We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Food and Atmosphere”

Tides Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #37 of 104 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Take full advantage of the setting at Tides Restaurant & Bar at Peppers Airlie Beach. Pull up a bar stool or be seated at a table overlooking the stunning Whitsunday Passage. Admire the Coral Sea dotted with islands. The menu is based on local organic fruit and vegetables, fish and prawns fresh from nearby reefs, Queensland scallops, crabs and bugs expertly combined with the passion for food that Chef Gregory Devine is renowned for. The wine list will likewise be excellent. Chef Gregory Devine successfully infuses modern Australian cuisine with Asian overtones. Sourcing regionally, the menu is full of seasonal freshness and features signature dishes like Black Angus beef fillet with exotic mushroom crust and a delicious Valrhona chocolate dessert plate. Tides Restaurant & Bar is open daily from 6.30am to 9pm. Eat in the restaurant or have some tasty dishes delivered to your room.
Mooloolaba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Class Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The food at Tides Restaurant is absolutely amazing!! The seafood is really fresh and very well cooked and the steak is also great. Tides menu is suited for entree, main and dessert. The views of the water are stunning as the sun is going down and service here is fantastic. I would recommend Tides to all my family and friends if they are passing through Airlie and want to have a decent fine dining meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vkmd90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    38
    28
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong & Bellarine, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“How is this not #1 in Airlie?”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We are lucky to eat out and about in the great food locations of Melbourne. Melbourne sets a high bar and we find it hard to match the great food experiences with generally great service. We ate recently at a number of Townsville eateries, including the Peppers restaurant at Magnetic Island, which was excellent but Tides leaves them all behind. The staff working on this quiet Monday night were fantastic and this helps start the experience out on the right foot. Added to this were excellent food, wine and setting that makes this one of our favourite eating experiences ever.

Peppers is located on a rather steep little hill, so this may put some off but don't be discouraged you can get the Peppers bus from town on the odd hours or just do the walk, helps build up a good appetitie :-). Beautiful oysters, perfect angus beef fillet (and I am fussy with my beef) and a great strawberry dessert to share. Perfect dining experience.

if the manager reads this, please give the highest praise to the girl on the front, Monday Oct 15th.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Understaffing spoiled the night”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Tides is seemingly the only formal almost fine dining restarant at Airlie and accordingly is the most expensive. Has a great setting for say lunch being high on a steep hill and the chef obviously puts serious time into his dishes. But we went early on a friday night with only a few tables occupied then and the tension was immediately obvious. By the time it filled up, we entertained ourselves by watching uncomfortable patrons on other tables who wanted attention (some reasonably but the odd one unreasonably too) but there were really only two waitresses on duty. There was a male waiter too but he seemed to be an attempt to supplement the waitresses and they seemed to spend their night in damage control such that my wife and I felt sorry for them. So sorry that we doubled the normal tip to our waitress in sympathy for the obvious preesure she was placed under by a management decision to understaff the place. Neither waitress complained which was a compliment to them but obviously this restaurant has a management issue it needs to address.
Food wise, my wife's prawn/crab cocktail was a disappointment too being dry of any sauce until she got to the very bottom of the glass and there at the base was the sauce! Too late! The chef needs to withdraw this dish until he fixes that.
Otherwise the food was good but at night the vista is pointless because a roof in front means you see no lights except for the odd one on a hill etc or the sea. So go for lunch not dinner.
This restaurant needs to gets its act together because Denman Cellars, Cha'mah and possibly Fish Devine and much better options and a lot cheaper. But staff this one properly and it could take its rightful place again as Airlie's best. The tension was such that I suggested to my wife that John Cleese could probably base another Faulty Towers program on what we were watching. Don't care about the higher costs, we don't need to leave a restaurant feeling uncomfortable

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa B, Manager at Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Eric B,

Thank you review on Tides Restaurant & Bar and we are disappointed that you didn’t have a great dining experience with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for you leaving the restaurant feeling uncomfortable but we appreciate your feedback. Please know that we are addressing our staffing levels and your feedback on the prawn cocktail has been passed on to our Executive Chef. We do have amazing views of the Whitsunday passage during the day, and if you are in for an early dinner you get to witness the spectacular colours of the sunset! I hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back to Tides Restaurant soon.

Warm regards,
Melissa and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food. Awesome location.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner here for our 15 wedding anniversary. The food was 1st class. The chocolate dessert for two is a must. I would go back and just order dessert. The staff where very friendly and service was excellent. We made a booking and asked if they could pick us up from our accommodation at Pinnacles and it was not a problem af all.
Prices are not cheap but the food was excellent quality. If u want to spoil a luved one it's the place to go
Cheers Shane and Tamara.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shanejaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“One of the best in the area”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Tides raises the bar for Airlie. Lovely menu with plenty of seafood as you'd hope in this area. Above expectations kids menu. Great cocktails and perfect service. Thoroughly recommended.
Although we only went for dinner we were impressed by how the resort incl infinity pool looked too

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa B, Manager at Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear hubey,

Thank you for your wondeful review on your dining experience. We are delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations in regards to the kids menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Tides Restaurant soon!

Kind Regards,
Melissa & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tides Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Tides Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing