We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money on this - what a ripoff!”

Sundowner Sunset Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Sundowner Cruises operates from Airlie Beach, where the Whitsunday islands provide the perfect back drop for our sunset cruises. Cruise includes: A two hour cruise around Pioneer Bay, starting from the Port of Airlie which is only a short 200m walk from the main street of Airlie Beach, we cruise to Mandalay Point, Cannonvale Beach and Turtle Bay to spot of few turtles and other wild life including dolphins and dugongs. Our philosophy at Sundowner is about providing a great product, fantastic service in a friendly social atmosphere that gets your holiday of to a great start and that allows you to truly unwind and bask in a fantastic Whitsunday sunset whilst enjoying your favorite tipple from our fully licensed bar.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Sundowner Sunset Cruise charged us AUD75 each (2 people) for a sunset cruise and then dinner at a resort hotel called Coral Seas Resort at Airlie beach. We had one more night in Airlie so why not. Well I wish we had stayed away from this dreadful ripoff. . The open deck boat was incredibly uncomfortable and unprotected from the wind. The drinks were an overpriced(ripoff). As part of this cruise it came with a glass of sparkiling wine and nibbles. The nibbles consisted of a box of crackers and some cheap spring onion dip. You are then stuck on this pontoon for 2 hours paying $ 10 for can of beer and $ 12 per mixed drink and you are simply taken around the harbour wasting your money away!! We were looking forward to the dinner a 2 course meal at the Coral Sea Resort(big rip off people stay away!!!) We got off the boat and were told to walk 20 minutes up the road to get to the retauraunt!!. The meal was a set menu a main and dessert. We order and waited 55 minutes for it to arrive!!!(there was maybe 12 other people in there). The meal was ok but it was not a main it was and entree!!! A bloody entree!! Desert was ok but we had to ask 3 time for them to bring it us (45 minutes after we had finished our meagre entree size mains. Do not waste money at the Coral Seas Resort or this absolute rippoff Sundowner Sunset Cruise.

11  Thank portant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMG71, Owner at Sundowner Sunset Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2016

I am really sorry you didn't enjoy your cruise and dine experience and everyone is entitled to their view and sometimes, peoples expectations are much greater.

With regards to the 'Ripoff' drinks. You must have purchased two drinks each time. Our beers at the time of your cruising were $5.00 per beer. Therefore $10.00 for two drinks. Then you must have purchased two spirits as at the time they were $6.00 per basic spirit.

So you are simply incorrect our beverage prices are NOT $10 per beer and $12 per spirit.

Walking 20 minutes is also incorrect. From Abel Point marina along the oceanfront boardwalk is 200 metres to Coral Sea Resort. This does not take 20 minutes, unless you stopped to enjoy the beautiful view.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

58 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank mmottura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundowner Sunset Cruises also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland

Been to Sundowner Sunset Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing