We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Funky Designs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Everything is fine except that your room gets cleaned only once a week and the view from the balcony overlooks a lot of construction for the new port of Airlie.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbarber84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHorizonAirlie, General Manager at Blue Horizon Resort Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks so much for the review. Work on the new Ferry terminal is moving forward quickly and we hope it will be finalized mid 2011. Wonderful that we are not experiencing any noise from the site and when finished our access to the great Barrier Reef and all the Island treasures will be made that much easier with the brand new facility a very easy stroll.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 361 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2010

Checking in to the hotel the staff were very friendly and helpfull. When were arrived at the room the smell from the rubbish shoot was horrible. Walking inside the smell only got worse. Laying on the bed was like laying on the concrete on the floor and the chairs in the lounge were just as bad. That night when we went to go to bed we pulled the blanket out of the cupboard and found that it had some large blood stains on it. The view was alright looking over some mud flats with the ocean in the background.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHorizonAirlie, General Manager at Blue Horizon Resort Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback on Blue Horizon from your stay back in August 2010.
What a shame you did not make us aware of any of these issues during your stay to give us the opportunity to substantiate your claims and rectify any problems that you were having, this would definitely have made your break with us a more positive one. I am very glad that our front desk team made your arrival a warm and happy one. We really appreciate the great job that they do.
Regarding the garbage, we do have enclosed garbage chutes on every floor, the garbage is changed daily but from time to time in the garbage room in the basement there are odors. But we have never before experienced these odors in the guest rooms as they are a considerable distance from the enclosed chute? Had we been made aware on checkin of an odor we definitely could have investigated and alleviated any problem that existed.
We do have rather firm bedding at Blue Horizon and we do get many comments on how comfortable they are. We also have a percentage of our guests that prefer a less firm mattress and yes from time to time we do get feedback that lets us know we have very firm bedding too. We have also had some negative comments on our couches and from this feedback we were able to secure funds to refurnish the lounge furniture. We are in the middle of refurbishing the apartments right now with new more comfortable cushions.
As for stains on the linen, again if you had simply let us know we could have checked the room and made any changes necessary for your comfort. All linen is laundered on every departure and we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the apartments. A stain such as this on white bed blankets would be very hard for our housekeeping team to ignore, but we are none of us infallible and mistakes can happen. But again if this had been bought to our attention at the time we could have investigated and rectified the problem. Our view over Muddy Bay is fabulous but like all tidal views in North Queensland at low tide you see the great Eco system of mud flats, that is the nature of the location. Thank you again for this review, I only wish we had been made aware of your issues back in August enabling us the opportunity to make your stay with us a more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Staying at Blue Horizons was a very relaxing experience.
The Rooms are very clean and modern, with most necessities supplied to you. Pool, spa and Gym area also very nice to hang around
View was nice over the water from room.
About 10 min walk from the main street of Airlie Beach.

Staff very friendly and helpful with any requirements we had.
:D

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikaD7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

* Would be good to have an oven in the room
* Lounges were not very clean looking in the room or comfortable and mould in bathrooms.
* Other than that it was enjoyable
Not enough undercover parking

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllisonMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Blue Horizons is fabulous.

Our apartment was spacious, well eqipped, well presented and very clean. Decor was very stylish and beds very comfortable.

The pool and other facilities were in excellent condition.

The staff were exceptional. They could not do enough for us.

I highly recommend Blue Horizon and look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The staff couldn't do enough for you, all were very helpful. The rooms were excellent. We had a double bedroom and a single room with a terrific joining balcony and the views were sensational. The pool and gym were great as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed at this resort for our first wedding anniversary so I was hoping that it would be special and it was. When we arrived we were greeted by the bubbly and helpful manager who made us feel very welcome. When we entered our room I noticed a fresh frangipani on the bed with a little note from the staff, hoping that we enjoy our first anniversary. I thought this was a nice touch. I was very impressed with our room; it was beautifully decorated and have everything you want for a weekend getaway, including spa, an ocean view and a short walk to restaurants, boutiques and the entertainment that Airlie offers. The room was fully self contained so you wouldn't need to leave the hotel if you didn't want to. We certainly enjoyed our stay and will visit again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.6 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#49 of 57 in Airlie Beach
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#23 of 57 in Airlie Beach
607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#4 of 57 in Airlie Beach
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Resort Apartments

Address: 3 Hermitage Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $131 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Horizon Resort Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Blue Horizon Resort creates the perfect setting for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday holiday. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway, a family friendly destination, or somewhere to mix work with pleasure at Blue Horizon Resort can cater for all tastes.The resort’s modern, Balinese inspired 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and 3 or 4 bedroom top floor luxury jacuzzi penthouses offer spacious balconies with views over the Coral Sea. With an emphasis on comfort and warm friendly service at Blue Horizon Resort is your home away from home.With the beautiful Whitsunday weather you can choose to relax in the heated spa, rise early to take advantage of the fully equipped gymnasium or relax poolside. The toddler wading pool and play room helps to keep little ones occupied while the Horizon heated swimming pool provides year round fun for all. Our onsite tour desk will assist you to choose the perfect activity to make your Whitsunday experience a memorable one, from a romantic secluded island beach picnic to a thrill seeking parachute jump our dedicated team can make it happen.at Blue Horizon Resort is the perfect spot for small to medium sized conferences, boasting a large, modern, dedicated conference room with state of the art audio visual equipment, broadband internet access, and versatile choice of room configurations at Blue Horizon Resort presents itself as a resort focused on driving business results. at Blue Horizon Resort, located a short walk from Airlie Beach village is the ideal base for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Horizon Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing