We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar - CLOSED

Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
airlie beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Not only was the food exquisite - my tuna being cooked to perfection (very moist) but the service was unbelievable! Add on 2 free glasses of bubbles, which was a great suprise, and why wouldn't you eat at Shipwrecked every week!! Gold!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pollyAirlieBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    81
    58
    54
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Great cocktails, yummy seafood, friendly service. A must for your visit to Airlie. Chilli and ginger prawns...delish!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juzsavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Food & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We went with friends and found the service good, menu interesting and the food to be good.

The entrees were the best option and we shared these amongst our group. If you have a table on the outer deck the view is great.

Overall a value for money place with good food and service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wingz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“This was the worst meal I have ever eaten”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We ordered oysters kilpatrick with a twist which were ok. A little bit watery but the killer was the garlic prawns I ordered and the garlic chilli bugs my partner ordered. My prawns consisted of a bowl full of butter with 4 prawns in it and half a baguette to 'mop up the juices'. The juices were literally a bowl of butter with a tiny bit of garlic in the bottom. It was disgusting. My partner's was disgusting as well but at least he had a total of 3 tiny bugs in his bowl of butter. The sparkling wine I ordered was very tasty but everything else was horrible. Wait staff were also sour faced and lacked customer service skills. Would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Whereismeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smuts22, Manager at Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Both the garlic prawns & bugs are entrees, not main meals. Not surprisingly they are entree size. They are served sizzling in extra virgin olive oil and a teaspoon of butter in cast iron pots with fresh minced garlic or chilli and some crusty lightly grilled bread to mop up the juices, as stated on the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, varied menu, good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a table in the outside dining area overlooking the park coincidently on the evening of a fabulous fireworks show! We had a good meal and the best view for the show! We would go back even without the fireworks :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing