We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whitsunday on the Beach
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was the last place we stayed after a week in Cairns. I expected to go home rested and relaxed after a lovely holiday. After staying here I have got home exhausted and will take quite a few days to make up all the lost sleep. I am very disappointed that a place which was promoted quite highly ended up being a nightmare.
Our room was very small and unpleasant to be in other than to sleep. There was nowhere to sit other than on the bed. The Bathroom facilities were up a narrow passage and the hand basin was not big enough to wash your hands. There was nowhere to put toilet bags other than the floor so they got wet and putting on makeup was problematic.
The room was right by reception and was not at all sound proof so there was a stream of people entering reception talking and phones ringing. There was very little privacy as we had to keep the curtains closed otherwise people in reception would have been able to see in our room. The room was so not sound proof and we were kept awake most of our last night by partying young men staying in the room above us who did not appear to go to bed and were rowdy until morning. All sounds and movements from the room above and side appeared to be amplified and if they dropped a pin we would have been able to hear it. There appeared to be no restrictions on rowdy guests partying all night and morning keeping other patrons awake. We did get an apology in the morning but this was too late after a sleepless night.
All in all the worst room I have stayed in ever and I have travelled quite extensively. A backpacking hostel we stayed in Vietnam did not have the greatest facilities but at least it was quiet enough to get some sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airliebeachgirl, Manager at Whitsunday on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your review
The guest in the room above you left the same day.
Unfortunatly we cannot pick our guests and we can get some that are noisy and some that are as quiet as a mouse.
I have checked your booking, you had booked our backpacker room which is our cheapest room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 158 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Apartments are spacious with all the facilities you'd need. Decor is slightly tired in places, but not so much that it affected our enjoyment. Complimentary wi-fi was a good bonus. The real show stealer for us was the view. I would definitely recommend paying the extra for a first floor rather than ground floor room. We were lucky enough to be put in the room on the very end which gave us an unspoilt view over the Lagoon and the sea beyond that. Suggest it's worth asking for this particular room if possible.

Room Tip: Request the end room on the first floor (overlooking the Lagoon) if possible. Definitely worth payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Culky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was not the most expensive hotel on our 6 week trip but on one of our two stays we were upgraded to a large room with all of the facilities overlooking the beach and lagoon park. Private balcony. Could not have been nicer. On our second stay we had the room that we had booked rather than the upgrade. On the small side, but had a large clean bathroom and a complete kitchen. The counter staff were very helpful on both stays. Loved Airlie beach partly because of this place.

Room Tip: room 206 overlooks the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralphp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here for 3 nights and had a lovely time,

We were late getting off the greyhound after a long day travelling so tired and in need of a nice hot shower and to unload the bags etc.

I had emailed before our trip here to advise I would be there early evening and did receive a reply but didn't have Internet connection to check this with all the instructions, so when we arrived at WOTB it was closed but I called the number and spoke to sandy who advised not a problem and 5 mins later she arrived with her husband Richard and checked us in.

Sandy and Richard were very welcoming and made us feel at home straight away. We were given the free wifi code to use when we want which was great and as sandy remarked they do that because a lot of the kids who stay there can be miles from home so I found that really nice.

We were explained how everything works and advised of some good spots to eat and then checked into our room which was massive, it had a big kitchen and table along with tea, coffee, microwave kettle etc fridge freezer and also an iron and tv.

Balcony decent size where you can wind down after a long day, there is also a washing machine and tumble dryer located on the bottom floor.

There were 3 beds in our room which was great so we had the big double and then the two singles we just put our clothes on each,

Shower was lovely and hot and nice size. And location wise you are about 10 yards from the lagoon you just go out of the gate so perfect!

Would definitely recommend staying here to people, along with location and amenities offered for the price it's quality and yes whilst there is noise from the main road at times from some people coming out of pubs etc for the location you would expect it and its not exactly a retirement town! So this didn't bother us and after staying at some quiet places it was nice to be somewhere a little more lively.

A big thank you to sandy and Richard who obviously take pride in their business and you can see this in WOTB and sandy is like a 2nd mum and my aussie mum who looked after us and chased up our excursion for us so a big thank you again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchandsheyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I are from Canada and were visiting Australia for the first time. We stayed at Whitsunday on the Beach for three nights beginning Oct. 20th, after she booked it on line. WOW did she choose right!

From the moment we walked in the owners treated us like long lost friends and made us feel right at home. The room they provided us was an upgrade and it was the best hotel room we stayed in during our entire two month vaction. It was VERY spacious, VERY clean and had all the amenities you could ask for. Our balcony was hugh and looked directly over the beautiful lagoon that was only a few meters from the back gate. The hotel itself is situated right in the center of the main street (Shute Harbour Rd.) and within walking distance of everything. You could not ask for a better location. I have read other reviews that complained about noise but it was non existent during our stay.

We discussed things to do while in the area with the owners and they gave us their opinion on what the best options were and booked us for tours right from their office. They did not steer us wrong.

We spent a day laying around the lagoon catching some rays and it was great fun. There was a band playing on the beach the entire day and no one bothered us as we discreetly drank beer from our thermal mugs. We we so close to our room that we kept our beer cold in the fridge there and it was a one minute walk from the lagoon to our room to refill.

I would recommend Whitsunday on the Beach to anyone and should we ever get the opportunity to return to Airlie Beach we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanner1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

WE booked this in advance via hotels.com. We were initially told no money would be taken until arrival, however the hotel took the money in advance.
This place has a great location, right next to the lagoon and in the centre of the action. WE were worried that it would be noisy, but it seemed fine. It had most things we wanted including free wifi. There were lots of little ants running around the kitchen though and it seemed a bit dated. In addition we asked them to look after a few items in a fridge whilst we were away on our sailing trip as we were staying the night after too, but when we returned they didnt know what we were talking about.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Whitsunday on the Beach has an excellent location right in the heart of Airlie Beach. The rooms are sizeable if a touch spartan but the kitchenette is well equipped. Considering the central location having parking on site right in front of the rooms is great.

If you go out one gate you are on the main street in Airlie beach and the other gate leads out on to the lagoon area. It is also walking distance to Abel Point marina - in fact it is probably quicker to walk to Abel Point marina than get the busses that most operators offer.

The only downside of the central location is that there can be a bit of street noise but we were there on a weekend and it wasn't an issue for us.

Room Tip: Some of the upper floor rooms have a view over the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.6 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
16.5 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,439 reviews
5.1 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday on the Beach

Address: 269 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $129 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitsunday on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie Beaches only Motel accommodation that backs onto the Airlie Beach Lagoon. All units are self contained with patios and balconies. Secure parking in the centre of the complex. No taxis to catch or hill to climb as we are in the centre of Airlie Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whitsunday on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday On The Beach Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing