We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Clean and friendly”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

stayed here for a week, rooms where clean with a bathroom and fridge provided, staff are all friendly and helpful. well located on the main strip with loads of bars however nightlife is quite monday to wednesdays

Room Tip: there all pretty good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    141
    122
    73
    64
See reviews for
8
100
141
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived we were ignored while the receptionists carried on their conversation. We stayed in a six person mixed dorm which was cramped and dirty, the bathroom smelt bad. The communal kitchen was also pretty dirty and there wasnt enough pots/pans for people to use so we had to wait quite a while. The following day we had to be up early for a Whitsunday tour but were kept up till past 4am with people partying in their rooms/ in the pool! I wouldn't recommend this hostel, average at best and there's better places to stay in Airlie beach.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at Base Airlie Beach: before and after my sailing trip in the Whitsundays.
I really enjoyed the time I spent there. The bedroom was big enough for 4 girls and their luggages (you still have place to move in the room). Each room has an ensuite bathroom which is a huuuge advantage. The bathroom was clean (I think cleanness really depends on your roomates too) and the bed comfortable. The staff was friendly and professional. One of the drawbacks is that there is no locker in the rooms for valuables. However, you can store your luggage at reception (for one or several days) if you want to. That's really handy if you go to a sailing trip.
I didn't use the kitchen, but it looks okay, even if it's not the biggest kitchen I've seen so far.
Just be aware that kitchen and lounge close at 10pm.
The Base is also perfectly located. Bars, food, clubs, beach are within walking distance.
Despite its central location, the Base is really quiet during the night and you can have a good night (check-out is at 11am too!)
It is also a good place to meet new people from all around the world.

I definitely recommend choosing to stay at Base for your stop in Airlie Beach. I liked it so much!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchieInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed at Base over the weekend 5/10-7/10 2012 and had an awesome time. Close walk to everywhere and pretty sweet rooms. Pool was full of tanned european chicks. Kirsty on the front desk helped out heaps with places to go and booking trips for us, deffinently made the trip for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParadiseCityJetski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
143 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night. It cost $90ish. We booked a private room and had one of the 4 bed dorms to ourselves. The room was pretty basic. The curtain didn't close all the way across the window though so people could see in if passing by. Bathroom was fine. Staff were friendly. Location is good. It's just on the edge of the town so away from the noise but close enough to walk to everything. There's private parking which was handy.

Was fine for one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SF3415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Had a sanctuary room, was great after the last hostel, easy to get to staff were very friendly and helpful, deals on food, they take a twenty pound deposit for the room key otherwise no problems. Met some really nice people, caters for all people travelling even campervans.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank amiejsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights and I wasn't looking forward to it as I've stayed in the Base at Brisbane Central and it was a nightmare! The girls at check in were really friendly and helpful, we stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was really clean and spacious. Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#35 of 54 in Airlie Beach
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#23 of 54 in Airlie Beach
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#8 of 10 in Airlie Beach
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Airlie Beach

Property: Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Address: 336 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Airlie Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach has gained a reputation for their stylish rooms, friendly local crew and a fun social atmosphere all in one great central location in Airlie Beach. The hostel accommodation is set amongst 6 acres of tropical gardens with an outdoor swimming pool right in the heart of Airlie Beach. Only 50m to the lagoon, the cafes, bars and shops are on the doorstep and the Abel Point Marina is just a stroll away. We have beds for all budgets - meet other travellers in our clean, comfortable multi-share rooms, all with ensuite and air-conditioning, or treat yourself to a private room with your own corner bath, fridge, air-conditioning, kitchenette & complimentary tea and coffee in the room. We also have loads of camping sites & campervan parks. Base Backpackers Airlie Beach is set up to be your ideal gateway to the Whitsunday Islands National Park with 74 islands and Whitehaven Beach rated as one of the top 10 beaches in the world only a short boat trip away. Off street car park and car/campervan parking while you sail, air-conditioning in ALL the rooms, fully equipped communal kitchen, internet lounge & wireless internet in every room (Global Gossip), fully air-conditioned TV lounge, secure overnight/day luggage storage, BBQ facilities, 24 hour coin operated laundry, fully licensed travel desk to help organise your time in Airlie Beach, EVERYTHING you need in one location! Our onsite Bar serves up the best the best food, and incredible drinks at backpacker prices! Open daily for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner at the best prices intown. Nightly entertainment 7 days a week!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Base Backpackers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing