We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Not As Advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Not As Advertised”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked 7 nights in a private ensuite room here over New Years, booking direct on the Stay at Base website.
Of course we expected to pay a bit extra due to peak season and having a private room, but we were ok with that due to the room being advertised as serviced daily with fresh linens and towels.
However after no sheet or towel change on the second day, we queried this with the reception staff. The girl was extremely rude and told me that 'its a backpackers what do you expect?' And I told her that I expect to receive the daily service that is advertised on their website and that I have paid for! She said she would arrange for our room to be serviced the next day.
The following day when the room was still not cleaned or serviced, we returned to the reception and spoke to the manager. She was not aware that the room is advertised as serviced daily and was apologetic to us, and the housekeeper was also there for the conversation. We let the know that it is very disappointing to not get what we paid for, and backpackers or not, it is advertised on their website! Both manager and housekeeper promised that they would have the room fully serviced each day until our check out.
It was serviced the next day, but after that we never had a fresh towel or sheet again. Extremely disappointing to be misled and lied to!
Paying $110 per night for an UNSERVICED room at a backpackers is daylight robbery. Won't be making that mistake again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaFrances86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    141
    125
    75
    64
See reviews for
8
100
143
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at base for 2 nights over new year, initially booked and paid for 4 nights but then booked on a sailing trip so cancelled 2 nights, no hassle cancelling and getting a refund. The sailing trip booked through base travel office and fairly easy to organise, they store luggage no problem too.

We had a private twin, room really nice and clean, we had 2 different rooms and both nice, even provide a few essentials (washing up liquid, tea, coffee, sugar and carton of milk).

The only negative about this hostel for me was the noise levels from bar and the pool party they had on New Year's Day. I get that it's New Year's Day but music so loud that u can't speak to your friend in your room from 12pm - 12am was a bit much after 2 nights on a boat when all I wanted was to sleep! I am 30 and I accept that's a lot older than the generic back packer, all I would say is this hostel is great if you like to party hard!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihavehighstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very friendly and helpfull staff!! Nice shared accomodation and in the middle of the street in Airlie Beach :) Really enjoyed my time and I absolutely recommend going to Airlie Beach!
Wanno go on a (diving) tour to Whitsunday Island choose the Kiana!! Totally loved it :D

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MS-SS-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Travelling up the east coast I have come to dislike most of the Base hostels, more generally as I prefer the smaller hostels. On arrival the receptionist was quite rude to my friend as they seem to have cancelled my booking despite my emails to inform them my change of plans. Positives first, wifi is cheaper than where we had been before 4 dollars for a day in Sydney Base it is 12 dollars! The 4 bed dorm we had was big with good clean sheets and bathroom was a good size with a decent enough shower, the hostel is the far end of the street but still very central so easy to reach the lagoon and marina and little shops. The nearest Coles which is Australian supermarket which is cheap is a 3 km trek up and downhill, I got confused where to get bus due to roadworks. The kitchen was ok but there was not enough pans to cook as people from the campsite kept stealing them, and people did not clean up after themselves which u tend not to get in smaller hostels. Overall for location, convenience I would maybe stay again. Everything was satisfactory.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26curlywurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Base backpackers is one of the best hostels we have stayed in down the easy coast. We have BASE jumping cards which entitled us to a four share dorm. The dorm was very clean on arrival and extremely spacious. There was a kitchen area with a fridge and an en suite with a big bath that would have been extremely nice if we had used it. The bunks were very comfy and the room is air conditioned which was brilliant considering how hot it was. The location was very good as it is on the Main Street. We were there during schoolies week which we were slightly concerned about as we wanted a good sleep after a long two day on the Whitsunday's. Amazingly it was silent at night and we both slept extremely well! The Internet wasn't to badly priced either as it was $4 for 24 hours which is a lot cheaper than the majority.

The only negative I have about this hostel is that the staff were not very helpful and seemed as if they were somewhere else most the time I was speaking to them. They were more interested in chatting between themselves than checking us in so it took a long time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

if you're backpacking and looking for a clean and comfy place to sleep in a central location, Base ticks these boxes.

We stayed in a 4 bedroom ensuite with kitchen room, with a drying rack, hammocks and chairs outside which was a nice touch, as were the provision of towels and little shampoo and conditioner bottles! The bathroom was a little dirty but I think that had more to do with the fact qe were rooming with Schoolies that had already used it when we got there, and a shower curtain in the bath/shower would have been nice, but was not an issue as the water didn't get onto the floor.

Check in was fast and easy and they stored our bags for a basic cost while we went on a whitsundays trip.

On our return, we were on a fast one hour turnaround in order to catch our bus, and even though we were a couple minutes past the designated luggage store opening time, the receptionist happily opened it up for us so we could grab our bags and repack.

Will definitely look into booking Base for our trip to New Zealand in 2 weeks time.

The Down Under Bar serves decent portions of food at average prices, I found the deal for a main course and a drink pretty reasonable for the prices around the Shute Harbour area.

All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugged89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed for a week at Base, and overall was satisfied with the hostel. We stayed in a 4 person, girls sanctuary, which was clean and quiet. The room was equipped with a fridge, which was a nice added feature. There was also a drying rack, a few chairs and hammocks right outside our door, which was great! The downsides to the room were that the air conditioning did not work (was not working prior to our arrival, and no attempt was made to be fixed during out stay). We were given an industrial fan which helped with the heat. Also, the was no shower curtain in the ensuite bathroom, so the bathroom was quite humid, and everything was wet every time someone showered. At 20$ a night, well worth it's money!

The hostel is in a great location, close to the lagoon and bars. The drinks at the Base bar were awful, watered down and much to sugary. Also their 10$ meals, are crap, not worth eating there. The kitchen also lacked in basic amenities, and checking in is quite slow. However, overall the I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#35 of 54 in Airlie Beach
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Airlie Beach

Property: Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Address: 336 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Airlie Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach has gained a reputation for their stylish rooms, friendly local crew and a fun social atmosphere all in one great central location in Airlie Beach. The hostel accommodation is set amongst 6 acres of tropical gardens with an outdoor swimming pool right in the heart of Airlie Beach. Only 50m to the lagoon, the cafes, bars and shops are on the doorstep and the Abel Point Marina is just a stroll away. We have beds for all budgets - meet other travellers in our clean, comfortable multi-share rooms, all with ensuite and air-conditioning, or treat yourself to a private room with your own corner bath, fridge, air-conditioning, kitchenette & complimentary tea and coffee in the room. We also have loads of camping sites & campervan parks. Base Backpackers Airlie Beach is set up to be your ideal gateway to the Whitsunday Islands National Park with 74 islands and Whitehaven Beach rated as one of the top 10 beaches in the world only a short boat trip away. Off street car park and car/campervan parking while you sail, air-conditioning in ALL the rooms, fully equipped communal kitchen, internet lounge & wireless internet in every room (Global Gossip), fully air-conditioned TV lounge, secure overnight/day luggage storage, BBQ facilities, 24 hour coin operated laundry, fully licensed travel desk to help organise your time in Airlie Beach, EVERYTHING you need in one location! Our onsite Bar serves up the best the best food, and incredible drinks at backpacker prices! Open daily for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner at the best prices intown. Nightly entertainment 7 days a week!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Backpackers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing