We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best decision we made in Airlie Beach”
Review of S.V. Domino

S.V. Domino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Day sail to the 'Best kept secret' of the Whitsunday's, Bali Hai Reef, located in the Whitsunday group of islands in the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park, Queensland, Australia. Bali Hai Reef, is the most exclusive pristine reef in the Whitsunday Islands. Sail, explore, swim and snorkel with the most environmentally friendly cruise the Whitsunday's has to offer. 14.8 nautical miles from Airlie Beach is 'Bali Hai' is a tropical secluded paradise with magnificent fringing reef. Experperience real sailing in the Whitsunday's aboard DOMINO, a fast comfortable Lidgard 36 cruiser racer, one of the first displacement racing yachts built in New Zealand of double skin kauri by John Lidgard in 1976. Domino is owned and operated by Reg Eggers. As an owner, Reg takes great pride in ensuring guests treasure the experience sailing in Australia aboard S.V.Domino. It is the best experience the Great Barrier Reef has to offer. Be part of a group of only eight passengers or private charter the yacht for the day, catering for only small groups, this eco tourism experience will be cherished forever. One can also be part of the sailing, take the helm and have a go. Reg, is a New Zealand Coastal Master and also a Master Class 4 for those thinking of buying or hiring a yacht. Reg has a wealth of information to share. Domino departs Abell Point Marina at 9am and sails to 'Bali Hai'. Spend at least 2.5 hours on the island for lunch, snorkelling and exploring, then casually sail back to Airlie Beach arriving at approximately 5pm. Day sail in a group costs $180.00 per person, all inclusive of lunch, light beverages, EMC charges, snorkel gear etc. Private Charter rate for Skipper, crew and DOMINO, all inclusive is $1200.00 per day. ( prices effective 1 January 2014)
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Best decision we made in Airlie Beach”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I told Reg I don't do reviews, but Greg, Julie, and Skipper Reg deserve one. We had a great day sailing to a small island where we were the only people there. Our guides were great sailors, knowledgeable, and very friendly. A great contrast to the power boat larger group options.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moodyest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    21
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Perfect day-out: relaxed sailing, excellent food, good snorkeling”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

If you do prefer small group, attending service, experienced sailors, true sailing boat, secluded small island, excellent food and good to excellent snorkeling – this is it.

This price might be a bit higher that the mass tourist adventures in rush for beach and snorkeling, but the quality is different. Furthermore, if they say that they sail, they sail – no cancelations. Maximum 8 people, often less. The trip takes about 2-3 hours sailing to small Black Island next to bigger Hook Island, seafood lunch, small rest and snorkeling there, and return the same time, in total 8 hours. There is a potential to see nice coral, fish and turtles – depending a bit of the tide. Stinger suites and snorkeling stuff is provided. We saw two really large green sea turtles, some fish and some coral. The tide was a bit high still.

During the sail, you might have nice chatting with the skipper or just look out to the sea and beautiful islands. I really recommend this option for families and small groups wanting to have a peaceful and beautiful day out to Whitsundays. If you want to have load music party by the sea, this is not for you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jusaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
“Awesome day out sailing and relaxing!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I would just like to thank Julie, Reg and Greg for an amazing day out sailing. The lunch was fresh and super tasty. Looking forward to bringing the family on the boat next time we are in town.
Cheers :)

Helpful?
Thank StevenA_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding 1day whitsunday sail”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

If you are looking to get away from the numbers, this is perfect. We were well looked after, refreshments in abundance and a home prepared seafood lunch which was just amazing, best prawns I have ever eaten! Great sailing experience on a smaller boat, lovely isolated snorkelling spot, just perfect. Also, they don't cancel if not fully booked which is imporant if on a tight schedule. Thanks to Julie, Reg and Greg for one of our holiday highlights, highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 250IainF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great sailing day”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

If all those big boats packed with tourists don't appeal - then this is perfect. A chance to enjoy a days sailing on beautiful tropical waters with the reef visit a bonus. highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaktiDurga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S.V. Domino also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to S.V. Domino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing