We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Whitsunday on the Beach
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good location and service”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Well located adjacent to the Lagoon in Airlie Beach. Friendly front of desk staff. As others have mentioned, there is a fair amount of noise from the backpackers opposite. Also there is a small step between the main room and bathroom which serves no purpose except to cause toe injuries!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    64
    14
    4
    12
See reviews for
25
64
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wise_rita
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I booked a room for 2 of us and got a double bed and 2 singles, so it was certainly spacious! It would be a good place to house a group.

The room was surprisingly quiet for how busy the area is. You can faintly hear the music coming from the backpacker bar across the street but it's not distracting.

You can't beat the location smack in the center of the Esplanade, directly in front of the lagoon. I can't imagine why anybody would want to spend too much time in Airlie Beach proper, but it's a comfortable, clean stay!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wise_rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valby, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Whitsunday on the Beach is as nice holiday Unit hotel with a great location right om the main street in Airlie Beach and just in front of the lagoon.
How ever there are some noice from the big backpacker place just across the street.
The hotel reception is only open between 8am and 7pm which was a bit annoying, especially when you have to check out very early.
Very friendly and welcoming staff in the reception.
The room was big and clean and with a nice size balcony.
The hotel would not store my luggage during my sailing trip, so I had to go to the backpacker place across the seat to store it. That worked fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Beautifully located near the lagoon and the beach. Very friendly and serviceminded staff , great value. Free internet and parking is a pluss

Stayed at the Whitsunday on the beach for three nights . The two first nights we stayed on a larger room on the second floor. That room was very nice. Clean , well equipped and a good view.

The last night we got a smaller room on the first floor. That was a totally different experience. There where ants all over the place. In the kitchen , the bathroom , and even in the bed.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor if you don`t like ants
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pukkverk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We arrived in Airlie Beach without a reservation. We checked a few hostels first but they did not have private double rooms available anymore on the day itself. Whitsunday on the Beach still did though, and I'm sure we were much better of here! Although it was a little pricier than a hostel (we paid $90 where a double in a hostel would have cost around $70) we felt we got a lot more value. The apartment was not big, but it was well equipped with air-con, fridge, microwave, cups, bowls and cutlery. You even get free milk for your coffee or tea, which is really adorable. Location is great too, right in the center of town.
However, most credit goes to the people who run the place. Compared to the cranky 20-something receptionist we encountered in some hostels, these people were a breath of fresh air. They were very helpful and genuinely friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Terrible. Just terrible. Very low standard of rooms. Equivalent if not lower than the backpackers across the road. Kitchenette is a sink and a portable benchtop stove. Cannot have visitors of any kind for any length of time at and time. Got scolded several times for friends stopping by for a few minutes to organise the day. In the middle of the day. Wow. Just wow. Would give 2 stars for accommodation but less than 1 for service. Won't ever stay here again and would never recommend it to anyone. If you're after budget accommodation just stay at the backpackers, higher standard and better service. Seriously.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zedzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airliebeachgirl, General Manager at Whitsunday on the Beach, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.
These are the people we dont like staying with us as they disturb the other guests in the complex.
I am not sure what part of no visitors on the property in the registration form they filled in and signed when they arrived that they did not understand???? And it seems that the "hangers on" spoil it for others.

The online pictures are all current and speak for themselves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed here in early January and were greeted by Sandy on the front desk who was extremely friendly & helpful. The check in was quick, we were offered milk for our tea (at a small supplement) & had our request of a room on the first floor.
The room was fabulous, with 3 beds & more than enough space for 2 of us! The room was lovely & cool despite it being 30 degrees outside. We had the best night's sleep of our trip here!
Access to the lagoon was great and we had fab views from our balcony which was plenty private enough for us!
Sandy was flexible & helpful when we thought we may need an additional night's accommodation.
Would absolutely recommend a stay here as the service is great, excellent value for money, superb location and the cheapest bottled water in the area!
Thank you to everyone who made our stay so comfortable :)

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room above where the cars for hire are parked :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.1 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
10.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday on the Beach

Property: Whitsunday on the Beach
Address: 269 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitsunday on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie Beaches only Motel accommodation that backs onto the Airlie Beach Lagoon. All units are self contained with patios and balconies. Secure parking in the centre of the complex. No taxis to catch or hill to climb as we are in the centre of Airlie Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whitsunday on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday On The Beach Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing