We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip”

Illusions Whitsundays
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best day sailing, snorkelling and diving in the Whitsundays. Relax on a 12m catamaran, with space to lounge, and escape the elements too. Perfect for all ages. Visit the beautiful Blue Pearl Bay on Hayman Island, and Langford reef, where you may even get to swim with turtles. We might not look like an old pirate ship or charge like one, but we do offer more sailing and snorkelling time than most, and we charge much less. Small numbers too mean plenty of space to sit or lie down.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Naomi and Robert very friendly and knowledgeable. Best snorkeling in the Whitsundays. We also went scuba diving and this was a very memorable experience. The boat is clean,comfortable. Best day trip in Airlie Beach!! Do to a glitch with another day trip we went on a second trip with Naomi and Robert and it was just as wonderful if not a little better. Wonderful, wonderful!!!

Thank raincharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More languages

90 - 94 of 136 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We had only one day in airlie and wanted a Whitsunday cruise. We booked illusions through the Townsville information centre at about 10am the day before the trip. I was asked for a contact number, but because I only had a uk number they didn't take it, or any other contact info.

I was asked to call when we had arranged accommodation so they could organise pick up. I did this at 7pm that same day and was told that the boat was cancelled as there wasn't enough people booked on, but we could still do the Sunday.

This was no good to us as we had to leave on Sunday, and it was too late for us to book on to any other day tours. Thankfully we managed a half day trip to Whitehaven with another company, but that wasn't what we were after.

Illusions should have warned us when booking that there was a chance the boat wouldn't be going out, and should have taken contact information so they could let us know.

They also came out with the rubbish that lots of other boats weren't going out that day because it was quiet- we went down to the quay first thing and they were all booked up!

I wouldn't touch this company with a barge pole!

1  Thank ang186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
negreta, Owner at Illusions Whitsundays, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

We are very sorry that we had to cancel your trip that day, but as I hope you will understand we are running a business and cannot go out with only 2 people.
We tried to contact you via your booking agent in Cairns, but unfortunately they did not take your UK mobile number. This was not our mistake, however we have informed our manifest agent that all out of town bookings in the future must have a contact number regardless if it is overseas or not.
As for our comment about other boats cancelling that day, our manifest agent had given us that information which we passed onto you. We are sorry you feel that we made this up.
In regards to cancellations: any company has the right to cancel dependent on numbers, weather conditions, engine issues etc especially in the tropics, where storms can occur out of the blue. We do try to minimize this inconvenience, however do suggest to people that they make contact earlier in the day (your call to us was much later) so they can arrange an alternative other tour if necessary, or allow more than one day.
Once again we do apologize to you and offer a discounted trip to you if you ever return to the Whitsundays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A great day out,one of the cheaper boat cruises.Went to 2 locations to snorkel/ dive.Skipper was good, and Naomi ( his offsider) could not have been better.V.professional and nothing was too much for them.We had a little 9 yr old in our family, he was treated so well - she had him helping with the boat and he loved it.Only 9 people on boat, so it was a real personal experience.Lunch was average ( but no worse than any other day cruises) and alcohol could be bought .

Thank MEJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This day trip is by far one of the best and most affordable day trips from Airlie Beach. Crew were friendly and professional! Best snorkelling in the whitsundays! Thanks for a memorable day.

Thank Emmaday2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

If your after that personal touch and a life time of memories would highly recommend the Illusion by far as nothing comes close to this company.

We left at 7.30am and returned by 4pm, in this trip we saw dolphins, whales, turtles,heaps of fish, coral and sand beaches.

We had 3 little girls on this cruise with us and people with dietary requirement and the staff took care of the lot, kids were happy and the food was superb.

I really did not want the day to end it was the most enjoyable day, a BIG thank you to the Illusion crew for making that day just so fantastic...I will be back and highly recommend you to all.

For those who are thinking of doing a cruise in the Whitsundays..this is the one to do.

Just bring a towel and sunscreen, everything else is provided.

1  Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Illusions Whitsundays also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland

Been to Illusions Whitsundays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing