We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we hoped for!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whitsunday on the Beach
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Miranda, NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what we hoped for!!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Our room didn't look like photos advertised on the internet. We had two beds and no couch. Room was suposed to be self contained and there was no oven. Very dusty. We were in room 2 which had no water view maybe through the trees oh and rooms face each other across a carpark not facing the water. Noise coming from nightclub across road till 4am all weekend, also got woken at 7.30am sunday! morning (after a big wedding the night before) from renovations happening in room below us. NOT impressed with only 4hrs sleep.... I needed to print a speech for the wedding and reception refused to help forced to find help elsewhere :(
Wouldn't recommend couples and families to this place... Great for young people!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lapd40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    63
    14
    4
    12
See reviews for
24
64
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Just stayed here for one night as a treat whilst backpacking so of course compared to backpackers' hostels it seemed amazing! The lady who made the booking and greeted us was really friendly, we arrived after reception closed but she waited behind for us to make sure we arrived safely and could find our room etc. which she didn't have to do so that was nice. The room was really clean, comfy beds, there was milk and cold water in the fridge and tea & coffee. The price was too far out of my range though, I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaH283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Friends and I stayed at Whitsunday on the beach in July this year. We found the staff to be really friendly and for what we payed the rooms were really clean and well equiped if you wanted to cook some meals yourself. As well as this, we found it to be in a great position right in front of the lagoon and close to all the shops and nightlife!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BartD90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caloundra
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2010

I stayed at Whitsunday on the Beach early March 2010 after speaking with travellers I met in Hervey Bay. I wanted to stay in safe, clean, central accommodation and that's exactly what I got. The rooms are really clean, the bed comfortable and the kitchen was really well stocked. As I was on a budget I wanted to have the option of cooking myself. The kitchen was spotless with everything you need to cook a hearty feed. The fridge is large, there are plenty of pots, plates and cutlery - all in great condition and clean.

The staff were awesome and really helpful and their knowledge of the area boat trips, and day trips was invaluable. Nothing was too much trouble and they seemed to really enjoy giving advice on everything from bus times, good restaurants and how to get to the supermarket.

The lagoon is right at the rear of the building and the night life and main street are right at the front. I was booked in for four nights but ended up extending an extra three as I just loved everything about Airlie and this motel. Friends were staying in more expensive accommodation but wished they had have booked here as the location and room cleanliness was far superior.

Overall I had a fantastic time made more enjoyable by the friendly friendly staff. Thanks Sandy, Richard and Sandra for really great holiday.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pigeonhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Stayed for a few nights and found this place good value for money. Basic room, but comfortable and everything (aircon, fridge, microwave TV, etc) worked very well. Reception helpful and friendly.

As it is squeezed in between the main strip and the lagoon it can get a bit noisy, but we found with the aircon on at night the noise wasn't noticable.

Very handy location for everything in Airlie Beach.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMMLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

You should realise that the units are on the main street of town, and expect a little street noise, but nothing that worried us too much. We had a room close to the back and didnt hear any club music??

We stayed with our 2yr old son last weekend. We arrived prior to checkin as our son was very tired and grumpy - but early check in was no problem because our room was ready already. Good start... Check in was efficient and friendly, very nice lady. We opened the door and the air con was already on for us! The fridge had fresh milk (not the long life cheap stuff!) and the bed was nice and firm. I suffer from allergies and dirty air con filters send my nose and eyes crazy, i checked our air con and the filter was fine, same with the ceiling fan blades. Little things like that can easily be missed by careless housekeepers, but i could not fault this room for cleanliness - completely opposite to other reviews!?!

To be honest -I think you get what you pay for. Its not the Hilton by any means, but it was clean and comfortable, the staff were pleasant enough. The swimming lagoon is great, being so close was good.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travlnmumi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2009

NOISE ALL NIGHT LONG!! Hotel placed our family of 5 (WITH SMALL CHILDREN), into Room 20 at the front of the complex on the main street. Nightclubs across the street were pumping music until 4am on a Sunday night!!! No sleep for anyone. Man arrested beneath our balcony for being drunk! Absolutely no sympathy from the man at reception in the morning.."oh well" he said. Fill the rooms, make the money and no care policy here!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soss7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airliebeachgirl, manager at Whitsunday on the Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2010
Renervations to all rooms now compleated with sound proofing added to all units.
The front unit is actully the most popular unit with patio over looking the main street.
We can still here the fire truck with its siren on as it passes but that is about all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.1 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
10.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday on the Beach

Property: Whitsunday on the Beach
Address: 269 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitsunday on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie Beaches only Motel accommodation that backs onto the Airlie Beach Lagoon. All units are self contained with patios and balconies. Secure parking in the centre of the complex. No taxis to catch or hill to climb as we are in the centre of Airlie Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whitsunday on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday On The Beach Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing