd.
There is a great view of the beach and good for people watching as its above other restaurants. If you love your chines and know what you like, you might not like this place.. If you just want to relax, eat lots of tasty food for a good price then go check it out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2011sue2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proserpine, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Food with no taste.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We ordered from here last night (Saturday) for a group of 11. I am not fussy and generally enjoy Chinese, however the food was poor. It had no taste, watery sauce and the seafood was soft/spongy. Even the spring-rolls had a terrible taste. I thought it may have just been me, but everyone in the group had the same complaints. Unfortunately we will not be coming back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blaintm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I visited Airlie Wok Inn for their famous buffet in this town. The food are great and beautiful. The most important thing is it worth the price! u can have seafood and a lot of meals for all u can eat. I can't find the other restaurant in this town for only 18.5bucks~~ that's why the food always gone very quick-but they are keeping serve new food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Momoyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Selection of food was poor and very salty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We decided that if we ate from the all you could eat buffet menu, there was not many dishes that we liked and there was insufficient food left. So we decided to order off the menu. The food we ordered was too salty and mostly vegetables with little meat.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Airlie Wok Inn also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Airlie Wok Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing