We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food”
Review of Deja Vu Restaurant - CLOSED

Deja Vu Restaurant
Price range: $16 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Deja Vu is a boutique restaurant that offers tropical seaview dining over Airlie Beach and the azure Whitsunday islands. Located at the base of Airlie's most famous hillside accommodation strip, Orchid Drive, the restaurant is only a flat 100 metre walk from the main street of Airlie Beach. Open 5 days per week, Deja vu is also home to the famous gastrotourism event 'The Long Sunday Lunch'. An 8 course feast for only $44.50 Per person. An extensive wine and beverage menu accompanies Deja Vu's modern Australian cuisine. Personalised service and attention reign supreme with hands-on owner/manager/chef's Sarah and Patrice Duverger.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We attended a wedding that was at this restaurant and the food was divine. We were so impressed that we decided to have the long lunch on the Sunday which is 8 courses and well worth the money. The staff are a delight and so friendly, highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozmurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    29
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Long lunch a long and great experience”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Now when these people say l-o-o-o-n-n-g lunch, they are not joking. Even our table of 11 for a birthday celebration did not faze these good folk. A 12.30 start saw a succession of delightful courses roll out with individual tabs for drinks. Very handy for large groups. The $45 price per head is the best value in town, the staff delightful and the guitarist/singer entertaining without being distracting. The unasked for touch of special deserts for the birthday folk was an unexpected bonus. WARNING: Do NOT eat breakfast!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisnjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We attended the "long lunch" that they have every Sunday and I can truly say it was a fantastic experience. Whilst we had been told that it was a "not to be missed" experience, when we saw how cheap it was I had to admit I had my doubts.
From the location overlooking the ocean, to the quality of the food served to the fantastic service, there was nothing to be faulted.
The only slightly sour note was that another party had some young children who they let run wild and when they started splashing us as they dive bombed the pool we felt we had to complain. The response was instantaneous and handled without any fuss so that neither the children themselves nor their parents would have felt embarassed.
We will definitely be returning next time we are in Airlie!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmr172400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wedding reception”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Amazing food, had the oyster shooters, teriyaki scallops, lobster skewers, spannner crab patties for canapes. Then entre had calamari salad and pork belly. Then main had tandoori chicken (AMAZING) and kangaroo!! Service was outstanding, the staff ladies were very obliging and always there offering more drinks.
And the setting at sunset was just beautiful. Highly recommend for a small wedding!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KS-brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
1 review
“Magical day, magical venue”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We can't thank the staff at Deja Vu Restaurant enough, especially the owners Sarah & Patrice. You are both lovely people, and the service of yourselves & your staff was truly amazing yet professional the whole time, it truly made our wedding that extra special and so enjoyable for our guests, plus we had the blessing of a perfect cloudless day in what was suppose to be 'Winter' hehe.

Everyone loved the food, and agreed that the outside area was just perfect :-)

The Sunday Long Lunch was 'the icing on the cake so to speak' to top off the best weekend of the start of our future life together.

We will definitely be returning each year :-)

The whole weekend will stay close to our hearts forever

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deja Vu Restaurant also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing