We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food”
Review of Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar - CLOSED

Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We went out for lunch with the family and enjoyed a beautiful seafood meal. Reasonably priced and the staff were very friendly. I would definitely recommend.

Thank Marianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 386 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

Seriously the worst meal we have ever had. Seafood was oily and soggy, service slow to point of non-existent, very expensive which we wouldn't have minded if it was value for money. Very disappointed as it was a special family celebration.

1  Thank chatncappuccino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

the other restaurants were way better. this place was a little strange to be honest. apparently the only reason brad and angelina went there was because they could hire the whole place and it is raised above street level away from cameras etc

Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smuts22, Manager at Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

We've been called plenty of things in the past but "weird" is a first. Don't know where you got the idea about Brad & Angelina. They could have booked any of the dozens of restaurants in town but chose Shipwrecked because two of their producers had dinner and recommended us. It really is that simple.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Walking up the stairs to Shipwrecked, I was expected to see a fantastic sea food restaurant. However, the decor was outdated and the food expensive for what it was. Granted the food was good and the seafood fresh, but I really think the place could do with a complete makeover. I think it relys of the view and their famous customers a little too much. Some staff were wonderful and others needs some customer service skills. I think water should always be bought to the table, it is not something you need to ask for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dorothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smuts22, Owner at Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Decor, like beauty, is subjective. The overwhelming majority of our customers who comment on the atmosphere & decor are very positive but you can't please everyone. If you were expecting starched tablecloths & carpet you were definately in the wrong place. The name "Shipwrecked" should give you a clue. Nautical theme, old maritime bric-a-brac etc. Most find it all fascinating and often ask questions about some of the items, like the maritime charts, Navy flags and yard-arm from a square rigger.

You may have noticed the water glasses on the tables when you sat down. The first thing our staff do is bring a fresh bottle of water to the table as soon as you are seated and have the menu. Perhaps they were distracted by someone else on the way and may have taken a couple of minutes longer than usual.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We went to Shipwrecked while we were staying in Airlie for our anniversary. It was lovely. I cannot rave enough about not only the really yummy food, but also the service was fantastic. I love to be looked after while I am dining out, I am paying not only for the food but the experience! One host in particular, Fox, was a superb waitress and we are will definitely be back on our next trip!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 1ofthzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing