We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel great location for pick ups and drop off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Please note I review this as a hostel and not a hotel.
Great hostel in great place. The room I stayed at was one of larger 5 beds, I was traveling alone and found the place safe comfortable and clean to an excellent degree plus air con.
A free breakfast is served in the communal area each morning which consists of toast jam peanut butter Vegemite and butter, also cereal is available. You get a free drink voucher when you check in for use at the bar that evening and when you flash your key card meals are reduced from $13 to $10
The bathroom is big with a jacuzzi bath ( I didn't use this only the shower) shower works great. In my room there was also a fridge to use.
Pro's = great room clean safe comfortable quiet, pool area and cheap tasty food and free breakfast. 11 am check out
Con's = air con a little loud, no lockers at the time.
Suggestion = take bug spray simply due to location I would recommend to friends other guests in my room said it was amazing compared to other hostels they had stayed at
Other hostels in the area are 8 plus dorms and situated above bars.

Room Tip: Book in advance as it gets full fast. There is a $20 deposit for the room key which you get back on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulgriffuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 551 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

Big clean rooms. Good location. Good wifi reception

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marionb1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Was a bit concerned having read some reviews on here but the hostel was clean and the staff were friendly (as were fellow backpackers). There was some noise but it wasn't a problem and the Down Under Bar had some great deals too, as well as toast and cereal in the mornings. I would go back!

Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
Thank Elspeth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the XBase Airlie Beach resort and were generally impressed. The rooms are all independent buildings which generally means that noise isn't an issue like it is in some XBase resorts. The our room of five had it's own fridge and a huge bathroom which was clean on arrival, I think also they do some work to match visitors that are staying for the same length of time (for example our room was nearly full of people all staying for 3 nights)... The communal facilities could do with some improving (i.e. the kettle vanished for a day, the tea towels left fluff all over the dishes and there was not much space to prepare food) but nothing major. Overall I'd say it was exactly what we expected and really quite a nice place to stay (the $20 room key deposit seems quite high though, however they did replace my card for free when it snapped)...

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are further from the road and bars so generally quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabberdabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights with my friend in a twin room.

The room had a double bed and bunkbeds + tv, small kitchen area with fridge, kettle etc and a nice big bathroom.

The hostel is located at the end of the main street in Airlie beach (the opposite end from where the greyhound bus will drop you off but the closest end for walking to catch the sail boats).

The accomodation was clean, with good laudry facilities + a nice pool area :-) It rained a lot of the time we were there but the rooms have balconies with a shelter and since it wasn't cold we could still sit outside under these :-) the communal kitchen was well stocked and kept clean and the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Korinamcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Simply put:
-Dirty, the kitchen and welcome toilet and shower particularly so.
-Room also dirty.
-I have been to hostels that deserve five stars this is lucky to get two.
-Staff have little pride in their jobs and it shows.
-$20 dollar key deposit, there were tow of us and we still had to pay $40 although one key was adequate for us.
-Pay for internet (this is common unfortunately) but goes to show there are no perks here.
-Try another hostel in town, we did it was one star better in my assessment.

Room Tip: Pick a different hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjf7600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Booked single room that costed $90 per night.
In the first room the aircon and tv did not work. Coffee cups were dirty etc.

Got another room with working ac but yet another non working tv. Did not bother to complain more.

Pool is ok but small. Base is quite far away from the bus stop. Like the last hostel on the main strip.

Funny thing is that in the first room i had two shampoos and no body lotion. Well in the second room vice versa..

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finsammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#31 of 56 in Airlie Beach
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#15 of 56 in Airlie Beach
538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#20 of 56 in Airlie Beach
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Island Gateway Holiday Park
Island Gateway Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#29 of 56 in Airlie Beach
192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Airlie Beach

Address: 336 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $37 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Base Backpackers Airlie Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach has gained a reputation for their stylish rooms, friendly local crew and a fun social atmosphere all in one great central location in Airlie Beach. The hostel accommodation is set amongst 6 acres of tropical gardens with an outdoor swimming pool right in the heart of Airlie Beach. Only 50m to the lagoon, the cafes, bars and shops are on the doorstep and the Abel Point Marina is just a stroll away. We have beds for all budgets - meet other travellers in our clean, comfortable multi-share rooms, all with ensuite and air-conditioning, or treat yourself to a private room with your own corner bath, fridge, air-conditioning, kitchenette & complimentary tea and coffee in the room. We also have loads of camping sites & campervan parks. Base Backpackers Airlie Beach is set up to be your ideal gateway to the Whitsunday Islands National Park with 74 islands and Whitehaven Beach rated as one of the top 10 beaches in the world only a short boat trip away. Off street car park and car/campervan parking while you sail, air-conditioning in ALL the rooms, fully equipped communal kitchen, internet lounge & wireless internet in every room (Global Gossip), fully air-conditioned TV lounge, secure overnight/day luggage storage, BBQ facilities, 24 hour coin operated laundry, fully licensed travel desk to help organise your time in Airlie Beach, EVERYTHING you need in one location! Our onsite Bar serves up the best the best food, and incredible drinks at backpacker prices! Open daily for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner at the best prices intown. Nightly entertainment 7 days a week!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Base Backpackers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing