We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing food, average service”
Review of Cactus Jack's Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Cactus Jack's Bar & Grill
Price range: $15 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing food, average service”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

After 3 weeks in various parts of Australia, this was the first meal that we would rate as of poor quality. Suggest trying somewhere else if you want a decent burger as the ones we ordered were burned and tasted like cardboard. Possibly their other menu offerings are better but I would not be up for giving them another chance to impress. Sangria tasted as if beer had been added instead of lemonade - very strange. Service was lacklustre and all in all, not an experience we would repeat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Payno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    156
    100
    71
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Tuesdays”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

All you can eat chilli for $10? Cheap cocktails? Value for money allows me to enjoy Cactus Jacks, though paying full price for the chilli might be something to avoid.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Impydevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Horrible!!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Service was horrible, food took forever and then made my partner and I sick!
The music was way too loud and I could not get over how rude the staff were!
Will never dine here again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank courtneyccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Music ruins the place”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have been here a couple of times, the food is, reasonable priced, cocktails pretty good and service friendly, all ruined by awful music and I mean really awful in your face too loud music with monitors everywhere playing the video clip. Not music that suits the style of the restaurant, Tex-Mex, but various rap artists. There is only this music, no variation, hard to talk over. Absolutely ruined the place. We like the food but wild horses wouldn't drag me back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Give_Me_Latitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland Shire, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It looked amazing from the outside as we were walking past earlier in the day. At night it did not disappoint. Parking was also easy and close to the restaurant. Good selection on the menu, good food, great atmosphere and great service. would definitely eat there again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RPRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Jack's Bar & Grill also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing