We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day, but a tad long on both segments. Just a tad.”

Whitsunday Crocodile Safari
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.10*
and up
Whitsunday Crocodile Safari including Lunch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Whitsunday Crocodile Safari is a safe, all-weather nature excursion which can take you to see crocodiles in the wild in the Whitsundays. Whitsunday Crocodile Safari has been operating for 15 years and is a family owned and professionally operated tour which guarantees excellent customer service and a memorable nature experience for our guests. Cruise the calm waters of Proserpine River and watch crocodiles in their natural habitat as you experience a mangrove ecosystem. Explore Goorganga Plains on a tractor-drawn wagon train and discover the vegetation and wildlife in a freshwater wetland habitat. A huge barbecue lunch, traditional billy tea and damper, professional expert commentary from local experienced guides and courtesy bus transfers are all included with your tour. Whitsunday Crocodile Safari is a Green Travel Leader and has held Advanced Certification with Ecotourism Australia since 2002.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great day, but a tad long on both segments. Just a tad.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

A great tour with outstanding guide, Steve. Steve's knowledge, ability to presents information in a manner that was not too technical, and his humor made this a great day.
My only complaint was that the River section was quite repetitive and could have been shortened by at least 30 to 45 minutes. The land tour could have been cut a little also as the seats on the "train" were quite uncomfortable for those with back issues.
The lunch and kettle bread was very good.
Thank you Steve and Guys for a great day

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank gonealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    32
    6
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Real Crocs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Being in their natural habitat it is difficult to guarantee anything but we were lucky and observed many crocodiles on this trip, despite the afternoon rain it was most enjoyable with the tour guides passion adding to the day, also good tucker as they say in Australia !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DerekSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Trip cancelled”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This would of corse be a no star if possible. Trip booked some weeks in advance and had call from operator at 6:10pm the evening before the trip to say only six people booked ( we were a party of four) and had to cancel. Disgraceful service and left us rushing ( on way to restaurant) to find something to do instead to fill a day. Based on this experience and attitude to customer service I can not recommend. Will be interesting to see how long my payment refund of $360 takes ....

Helpful?
Thank Poluanaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croc_Safari, Owner at Whitsunday Crocodile Safari, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are always very sorry when we have to occasionally cancel a tour. Our preference is to run the Safari every day. Our tour is our livelihood so it is in our best interests to run it as often as possible. Unfortunately, we can’t run a tour if we don’t have enough bookings to at least cover wages for that day. It doesn’t happen very often, but when it does, we wait until late in the afternoon (around 5.30pm) to leave it open as long as possible in case late bookings come in – but within enough time for customers to book an alternative activity for the next day (most booking agencies close after 6 or 7pm). We rang you at 5.35pm, not 6.10pm. Your booking was cancelled on our reservation system at 5.38pm – which was done while we were on the phone to you.
Also, as advised to you on the phone at the time when your booking was cancelled, and also by email, the refund was put through via our reservation system while on the phone to you. While the refund is deducted from our account straight away, credit card refunds take 3 to 5 business days to appear back in your account. This is out of our control and is a characteristic of merchant banking. You can verify this with your own bank.
We trust that you enjoyed your holiday here in the beautiful Whitsundays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Awesome day with the crocs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a tour not to be missed! Our tour guide was very experienced and the whole day was fun filled. The crocs were the highlight, the BBQ lunch very generous and the billy tea & damper most refreshing. Everything is included in the price and souvenir photos were very professional and only cost $1 each.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wildlife wild”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

For me this is the way wildlife should be viewed. There were no tricks or feeding to get the wildlife to interact. So we saw crocodiles doing what they do naturally wihout any interference or changes of behaviours from humans. The guides were great. The guided talk about how aboriginal people used the land I was very impressed with. Just one niggle is I'm not sure how accurate their info is. They told one rediculous story of how aboriginal people used to test if food was right for eating by having aboriginal women test it first. In fact stating it took 13 dead aboriginal women to make some food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Noel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitsunday Crocodile Safari also viewed

Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Whitsunday Crocodile Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing