We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only proper sailing we could find”
Review of S.V. Domino

S.V. Domino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Day sail to the 'Best kept secret' of the Whitsunday's, Bali Hai Reef, located in the Whitsunday group of islands in the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park, Queensland, Australia. Bali Hai Reef, is the most exclusive pristine reef in the Whitsunday Islands. Sail, explore, swim and snorkel with the most environmentally friendly cruise the Whitsunday's has to offer. 14.8 nautical miles from Airlie Beach is 'Bali Hai' is a tropical secluded paradise with magnificent fringing reef. Experperience real sailing in the Whitsunday's aboard DOMINO, a fast comfortable Lidgard 36 cruiser racer, one of the first displacement racing yachts built in New Zealand of double skin kauri by John Lidgard in 1976. Domino is owned and operated by Reg Eggers. As an owner, Reg takes great pride in ensuring guests treasure the experience sailing in Australia aboard S.V.Domino. It is the best experience the Great Barrier Reef has to offer. Be part of a group of only eight passengers or private charter the yacht for the day, catering for only small groups, this eco tourism experience will be cherished forever. One can also be part of the sailing, take the helm and have a go. Reg, is a New Zealand Coastal Master and also a Master Class 4 for those thinking of buying or hiring a yacht. Reg has a wealth of information to share. Domino departs Abell Point Marina at 9am and sails to 'Bali Hai'. Spend at least 2.5 hours on the island for lunch, snorkelling and exploring, then casually sail back to Airlie Beach arriving at approximately 5pm. Day sail in a group costs $180.00 per person, all inclusive of lunch, light beverages, EMC charges, snorkel gear etc. Private Charter rate for Skipper, crew and DOMINO, all inclusive is $1200.00 per day. ( prices effective 1 January 2014)
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Delft
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Only proper sailing we could find”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Sailing around the Withsundays is a must-do in eastern Australia. Most available charters were large boats, this was the only proper sailing boat where we could also help the skipper! Very nice trip, seen beautiful spots!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari3k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    21
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Proper sailing :)”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you want to do some proper sailing / snorkelling on the Whitsundays, go here! As it has a limited capacity this is a lot more fun than the tourist traps / booze cruises.

We saw some dolphins, a lot of batfish and plenty of coral. I even got to steer the ship for a while :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WRoyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our trip to Australia”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent one month in Australia last year. We travelled with two kids (12 and 6 yo) and spent 2 weeks driving from Cairns to Brisbane, stopping at Arlie. This sailing trip was definitely one of the highlights of the whole trip, something that our kids still remember vividly when we talk about Australia. Absolutely worth every penny (and Australia is NOT cheap). There was our family and a young couple on the boat, so not crowded at all. Reg is a no-nonsense captain, which is very understandable as he is responsible for the people on board (especially kids). We felt very safe and looked after every minute. We were very unlucky as there was virtually no wind on the way to the island, so we had to motor. however on the way back we had some fantastic sailing and my kids were even able to steer the boat, which you can image was very exciting. Snorkeling is very good and plenty to see. Food is excellent and overall the trip is highly recommended. We did a trip on a big boat to the GBR from Cairns and still felt that still Reg offered us something more memorable. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tar109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SV Domino Sailing”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Highly reccomend this trip if you want to enjoy a fully day of sailing and enjoy the Whitsundays. Limited seats so not too crowded You can really sit back and relax and enjoy the trip without feeling rushed or racing the clock. Amazing lunch packs, great snorkelling. Had the opportunity to sail the boat back to Airlie. Fsih feeding of Black Island was a real highlight.
Experienced captain and lots of commentry on the way.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JBWqvktga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing day out”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Traveling in the Whitsundays, there are a lot of options. Do you want to go in a speedboat, or relax on a sailingyacht? We chose for S.V. Domino and would make the same choice again.
We had a great time on the yacht eventhough we couldn't travel to Bali Hay. Instead Reg ( the captain) brought us to a different part of the reef and took us on a hike on Hook Island.
We had a great day, saw fish and the reef, took a little hike, sailed an amazing boat, ate a good lunch and made some friends along the way!
I highly recommend you to spend your day on the S.V. Domino!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstenNL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S.V. Domino also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to S.V. Domino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing