We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sophisticated yuum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colonial Palms Restaurant

The Colonial Palms Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 102 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $36
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sophisticated yuum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is the best place in airlie beach to eat for sure! Staff actually know what there doing and the food is more than what you pay for. My partner and I are both in the hospitality industry and are hard to please when we eat out because of this. To say that we were impressed would be an understatement! sophisticated

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank E4adventurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    27
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Duck at Colonial Palms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Loved our dining experience at the Colonial Palms Restaurant agree with pervious comments regarding the quality of food and hospitality of our hosts. I had the signature Duck dish and it was delicious whilst Cathy thoroughly enjoyed her rack of lamb. We chose to dine outside and had the area to ourselves, very intimate and relaxing. Thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
180 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Don't be fooled by the fact that this is a hotel restaurant , which doesn't look very tempting at first sight, as it would be a pity to miss such an enjoyable experience.
The three of us had different dishes which we all thoroughly enjoyed. I tried the signature dish of duck and found it excellent. The staff couldn't do enough in terms of service and we really appreciated the warm, friendly welcome.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Family run Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Interesting menu with an asian twist. Beautifull Grass fed beef from Tasmania. Superb duck and delicious home made puddings. Small but top quality wine list

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SimonBox283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss out - go there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Following good reviews on TA decided to eat here and we were delighted with the whole experience. Family run and that made such a difference. The food - Duck and eye fillet was delicious and beautifully presented. Good talking to Bernie and his father in law behind the bar.
As previous reviewer, not many in restaurant, so slightly apprehensive when we first went in but so good that we decided to return the following evening. Fantastic...best meal on out month long trip to Oz...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colonial Palms Restaurant also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to The Colonial Palms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing