We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, but shame about the service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Base Airlie Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Nice rooms, but shame about the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

The hostel itself is in a nice location, right by the beach, right in front of the bus stop and all the other bars...the room is nice and spacious...but after this it just gets lets down by the common room which is very small for the amount of people there and always full, the kitchen is small...but the worst thing is the service at reception...Every time I come to this area there is a massive line where there is only one receptionist working and one travel agent who is doing nothing and doesn't come over to help clear the line. And if you ask for you bag from the locker/storage room......you may get the look of death...

Its a shame about this place, being in such an amazing place but let down by the service...it may seem like a small thing but it makes all the difference.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramzijw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    138
    120
    70
    61
See reviews for
8
99
135
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

This property is TERRIBLE. It's the worst I have ever stayed at. TV doesn't work, pillows are only 1inch thick, dripping water and insanely loud. Now I'm all for a backpackers being a party place but when it comes to paying for a double room with ensuite being right behind the pool where music is being played so loud it shakes the building. Enough 'doof doof' music please as I now have a migraine. Save it for the bar area and not the accommodation area. I will never stay here again and will never recommend it. Other backpackers down the street have the party going on in the bar and leaving the accommodation area in peace.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel/motel/backpackers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

This is more of a resort than a backpackers, the rooms are spacious with fantastic facilities and it's right in the middle of Airlie Beach close to all the bars and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and it has a nice big pool yo relax in!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Airlie Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is so awesome that you enjoyed yourself whilst you were staying here. Please do not become a stranger. Come back and visit us again sometime soon.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The Good
This hostel/campsite is well-situated at one end of the Airline beach strip.
Competitively priced.
Discounts for guests at the neighbouring down under bar.

The Bad
There was no hot water.
The campground bathrooms were not clean.
There are signs everywhere threatening you with punishment for a million different things. Clearly they have had some problems with bad behaviour before but the result is that you feel like a naughty child rather than a paying guest and this does not foster a friendly atmosphere. In fact there isn't much atmosphere at all.

Ultimately they know they can get away with being average because there are so many tourists coming to Airlie Beach who want to stay on the strip and they are competitively priced so they have no need to improve.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Westsideisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airlie beach
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Staff - Amazing! These guys would definitely be the nicest I have encountered along the way, other places just seem to go through the motions. Tia, the chick that checked me in, was super friendly, cheerful and made a point to ask about my day. Anything you need they are more than happy to help you out. Plus they have a rad travel desk in house too, everything you need!!!

Rooms - Clean rooms. I've slept in a few hostel and hotels up the coast, and these were without a doubt the best. Comfortable, clean, fresh and tidy. I got a little used to worn out linen but this stuff was crisp! Also, our bathroom had a bath (not that we used it, but still, it was there!!!)

Facilities - Not that we actually used the kitchen or common area while we stayed (we hit up the Down Under Bar), we still checked them out for future reference. It was clean and tidy, well stocked with all the usual equipment, a decent sized area and the common room looked damn comfy.

Down Under Bar (D.U.B) - I love it! Pool tables, mad tunes, indoor/outdoor seating. The place had a cool vibe and nice staff. There were posters around advertising events for every night. Gutted to miss out on the karaoke night! The best part for all you backpackers on budget? The meal + a pint, $10 if your staying there, and they are awesome meals!

Base is without a doubt my favourite hostel in Airlie. I used to live about 40 minutes drive out of Airlie beach, and would stay there when heading in for a weekend out on the town. I've stayed at few other places in Airlie because of this and I've found other places uncomfortable, unclean or with sour staff on the desk. I've also travelled up the coast to Airlie from Sydney, and we were hard pressed to find anywhere like Airlie's Base.

I would recommend this place to anybody hands down!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharkytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Location of this hostel is absolutely fantastic - could not be better. Two minutes to the shore and lagoon, right next to the main street of shops, restaurants and bars, and 10-15 minute lovely walk to the Abel Point Marina.

Down Under bar next door does great cheap and cheerful food with $10 meal and drink deal.

As for the hostel itself, dorms are ok but the standard of cleaning is questionable. I stayed 3 nights and the floors were grubby, dusty and 'bitty'. Walking without thongs on your feet were filthy in minutes!

The bathrooms of both rooms i stayed in were in need of TLC, with flaked paint and mildew. It wouldn't take much. But attention to detail gets lost when its other backpackers doing the cleaning of rooms and I'm sure most things don't get reported.

Staff were nearly all lovely, with a couple of really helpful, smiley and chirpy people. One or two struggled to raise a smile and were a bit curt. Something I witnessed here reminded me of something I saw elsewhere in Oz too. Guests whose first language is not English getting pretty sharp and cutting treatment. Guys, just remember, you are working in hospitality. Without tourists there would be no job!

Finally, prepare to pay for extras. Pay for wifi, pay for luggage storage, etc.

Despite these points I would stay here again. It was a reasonable stay. The location, the great staff compensating for the less polite ones and lovely guests make it a pretty good place to stay. With some TLC to the rooms it would be a great place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JimJamSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights our room was clean but no fridge as stated in the listing and the aircon was pants!
The room.was clean although the bathroom was clean it had ants and the toilet wall was mouldy!
The pool looked like it needed a good clean although people were swimming in it, it haf sun loungers and hammocks which is a first for aussie pools weve come across so a nice touch!
Staff could do with a customer service course and be more of them at busy times!
Not awful but not excellent

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#22 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#35 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#7 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Airlie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Airlie Beach Resort

Property: Base Airlie Beach Resort
Address: 336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Airlie Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxuries of a Resort at backpacker Prices! Base Airlie Beach Resort has gained a reputation for their stylish rooms, friendly local crew and a fun social atmosphere all in one great central location in Airlie Beach. The hostel accommodation is set amongst 6 acres of tropical gardens with an outdoor swimming pool right in the heart of Airlie Beach. Only 50m to the lagoon, the cafes, bars and shops are on the doorstep and the Abel Point Marina is just a stroll away. We have beds for all budgets - meet other travellers in our clean, comfortable multi-share rooms, all with ensuite and air-conditioning, or treat yourself to a private room with your own corner bath, fridge, air-conditioning, kitchenette & complimentary tea and coffee in the room. We also have loads of camping sites & campervan parks. Base Airlie Beach Resort is set up to be your ideal gateway to the Whitsunday Islands National Park with 74 islands and Whitehaven Beach rated as one of the top 10 beaches in the world only a short boat trip away. Off street car park and car/campervan parking while you sail, air-conditioning in ALL the rooms, fully equipped communal kitchen, internet lounge & wireless internet in every room (Global Gossip), fully air-conditioned TV lounge, secure overnight/day luggage storage, FREE BBQ facilities, 24 hour coin operated laundry, fully licensed travel desk to help organise your time in Airlie Beach, EVERYTHING you need in one location! DOWN UNDER BAR & GRILL Home of the famous AU$15 Meal/Drink Deal! Open from 10am daily for Brunch, Lunch and Dinner at the best prices intown. Nightly entertainment 7 days a week!! All in house guest will also recieve discounts off at the bar with our $9.90 meal & drink deal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Base Airlie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Airlie Beach Resort Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing