We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Rafting

Ocean Rafting
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.69*
and up
Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach
Ranked #1 of 79 Tours in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ocean Rafting visits the “Wild Side” of the Whitsunday Islands, the uninhabited islands with beautiful natural scenery brimming with marine, bird and animal life. There are two exciting tour options, the Northern Exposure and Southern Lights, and each Ocean Rafting day includes an exhilarating ride to Whitehaven Beach, pristine snorkelling reefs and guided Whitsunday Island National Parks walks. Ocean Rafting is the only tour to have direct access to the stunning and iconic Hill Inlet beach, and special snorkel sites at Hook Island and Border Island ensure a memorable underwater experience.The semi rigid inflatable vessels are super fast allowing guests to experience a fun ride, adventure and education amongst the natural beauty of the Whitsundays. The vessels were originally designed and built as rescue crafts and are driven by 450hp engines. 70% of the vessel is shaded, providing comfort from the tropical sun. Small groups allow guests to experience tropical paradise away from the crowds.Ocean Rafting has been operating since 1997 and is proud to have special permits allowing its vessels to visit protected areas in the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The Skipper and Eco Host will ensure guests have a fun filled adventure and personalised service, from the courtesy bus pick up in the morning to snorkel lessons and a guided National Park walk in the Whitsunday Islands.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Took the Northern Exposure trip with Tim & Mary, as our Guides... It was the Best Day trip at Airlie Beach. We couvered about 65 miles of the Whitsunday Islands.. Lunch at White Haven Beach with the most beautiful white sand you have ever seen.. then Headed to two different snorkling sites with Tons of fish and coral .. I would recommend this for anyone that has an opportunity to book this trip ... We made our reservations on line before arriving by Cruise ship and it was a perfect day!!! Thanks Guys for an Awesome memory of a fantastic vacation down under !!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,462
    482
    82
    28
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic day trip... unforgettable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about this company and my day trip with them.
They picked me up and I was taken to the jetty where we were introduced and briefed about the day trip... after the formalities it was fun all the way!
The trip around the Whitsundays was great fun... a fast rib boat with a great driver in Ivan. Mary was his partner in crime going round the boat taking pictures and telling us about the local area that we were passing at about 40 knots!
The trip first stops at an inlet where you are dropped off to walk up to a stunning viewing area of Whitehaven beach. You then walk down to the beach before you are picked up for a short blast in the boat to the far end of Whitehaven beach for lunch.
After an hour for lunch its off again on the boat with a couple of stops to snorkel. When I was there we saw plenty of sea life and even a turtle. Finally its back to Airlie beach, not before a fling around the harbour, and you get a chance to view the pics and videos Mary had taken.
If you are not up for a bumpy ride then I suggest you take a yacht! I loved it though and hope to do it again some day!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Shand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible. Best day trip in Airlie by far!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My partner and I had the most wonderful day. Absolutely faultless from the get go.
Morning pick up, warm welcome. We were lucky enough to go out with Kerry (fantastic tour guide - if we had to pick a favourite, she wins by a mile) and the lovely Ivan.
Swam with a huge sea turtle, snorkelled some beautifully intense coral, 2 different beautiful snorkel spots, crazy fish. Good food, music while you are cruising along with the wind in your hair, doing some crazy turns and enjoying life.
I would recommend the trip every time and I can't wait to be able to go again one day.

Thanks ocean rafting, a truly memorable day.

Cat and Mike (Port Lincoln)

Helpful?
Thank Catrinlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was traveling alone and the weather was bad so instead of a sailing trip to the Whitsundays, i chose Ocean Rafting. I paid $124 for the Northern Exposure and must say every penny was worth the experience! The guides and service is very good as well.

I was picked up by their minivan from outside my backpackers. There were over 60 people taking the tour that day and everyone was divided into 3 different boats. We had to pay $7 for a stinger suit which was quite weird since most of the tour included snorkeling. After checkin on the deck, there was complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits. We mounted our ocean rafting boat, Wild Thing, and set off for our adventure. As promised we were taken to Hill Inlet, did a easy bushwalk to the lookout from where we could see the White haven beach. Lunch was served on White Haven beach and we were lucky the weather was perfect all the time we were on the beach! I had paid $7.50 for the lunch as part of an online promotion on their website. Lunch was decent and good enough to satisfy your hunger.

After lunch, we had around 1 hour to laze around on the beach, which was perfect. Then we put on our stinger suits and proceeded to our first snorkeling location. Unfortunately it was raining most of the time we were traveling in the sea so we could not enjoy the ride that much. However we were lucky to have no rain on both occasions when we were snorkeling.

I would highly recommend taking this while you are in Airlie beach. One day well spent!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BhawnaAhlawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wanted to rate it zero star if I could”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Worst experience ever. Set out as a nice day and the engine was busted. They could take us to the whitehaven beach using the remaining engine but instead took us back. No compensation, no offering for anything to make up for the trip. We spent over $5000 for a trip to Australia and didnt get a chance to see whitehaven. A big disappointment left for an otherwise wonderful trip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank thousand1000oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanRafting_Safari, Owner at Ocean Rafting, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Ocean Rafting sincerely apologises for the breakdown you encountered in December...this is the first breakdown Ocean Rafting has had in over 4 years and 70 days. Unfortunately this happened due to the highly advanced technology in the motors that we use onboard our vessels and their capability to emit ultra low emissions. The motor itself did not in fact break down, rather the technology used in the motors became faulty, therefore telling the motor to shut down. We spent the first day trying to find out what the problem was but it would not repeat the shutdown process again, making it very difficult to detect the problem. We tested the engine with the computer, but again it gave a 100% reading which did not help matters for our mechanics. After the second breakdown, our team spent all night replacing the engine with a brand new engine (close on $30 000 worth of equipment), which we carry as a spare in case this ever happens. Six of our staff worked throughout the night to ensure we had a boat for the following day.

We did give everyone a full refund and we did offer to take the guests that day to another closer Whitsunday location, Bali Hai, for the day. Bali Hai has a beautiful beach and great snorkelling around its fringing reef, including almost guaranteed turtle sightings. Most guests however opted for a refund and to return to the mainland, and as such we went with the majority vote. Whitehaven Beach is at least twice the distance and covers more open ocean, therefore offering less protection and a less safe option under the circumstances.

Please believe that it is the worst thing that can happen on our tours as we are very aware of the disappointment for our guests. I am sorry that you felt you should award us with such a low ranking as we tried our best to rectify the situation by offering a full refund to everyone and replacing the motor, and we really don’t feel we could have done much more than we did. Ocean Rafting has an extremely efficient maintenance regime and operate using the best of equipment. We replace our engines every 2000 hours to avoid breakdowns and these types of situations, which can be seen by the fact we have not had a breakdown in over four years. The good news is that the new engine is working well and we have had no other problems since.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Rafting also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Ocean Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing