We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cell like room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed in a private double room here for one night. The room was like a very large prison cell. When we checked in we got a 'don't really give a Sh**' girl who was not very helpfully. Location was great and I think if you are a young single group travelling around looking for a good time this could possibly be a good hostel. Note tho it's huge!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 619 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

It was a great place to stay. Very close to everything. Very close to the Airlie Lagoon. The room and the bathrooms were extremely clean. It was so spacious and the room looked very new. The process of checking in was very short and simple.Great facilities provided. Kitchen was clean as well and was very big. The environment was good. Totally worth my money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randomtraveller93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Went here with a campervan, was given a parking space sized area that was already taken. Paid 30 dollars but wouldn't even pay that again. Was given another which was already taken as well. So just set up camp on the grass somewhere. Girl at counter had no clue what she was doing. Toilets were disgusting. Showers did not work. Was kept up all night but a drunk couple threatening people and screaming and fighting all night. Abusing people physically and verbally. Was horrible. This place is for bogans/hillbillies. DO NOT STAY HERE. Moved the next day.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dre26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The worst place I have stayed out of the 50 or so caravan parks I've been too. You're packed in like sardines. You have about a metre between vehicles so no privacy and everyone that walks past can see what you're up to. Bathrooms are rubbish.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jellyroll1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

This is now my number 1 hostle in Australia. Rooms are spotless with 2 showers and 2 sinks! Each bed has a lamp and sockets. The area in general is like a resort than a hostel! The staff are helpfull. I have not got one single bad comment about the hostle. Its a must that you stay here! Stunning for a hostle!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARYJODublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NomadsAirlieBeachH, Front Office Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time out to let us know what you thought of our hostel! We are so glad that you loved it! Make sure you spread the Nomads word and more importantly, make sure you come back and stay with us again! We love hearing such positive feedback from our guests! Thank you again and enjoy the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Thought we would stay in a hostel not just to save a bit of money but also to attempt to relive our 20's. We we're pleasantly surprised with this place; spacious private room, fluffy towels, good bar service on site, well maintained grounds and pool area. Overall very good for a hostel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SSShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Friendly staff, good service, internet connection was okay (unfortunately you have to pay much for it). Good location; on the 'mean street' in Airlie Beach. There is a shuttle bus, who bring you to the greyhound busses. Rooms were clean and you have enough space.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NomadsAirlieBeachH, Front Office Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hello!

Thank you for taking time out to leave us your thoughts on your stay with us here in Nomads Airlie Beach. We are glad that you were happy with your stay. We do realise that internet and wi-fi can be quite expensive in this country that is why we made a deal with Global Gossip and have the cheapest GG prices in Airlie Beach. Internet in Australia is quite expensive and we are always looking into ways of passing on savings to our guests. We are glad you liked our hostel! Enjoy the rest of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#13 of 57 in Airlie Beach
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#46 of 57 in Airlie Beach
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#29 of 57 in Airlie Beach
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#23 of 57 in Airlie Beach
437 reviews
1 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Gateway Holiday Park
Island Gateway Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

Address: 354 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $50 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill out in our tropical paradise in the centre of Airlie Beach Nomads Airlie Beach has 7 acres of tropical flora and fauna right in the centre of town, a relaxing atmosphere with a swimming pool, volleyball court and a poolside bar. Our Airlie Beach Hostel re-opened after a complete re-fit and renovation, now featuring brand new comfy beds and a fully kitted out communal kitchen. Our Nomads Airlie Beach accommodation also has proper camping facilities right in the centre in the town. (Tents, powered and non-powered sites). Trips to the must-see Whitsunday Islands depart from Airlie Beach and we can help you to choose the right boat for you, just pop in to see the travel staff! Accommodation options: choose from a variety of room types, from doubles and twins to shared dorm accommodation and powered or non-powered campsites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing