We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Base instead”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Dublin
Level Contributor
141 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Stay at Base instead”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here for a night or two before my trip to Whitsundays. I found it hard to meet people - the people in my room were either going to Whitsundays or had just come back, and weren't up for mixing. There was some load music from the bar so I decided to check it out but it was pretty dead. Some friends stayed at Base and by the sounds of it, it was much easier to meet people there.
They also charge to leave your luggage there while you go on your whitsundays trip - bit of a rip off!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoife_ob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    170
    109
    63
    58
See reviews for
15
115
134
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in nomads for over a week in January and had the best time!! We worked for accommodation which was brilliant admittedly I'd rather not work but it saved money and we also met the entire hostel and made some really good friends and had such a laugh! The hostel has mix dorm rooms in huts and also in 3 buildings and also has nice double rooms, all the rooms are lovely with comfy beds, extremely clean rooms and private bathrooms per room! The pool is brilliant to cool down in if you can't be bothered to go to the lagoon. The hostel also has a bar which is fun especially on Sunday when they do Sunday sessions and a free BBQ which is so worth it!! The kitchen is large with a massive seating area the only problem is it gets too hot as there is no fan in there! The staff at the hostel are really lovely and will do anything to help quickly and there is also a tour office in reception which is perfect when booking trips or buses, nothing is a problem! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charxcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Bit of confusion with our booking on arrival but for the most part the staff were helpful. There's a great travel desk for the Whitsundays etc. Ideal location right on the strip in Airlie beach just a short walk from the Greyhound stop. The rooms are set in cabins dotted throughout the grounds and its great. Clean, spacious and a big plus for being ensuite. Didn't like having to pay a deposit for cutlery and crockery and then lug it between our room and the kitchen. Apart from that everything was fine. Nice little bar on site and very cheap meals close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights, not likely to return.

We took a private room, which was ok. The 'king bed' was short, rickety, with two single matresses, both hard as rock, with a ridge down the middle that was too painful to enjoy a cuddle or even get a good nights sleep. (Hard mattresses are not good for your back, unless you are overweight!)

The grounds are lovely, convenient location, convenient parking, nice pool & bar, good sized rooms, great tv, good shower-yay! Air conditioner needed servicing - a sickening smell when used, but there was a fan that worked fine. We were there Australia day, but party noise was minimal and quiet after midnight.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schilgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in this hostel for one night after returning from Whitsunday Islands. Staff at reception was friendly, I like that the place includes pool and garden. Room was clean a very spacious. Only negative is that wifi was paid and even that did not work properly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyskaMiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindanao, Philippines
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have never stayed in a hostel before and at 57 I was the oldest guest by a huge margin but I found Nomads itself and its guests to be so friendly and welcoming.
The rooms are basic but clean and the room I shared was en-suite which was great.
The girls at Mad Travel in Reception were wonderful, very helpful and friendly and great at booking last minute trips at discounted rates.
Also a great bar (cheap) and lovely clean swimming pool.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with a toilet and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed in a few hostel in Europe and this is the first one in Australia as i have just started my travels. And i can't think of a better place to start. The actual Hostel is massive with fantastic facilities such as the swimming pool, the volleyball court and the Airlie famous Shed Bar (most famous for it's Sunday Sessions). Don't get me wrong i am here to backpack and party. So sometime Nomads is not for the faint hearted! The Sunday Session is absolutely amazing like an outdoor nightclub that likes to play the music loud but not so loud to annoy the neighbours. There are people coming and going every few days only to arrive back from their discounted trips to the various islands that you can get from the little travel part at the front of the reception.
When i arrived i stayed in an 8 person shared room which had two showers two sinks and a loo. Though there are camp loos and showers available should yours be "engaged". The rooms are cleaned every day at 10 and is dealt with efficiently and most importantly in a friendly manner. It may not be as cheap as the other hostels dotted around Airlie but that little bit extra you pay shines through in the amenities that are available within 5 minute of any of the little shacks you stay in. The kitchen is one of the best i have seen. I had read a few reviews and saw that it was described as "disgusting" ....all i can say things have changed as i have been here a week and it seems when i am cooking there is a member of staff in there cleaning the stoves (electric stoves!), The microwaves and all the pots and pans and utensils you could ever need.
So far i have had an amazing time and met so many people of a similar mindset that i am here to travel and enjoy myself and not to have early nights all the time.I understand some people like tranquility...but Airlie ain't called party town for nothing!

If you go i bet you will enjoy your stay immensly!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dstorter81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.1 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#42 of 54 in Airlie Beach
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#26 of 54 in Airlie Beach
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#35 of 54 in Airlie Beach
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

Property: Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Address: 354 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill out in our tropical paradise in the centre of Airlie Beach Nomads Airlie Beach has 7 acres of tropical flora and fauna right in the centre of town, a relaxing atmosphere with a swimming pool, volleyball court and a poolside bar. Our Airlie Beach Hostel re-opened after a complete re-fit and renovation, now featuring brand new comfy beds and a fully kitted out communal kitchen. Our Nomads Airlie Beach accommodation also has proper camping facilities right in the centre in the town. (Tents, powered and non-powered sites). Trips to the must-see Whitsunday Islands depart from Airlie Beach and we can help you to choose the right boat for you, just pop in to see the travel staff! Accommodation options: choose from a variety of room types, from doubles and twins to shared dorm accommodation and powered or non-powered campsites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing