We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Perfection... A+++, 11 out of 10, best in Airlie.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you look at other reviews I have written, you will see that I usually have a lot to say. Not this time.

This place is quite simply PERFECTLY PERFECT. New, clean, spacious, modern, beautifully decorated, reasonably priced and the best choice of apartment in Airlie Beach. We will be returning again very very soon. Don't bother comparing it to other accommodation options. This is the best.

We looked for flaws this time. Normally they are very apparent after a few days stay, but this time we searched for them. We couldn't find any. The only suggestions we could possibly make to Boathouse management is to provide additional towels though the ones we had were enough, and to install a full length mirror in the bathroom or bedroom.

To anyone considering going to Airlie Beach, go, stay at Boathouse, and stay longer than we did, at least a week!

Otherwise, once again, Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger are just PERFECT.

ENJOY!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Markerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Mantra Boathouse Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for making the effort to review your recent visit to The Boathouse Apartments By Outrigger. We are very pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations, and thank you for sharing this with everyone. We cannot please everyone all the time, but we certainly try.
We do not feel it necessary at this stage to increase our toweling in the rooms, as we are self contained apartments and not serviced apartments, but we will monitor for future reference.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to The Boathouse Apartments By Outrigger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 549 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here. The apartments are just fantastic, clean, tidy, modern and with wonderful views of the marina. The apartments were spacious and well serviced. Internet was a bit of a rip off but I think thats just generally most places we stayed along the east coast in Australia. The beds were so comfortable even the extra bed we had put in the room. The pool was lovely to relax by. There is a few shops and cafes and a s restaurant down the front. Only a short stroll to the town and arlie beach. Loved my stay! thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Mantra Boathouse Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Boathouse Apartments By Outrigger. We are pleased that everything met your expectations and beyond, so thank you for sharing.
In regards to the internet, it is supplied by an external operator, so we do not determine the charge rate for internet usage.

Hopefully we will be welcoming you back soon to The Boathouse Apartments By Outrigger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

As soon as we entered we received horrible service by one staff member by the name of Dominic. He firstly pulled down other staff members by saying a mistake was made by another member of his team as I should have lost all my money but did not. We were then given 2 complaints on the Saturday night we stayed there. 640pm was the first time - noise and swearing complaints. Quite a joke as we weren't swearing and we were accused of turning the music down when he was coming coming because it had been reported that the music was excessively loud. 2nd complaint come at just before 830pm and we had been on the balcony for approximately 5 minutes. We were told by security that the guests below us had complained about our noise and racket and that we were to keep it down or it would be taken further. Firstly there was no one below us as we were on the bottom level and secondly they would have had to call reception to place the complaint as soon as we opened the door to head outside to give her time to get up to our room. I put this down to a level of age discrimination. If you do not want 23 year olds in your hotel say so but if not stated we are paying customers like everyone else and we are entitled to use our balcony. I don't feel that being on our balcony at that time of the evening is in appropriate. To top things off - we went to check out and were notified there would be an extra charge of $30 for a rollaway. this charge was not brought forward when checking in and given the fact the rooms were changed i refused to pay. We will never stay there again and I put it down to the horrible customer service we received,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Mantra Boathouse Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your feedback Kristal however, we have a strict "no party policy" here at the Boathouse Apartments by outrigger and as I live at the property I was also affected and noted the profanity and loud thumping music from your apartment at 6:30pm and also 8:30pm.

The point when referring to the apartment below you making the noise was actually me and you below me and took me to ask the staff to remind you for the second time about the level of music, profanity and drinking games being played with more than 10+ people on the balcony.

I have a young family and was called by another family who were also trying to get their children to sleep and your actions most definitely hampered and affected this process and in my opinion the music was well above and beyond a reasonable level.

You were not targeted and the rules and policies in place which I add, you signed and agreed not to make excessive noise or hold a party in the apartment or on the balcony were clearly breached.

The charges for the rollaway are a standard hotel policy around the world for additional guests requiring additional bedding.

Your feedback has been discussed amongst all of the hotel staff working during your stay and I am satisfied that the correct process and procedures were followed by my staff.

*Please note all people reading this review, If you are coming to Airlie beach to party and not act responsibly with any regard for the other guests of the hotel I would suggest you please seriously consider you choice in hotel as these kinds of parties and behaviour is not and will not be accepted at the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Location is great around 30mins drive away from Prospine airport- $15pp hotel transfer/ shared taxi

Apartment is at the top of Shute rd right by port and walking distant to the town where all the shops and restaurants are.

We had a 2 bed apartment both ensuite
Apartment is good size and has a lovely balcony looking over the boats

Apartment is fully equip with all kitchen utensils and tea bags & milk is provided etc though I'd recommend to bring cooking oil, butter etc as non of these are included.

Bathroom amenities could be better- only small shampoo, conditioner, moisturiser & body soap- no vanity kits, no dressing gowns only 1 set of towels p/p no slippers either.

There is also a utility room with iron, washing machine and laundry powder is provided.

A nice size Swimming pool is located in front of apartments with tennis court and a park, beach towels are 1aud per towel for the stay.

Parking is provided- underground and very secure.

Outrigger apartments are great for families, clean, modern, easy and has everything you need however the bad part is wifi is not free (see my photo for charges!) and chk out is 10am & unless you are staying for 5 nights or more, housekeeping is not inclu.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lalalatracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Mantra Boathouse Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our 2 bedroom apartments and that the room inclusions and facilities were exactly what you and your family wanted.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The good aspects are that the apartments were nice and clean and staff were pleasant. All rooms face the sea.

The downside is that they are charging full rates while trying to run things on the cheap. A couple examples:

1) As noted below there is minimal housekeeping during the stay (which is perfectly fine). But someone paying about $300/day (high season) does not really like being told "there are actually no more towels". So we spent a large portion of the time drying ourselves with wet towels, which I associate more with camping than semi-luxury accommodation. (There are "washer/dryers" in the apartments, but the machine really just rotates and heats without drying. On a less rainy week they probably could have dried outside).

2) Internet service is $42 for a week but limited to 1Gb TOTAL, so if you have serious work to do, forget this place. Also, only ONE machine can be signed in at a time, so if you have a couple people wanting to use computers or phones, etc, forget it.

3) Probably most people need to get to the airport in the early afternoon, but checkout is at 10:00 am sharp and they apparently don't have the housekeeping staff to have any leeway. Out you go.

Suggestion to management: Spend the additional cents to supply guests with dish soap and shampoo and towels and hire perhaps one more housekeeper to get more reviews in the 5* range.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cecil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Mantra Boathouse Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Boathouse Apartments By Outrigger.
We are pleased that you found the room and the surroundings to your liking.
I do apalogize for the lack of replacement toweling during your visit, and that the dryers do take a bit longer to dry items than normal
The boathouse Apartments By Outrigger, are self contained, but the amenaties are available on request
During peak times, due to the need to turn rooms around, we need to get the rooms cleaned by 14:00 for guests arriving that day, so unfortunately sometimes late checkouts are not available, nothing to do with not having enough house keeping staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Boathouse Apartments by outrigger in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We loved our apartment. Brilliant location, easy stroll to town compared to many other accoms on the hill. Very relaxing, Every room has a view and it was worth every cent. Rooms very comfortable and well kept. Would highly recommend and can't wait to book our next holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMS_fireworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Mantra Boathouse Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and positive review about your recent stay at the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger.
I never get tired about hearing how families and friends have enjoyed their holidays and look forward to welcoming you back to the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lovely modern apartments in a great location with top facilities. The weather was not on best behaviour but we still had a very enjoyable stay. Only complaint - we couldn't stay longer. Next time maybe ...
Best things: Beautifully appointed, well equipped 3 bedroom/2 bath apartment. Very clean. Convenience of 3 eateries, bottle shop and several boutiques in the complex. Family friendly - pool and playground to keep ankle biters occupied and happy. Very conveniently located - easy pleasant walk to the town centre but away from noise and bustle. Excellent beds. Bathrooms with shower rails - hand held option. Lovely view over boat harbour.
Worst things: No mirrors in bedrooms 2&3. Stiff tap handle in bathroom. Expensive - but definately worth the money for a quality experience

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sugarmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Mantra Boathouse Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you Sugarmum for taking time to comment on your recent visit to the Boathouse Apartments By Outrigger. I am very pleased that you found our facilities to be very convenient, clean and comfortable. I am sorry the weather did not play it's part in maximising your hoiliday.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Boathouse Apartments By Outrigger in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
427 reviews
16.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
16 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.7 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#7 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Boathouse Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Boathouse Apartments

Address: 33 Port Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia (Formerly Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $202 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Boathouse Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right on Port of Airlie Marina, Mantra Boathouse Apartments are a great accommodation choice. You can choose from a Two or Three Bedroom Apartment, fully equipped with everything you need like full-sized refrigerators/freezers, dishwashers, microwaves and stovetops as well as ultra-comfy beds and private balconies giving you a sensational view over the endless Coral Sea. These apartments are simply ideal for couples, groups or the family. You’ll find these spacious Airlie Beach apartments have room to spread out and relax. The separate sitting and dining areas, as well as roomy bedrooms make for a really comfortable stay; and it doesn’t stop when you step outside your door. There’s a children’s playground as well as a swimming pool and sundeck, get a little exercise up on the tennis court and throw some snags on the barbie and enjoy. Parking is free and you’re close to everything Airlie Beach has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Boathouse Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Boathouse Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing