We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great crew” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Rafting

Ocean Rafting
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.57*
and up
Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach
Ranked #1 of 79 Tours in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ocean Rafting visits the “Wild Side” of the Whitsunday Islands, the uninhabited islands with beautiful natural scenery brimming with marine, bird and animal life. There are two exciting tour options, the Northern Exposure and Southern Lights, and each Ocean Rafting day includes an exhilarating ride to Whitehaven Beach, pristine snorkelling reefs and guided Whitsunday Island National Parks walks. Ocean Rafting is the only tour to have direct access to the stunning and iconic Hill Inlet beach, and special snorkel sites at Hook Island and Border Island ensure a memorable underwater experience.The semi rigid inflatable vessels are super fast allowing guests to experience a fun ride, adventure and education amongst the natural beauty of the Whitsundays. The vessels were originally designed and built as rescue crafts and are driven by 450hp engines. 70% of the vessel is shaded, providing comfort from the tropical sun. Small groups allow guests to experience tropical paradise away from the crowds.Ocean Rafting has been operating since 1997 and is proud to have special permits allowing its vessels to visit protected areas in the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The Skipper and Eco Host will ensure guests have a fun filled adventure and personalised service, from the courtesy bus pick up in the morning to snorkel lessons and a guided National Park walk in the Whitsunday Islands.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

been in airlie for two yrs now and finally done the famous ocean rafting as my sister was up from tamworth. great crew to make the day fantastic great work cam and matt!! highly recommend this no. one on the to do list in the whitsundays. and yet you can sit back relax enjoy the ride and thrill!

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,457
    481
    82
    28
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Heaps of fun (without the early start!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a really great day with Ocean Rafting. The guys on our boat were fun and informative and made the whole experience really enjoyable - the price was good and the food was nice. The best thing about the trip we did was that it wasn't the entire day, we boarded at 10am (meaing we didnt have to get up too early which was an important part of our break) and were home by 4:30pm. Also, the smaller boats were not only fun to be on (fast and bouncy), but they were able to get in to parts of the islands that the bigger operators couldn't - this was especially good on the day we went out as there was a bit of wind which had blown a lot of the popular locations out. Overall I would highly recommend Ocean Rafting if you don't mind being bounced around in a high speed boat!

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Shane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockatoo, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Great Day Out & So Much To See!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great day, highlight for me was the snorkeling in two different locations, amazing and absolutely beautiful! Tour guides were great, made the day very uplifting and were very funny. The boat is quite fast and the only down fall for me was the'burn outs' which I held on for dear life cause I was so scared I would die! However everyone else loved that thrilling experience. I would suggest that this cruise is for the more younger generation from 18-35yrs. Would do it again for sure, just need to get over my nerves on that boat, lol.

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank meljc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbeltown, Scotland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Awesome Day Out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you've only got a day to spend in the Whitsundays I would highly recommend this trip! The boat speedily transported us to all the main sites, stopping to watch whales and to snorkel in the most amazing spots. We chose Northern exposure and had an amazing day. Whitehaven Beach & Hill Inlet was fantastic although we were unfortunate that the weather turned on us out there and had some rain but it didn't spoil our experience.Had a fun ride through the "Washing machine" followed by a delicious lunch on the beach. The crew were great fun and they provided lots of nice food for us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank elainemcgeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxton, Australia
1 review
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We chose Northern exposure and had an amazing day. We saw myriad fish & beautiful coral while snorkelling,as well as turtles, whales & of course Whitehaven Beach & Hill Inlet.Had a fun ride through the "Washing machine" followed by a delicious lunch on the beach. The crew of Thrilla were fun & knowledgable. Will definitely be taking another trip with them on our next visit. Thoroughly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank LizJ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Rafting also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Ocean Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing