We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Happy”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I went there for 2 nights in September 2012. I booked a 4 bedrooms girls only, nothing to complain about except maybe for the luggage storage (bring your locker when you check out and leave the bag there).
Great place to stay, the staff was friendly, the location very convenient. The place was clean and it was not noisy. I loved my stay there, good stopover!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiFrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    171
    109
    63
    58
See reviews for
15
116
135
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for one night here whilst travelling down the East Coast, room was a lovely size, plenty of space in a 6 bed dorm! Probably the cleanest hostel I've stayed in in Australia and we had considerate room guests which always helps! The on site bar was quiet but there are lots of options for a drink in the evenings and the hostel is right on the strip!
This would have been a 5 star review if for two things, 1. The WIFI Internet doesn't work at the back of the hostel which was a pain and 2. For some reason the bunks in our room didn't have any ladders on them!? Obviously making it difficult to get onto the top bunks!

Room Tip: Closer to the front of the hostel if you want wifi signal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NomadsAirlieBeachH, Front Office Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time out of your travels to let us know about your stay! We are happy to see you were impressed with our cleanliness as this is something we strive for daily. As for the WiFi situation, this is something we would also like to rectify and have spoken to Global Gossip about so hopefully this will be solved in the very near future. The ladder-less bunks is something we are definitely looking into sorting as I know (being quite small!) that it can be quite the challenge to get up to the top bunk without waking the person below you. Thanks again for the review and enjoy the rest of your travels. We hope to see you back with us one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay. We had a private room with bathroom and the value for money was great. Central location but back off the road it was peaceful yet close to all the action. The rooms were clean and serviced every second day. Beds were a bit squeaky and could use some oiling but overall we loved our stay and would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NomadsAirlieBeachH, Front Office Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing your experience of our hostel! We are are so glad that you were happy with your accommodation and our property! We try to make sure everyone who stays with us have a great experience! As suggested we will get onto 'De-squaking' the beds! Thanks for the tip!
We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and maybe we will see you again! Cherie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hostel is by far the nicest Nomads hostel we've stayed in in Australia (it's our third Nomads!)...it's set in spacious green grounds, with a pool in the middle and all facilities near reception. The hostel rooms are clean (and actually get cleaned!). We are staying in a 6 bed dorm with an ensuite bathroom which is fabulous. Couple of complaints: 1) luggage storage doesn't seem to be very secure, the room is simply left open without supervision much of the time 2) the wifi connection in the rooms is awful - I paid for use of the wifi but when I'm in bed trying to use it it keeps going in and out of signal. Plus, it is nowhere near "high speed" as advertised. Really I think every hostel should be offering free wifi...it's what travellers need the most when planning their next accommodation/tours etc., and when you're far from home it's always nice to know you can easily keep in touch with friends and family via Skype or what have you. 3) We were given a room that's as far from reception as you can get and up a flight of stairs which isn't great when you have a suitcase to lug after you. 4) a bin in the room AND the bathroom would be nice.

Room Tip: Rooms further from the Shed Bar are quieter but further from reception and facilities such as laundr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charvzalot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbeltown, Scotland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in a lot of hostels in our short time in Australia and this was one of our favourites. Reception check-in was non negotiable at 1pm so there was a big queue but we could use the facilties beforehand such as the pool (very small), kitchen, laundry and internet cafe. The hostel rooms were based in spacious grounds in small huts and once checked in we were very happy with our twin room. It was big, had a separate kitchenette area, lcd tv and good sized bathroom. I wouldn't pay for the wifi code though as it barely worked when you were in your room. Location was good to access all that Airlie Beach had to offer - just across the road from the lagoon, beach and a short walk to the marina for boat trips. The bar was good and did decent food at cheap prices. Lots of bars, cafes, chemists, supermarket and restaurants were nearby. Negative point - the luggage room didn't seem to have any security but our bags were fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainemcgeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temse
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a hostel you should avoid at all cost. The buildings are ancient and not well maintained. We arrived in our room to find breadcrumbs on the floor, attracting hundreds of ants. If you walk arround barefoot inside the house your feet will be pitchblack after 5 minutes. The next morning we found 2 cockroaches (one in the bathroom and one under the bed).
It is mighty expensive and filthy, avoid it! There are better hostels in Airlie Beach.

Room Tip: Find another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evabreus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NomadsAirlieBeachH, Front Office Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time out from your travels to review our hostel. We are sorry to see that you were not happy with your stay with us. I am guessing from your review that you stayed in our 6 share dorms at the back of our property? These buildings although old, have been renovated 3 years ago and we are awaiting a full refurb on our toilets too. As for our other dorms located around the pool they are all 3 years old. Sorry to hear that the room was not properly swept causing ants, I hope you came to reception and told us this so we could have addressed it immediately? As for cockroaches, we do everything in our power to make sure our rooms are free of all bugs but sometimes living in a tropical climate, in a hostel shared living situation (with food) a 100% success rate can be difficult but we will persevere to achieve this. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will come back and see an improvement in the future. Happy travels. Cherie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a place you would stay if you like to party...... the noise begins around 9pm each night, and it sounds like a bunch of kids having thier first ever beer...... this noise didnt die down until 5am each day...... and although Nomads says you cant bring alchohol on site, the bins around the grounds are overflowing with empty bottles each morning, so it obviously isnt enforced.

the room was terrible..... it smelt like the way they clean them is to hose them down with bleach. it was over powering and we needed to air our room out for hours before it was tollerable.

We have stayed at backpackers all around the world, and throughout Australia, and this would easily have to be our worst experience.......

however, if you are a party animal backpacker looking for somewhere cheap and a constant party, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Doesnt matter what room you choose, the noise of 'my first drink' is everywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NomadsAirlieBeachH, Front Office Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hostel. We are very sorry to see that your experience was less then satisfactory. We do have security on site from 10pm-4am 7 days a week and we encourage any guests with complaints to let our security guard know so that he can deal with it immediately. We do indeed enforce a no BYO policy on our property as we are a licensed property and encourage guests to leave their alcohol behind reception or it can and will be confiscated yet sometimes people manage to sneak it passed us.
As Airlie Beach is classed as somewhat of a 'Party town' we do (as does every hostel property) get our fair share of 'party animals,' and young travelers who are on a gap year/ first time away from their families (which is always an exciting time) sometimes all these travelers want to do is meet new people and party the night away, as this is not what everyone wants to do, this is why we keep security on site for the safety of our guests and the property and for any problems that arise.

We are sorry that you found the smell in your room unbearable, if you had come down to see us at reception we might have been able to move you to another room. Our rooms are cleaned thoroughly after every check out to make sure that they are up to standard for every guest. Sometimes the smell of cleaning products can over power some peoples senses but our main aim is for the room to be spotless so that every guest can enjoy their stay. Again we are sorry that you found the smell intolerable.

We are again very sorry to hear that your stay was not memorable for the right reasons and we hope that if you do ever pass through Airlie Beach again you will come by and give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.1 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#42 of 54 in Airlie Beach
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#35 of 54 in Airlie Beach
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

Property: Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Address: 354 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill out in our tropical paradise in the centre of Airlie Beach Nomads Airlie Beach has 7 acres of tropical flora and fauna right in the centre of town, a relaxing atmosphere with a swimming pool, volleyball court and a poolside bar. Our Airlie Beach Hostel re-opened after a complete re-fit and renovation, now featuring brand new comfy beds and a fully kitted out communal kitchen. Our Nomads Airlie Beach accommodation also has proper camping facilities right in the centre in the town. (Tents, powered and non-powered sites). Trips to the must-see Whitsunday Islands depart from Airlie Beach and we can help you to choose the right boat for you, just pop in to see the travel staff! Accommodation options: choose from a variety of room types, from doubles and twins to shared dorm accommodation and powered or non-powered campsites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing