We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but felt like a big chain hostel where no one cares if you enjoy your stay or not!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights (1 either side of a Whitsunday sailing trip) in a 5 share dorm room. The layout of the resort is lots of separate buildings consisting of 4 rooms (over 2 levels all with good size windows letting in plenty of light. The rooms were ok, not very clean though and we had to change rooms one night as there was hair all over the floor, in the sink and shower, an old plaster and empty shower bottle in the shower. This room was supposedly cleaned before we checked into it! There was a fridge freezer and kitchen workshops but no appliances or cutlery.

There is a nice pool area with a good size pool and several sun loungers and hammocks which are nice to chill out in.

The kitchen area was clean on the evening we arrived but by the morning it was filthy with dirty dishes piled up in the sink. We bought cornflakes and milk, had breakfast and went for a walk. When we returned an hour later, our cornflakes and milk had both been stolen even though they had been in a labelled bag hidden at the back of the communal fridge and cupboard!
Someone had spilt a juice drink in the fridge which had soaked several coolbags so we told the girl behind the reception who was totally uninterested and the mess was still in the fridge when we returned later that afternoon!

If we hadn't booked in advance we would definitely have stayed somewhere else after our Whitsundays sailing. I am probably being generous giving this hostel an average rating...

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 534 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Base Airlie Beach is a nice laid back place where you can relax. We stayed on a double room (that actually had a double bed and 2 single beds) and we were surprised that the bathroom had a big hot tub. Moreover, it's just a small step from the Down Under bar where you can eat for $10 and from the lagoon.
Next time I will go to Airlie beach, I will certainly go back to this hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hibaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Friendly staff but took too long to check in.. When we finally got there it was worth waiting, the rooms are set back from the street so nice and quiet, big rooms with great facilities, the pool a bit small but the lagoon is just across the street so this is not a problem. Would recommend...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked 7 nights in a private ensuite room here over New Years, booking direct on the Stay at Base website.
Of course we expected to pay a bit extra due to peak season and having a private room, but we were ok with that due to the room being advertised as serviced daily with fresh linens and towels.
However after no sheet or towel change on the second day, we queried this with the reception staff. The girl was extremely rude and told me that 'its a backpackers what do you expect?' And I told her that I expect to receive the daily service that is advertised on their website and that I have paid for! She said she would arrange for our room to be serviced the next day.
The following day when the room was still not cleaned or serviced, we returned to the reception and spoke to the manager. She was not aware that the room is advertised as serviced daily and was apologetic to us, and the housekeeper was also there for the conversation. We let the know that it is very disappointing to not get what we paid for, and backpackers or not, it is advertised on their website! Both manager and housekeeper promised that they would have the room fully serviced each day until our check out.
It was serviced the next day, but after that we never had a fresh towel or sheet again. Extremely disappointing to be misled and lied to!
Paying $110 per night for an UNSERVICED room at a backpackers is daylight robbery. Won't be making that mistake again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaFrances86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at base for 2 nights over new year, initially booked and paid for 4 nights but then booked on a sailing trip so cancelled 2 nights, no hassle cancelling and getting a refund. The sailing trip booked through base travel office and fairly easy to organise, they store luggage no problem too.

We had a private twin, room really nice and clean, we had 2 different rooms and both nice, even provide a few essentials (washing up liquid, tea, coffee, sugar and carton of milk).

The only negative about this hostel for me was the noise levels from bar and the pool party they had on New Year's Day. I get that it's New Year's Day but music so loud that u can't speak to your friend in your room from 12pm - 12am was a bit much after 2 nights on a boat when all I wanted was to sleep! I am 30 and I accept that's a lot older than the generic back packer, all I would say is this hostel is great if you like to party hard!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihavehighstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very friendly and helpfull staff!! Nice shared accomodation and in the middle of the street in Airlie Beach :) Really enjoyed my time and I absolutely recommend going to Airlie Beach!
Wanno go on a (diving) tour to Whitsunday Island choose the Kiana!! Totally loved it :D

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MS-SS-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Travelling up the east coast I have come to dislike most of the Base hostels, more generally as I prefer the smaller hostels. On arrival the receptionist was quite rude to my friend as they seem to have cancelled my booking despite my emails to inform them my change of plans. Positives first, wifi is cheaper than where we had been before 4 dollars for a day in Sydney Base it is 12 dollars! The 4 bed dorm we had was big with good clean sheets and bathroom was a good size with a decent enough shower, the hostel is the far end of the street but still very central so easy to reach the lagoon and marina and little shops. The nearest Coles which is Australian supermarket which is cheap is a 3 km trek up and downhill, I got confused where to get bus due to roadworks. The kitchen was ok but there was not enough pans to cook as people from the campsite kept stealing them, and people did not clean up after themselves which u tend not to get in smaller hostels. Overall for location, convenience I would maybe stay again. Everything was satisfactory.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26curlywurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 56 in Airlie Beach
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#20 of 56 in Airlie Beach
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 56 in Airlie Beach
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#30 of 56 in Airlie Beach
190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island Gateway Holiday Park
Island Gateway Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Airlie Beach

Address: 336 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $25 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Base Backpackers Airlie Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach has gained a reputation for their stylish rooms, friendly local crew and a fun social atmosphere all in one great central location in Airlie Beach. The hostel accommodation is set amongst 6 acres of tropical gardens with an outdoor swimming pool right in the heart of Airlie Beach. Only 50m to the lagoon, the cafes, bars and shops are on the doorstep and the Abel Point Marina is just a stroll away. We have beds for all budgets - meet other travellers in our clean, comfortable multi-share rooms, all with ensuite and air-conditioning, or treat yourself to a private room with your own corner bath, fridge, air-conditioning, kitchenette & complimentary tea and coffee in the room. We also have loads of camping sites & campervan parks. Base Backpackers Airlie Beach is set up to be your ideal gateway to the Whitsunday Islands National Park with 74 islands and Whitehaven Beach rated as one of the top 10 beaches in the world only a short boat trip away. Off street car park and car/campervan parking while you sail, air-conditioning in ALL the rooms, fully equipped communal kitchen, internet lounge & wireless internet in every room (Global Gossip), fully air-conditioned TV lounge, secure overnight/day luggage storage, BBQ facilities, 24 hour coin operated laundry, fully licensed travel desk to help organise your time in Airlie Beach, EVERYTHING you need in one location! Our onsite Bar serves up the best the best food, and incredible drinks at backpacker prices! Open daily for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner at the best prices intown. Nightly entertainment 7 days a week!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Backpackers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing