We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fantastic!”
Review of Hog's Breath Cafe

Hog's Breath Cafe
Ranked #67 of 104 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always fantastic!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Wow, never fails this one! great for the kids, beautiful food and fantastic service. Fast and efficient and when you have children sometimes thats what we need!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    109
    67
    46
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Greasy!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

At the end of the day it's just a fast food joint but with posher tables & chairs. Pricey for fast food & overall to greasy & processed for our liking. Staff didn't take much care either, no smiles, chat or care taken over customer service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mouthybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Food was average. Service was terrible. The girl serving our drinks spilled a whole glass of wine over my husband - he was soaked. Still had to pay full price for drinks and meal though. Have been to Hog's Breath Cafes before but this one was the very worst. Will stay away from Hog's Breath now.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Poor attitude from the moment we walked in. Despite efforts to get an email reply about a reservation (why have an email address if no one is monitoring it! Don't you guys understand social media and the Internet) we turned up anyway. The restaurant was at best quarter full and yet we were turned away! Apparently a big pre wedding party was due in...really? For that may tables spare and not grouped together. Don't think so! Hate being lied to so we said ciao and left. Such a bitter sweet memory as dined here when it first opened in 1989...and they couldn't do enough then! How times have changed. Still we left and found Lovely India across the way and had a brilliant meal...so thanks HB, your ineptitude and attitude helped us find a better option

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davefromdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's Hogs Breath.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Service is good. Food cooked as we like it. Prices reasonable. We have limited experience with this chain and were pleasantly surprised at how much our meals here. We'll give this chain another go.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmmBee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Cafe also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Hog's Breath Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing