We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
western australia, australia
2 reviews
“Nice and modern”
Reviewed October 4, 2009

It was nicer than expected. Room overlooking the pool and the marina. It was a nice room but we didn't like how you could see into the shower from the lounge room! And the shower smelled and was sensitive and low pressure. Otherwise nice and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank startravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    112
    59
    33
    28
See reviews for
92
140
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We came here for some time out & were not disappointed.The apartments are spacious,
well furnished and our bathroom was to die for. Having a shower or spa which overlooked the water was heaven. The deck overlooking the harbour was the perfect way to start your morning or finish an evening. Airlie beach is a short walk away to get those essential supplies. I believe the new management have made changes and they were really helpful suggesting tours and things to do. We had a bar-be-que by the pool one night and it was just great. The pool is superb(much cleaner than other resorts we visited) and the spa although a little cool for our liking was really refreshing.You can take advantage of their house keeping or do it yourself. Personally it was great not to have lug back a huge load of dirty washing as there is a washing machine & dryer in the room.
The Thai restaurant next door is a goodie, better than the one in town.
All in all I would totally recommend Blue Horizon as a stay and a gateway to the Whitsundays, if only I could be back there now.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jellyblush
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I stayed at Blue Horizon for three nights with a girlfriend in a one bedroom apartment.

First of all, these are apartments, not a hotel. It seems as though some previous reviews expected hotel facilities and service - you should not stay at Blue Horizon if you expect this. Blue Horizon is more like, if a friend had an amazingly furnished apartment with a pool and lent it to you. There is no bar, restaurant, and reception is not staffed full time.

However - the location is amazing, with views over the bay. We liked that it is a short walk to town (five minutes) so that, on Saturday night, we were safely out of the way, but could still stroll in easily for dinner each night. The pool is gorgeous, as is the spa, and laid out really well so you can lean over the edge of the pool and stare at the view.

The apartments are big for two sharing - my friend and i slept on the couches rather than share a bed and they were plenty big enough for this. Huge television, beautiful clean modern balinese inspired furnishing. The apartments were peaceful and felt very secure. Showers were incredible.

The staff were lovely and friendly and were very happy to recommend local tours and attractions and book them for us.

Summary - a perfect, glamorous, home away from home. Not a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellyblush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2009

The relaxing atmosphere and surroundings of the resort made for an ideal romantic getaway, whist still having many activities around to be involved with.
The Blue Horizon staff, in particular Chris, made our stay all the better with the outstanding customer service and friendly manner. His upbeat nature seems to reflect upon the rest of the staff who also contributed to making our stay a delight.

We will DEFINATELY come back to stay at Blue Horizon.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldCoastGeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster NSW
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Blue Horizon more than exceeded our expectations. Prior to staying at this hotel, we viewed other comments from previous guests. 2 comments were not so positive, however our experience was far different from this, and we recommend Blue Horizons for not just a romantic get away but also caters for families and groups

The hotel was situated right across from the ocean, and a short stroll into town. It made the perfect location for our holiday. Very central to the Whitsundays and activities.

The apartments were roomy, vibrant and clean with great views, just another reason to sit on the balcony and watch the sunset with a glass of wine.

The resort staff were very friendly, constant smiles and so helpful with organising tours and trips out to the islands. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Overall our stay was perfect, we did have a couple of days of rain, but still found stuff to do and enjoyed the time just to relax.

We can't wait to return, we aim to get back up there to warm up during winter.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebaMacForsterNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

We have just returned from our 4 night stay at this establishment with my parents(in their late 60's) and our 2 children aged 6 & 8.
These well located ,very new & well equipped appartments were quite pleasurable to stay in . Large spacious appartments with good views of the Ocean, Good Pool & Gym facilities seemed an ideal place for a family holiday.
HOWEVER, the elevator in our block only worked for a half day of the 4 days we stayed here,and on our arrival we were told we would have to carry our luggage to our room by the fire escape stairwell.(thank god we were not in the 7th floor penthouse).
This also posed a problem with the security door of the fire escape as it was held back by a door stop, which when accidently removed meant my husband could not access our room from the street. When we enquired about this problem we were advised to call a security firm in the town if this happened after the reception closed @ 6pm.(not an ideal option)
The fridge in our 3 bedroom dual key appartment was not working on our arrival, but was replaced within an hour(should it have been checked before we arrived?)
It took the staff 8 hours to repalce the light globes in the bathroom. The room is completely dark without these. When we enquired about the delay we were told that, as we were not in the apartment during the day, the staff could not do this! Were we expected to stay in all day waiting?
The cleanliness of the entire building was below standard; the main walk ways & stairwell looked very dirty. The carpet in my childrens bedroom was wet for our entire stay & although we mentioned it to the staff when they replaced the fridge , there appeared to be no real concern shown. Finally there was an open box of condoms in the bedside table of my childrens bedroom which we found on arrival. We left them there on our departure ......I wonder if they have been removed yet?????

  • Liked — Location in Airlie beach, No big hill to climb(I have stayed in Pinnacles resort!)
  • Disliked — No lift to our room, bad cleanliness in the stairways & in our room. Poor service from staff.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clodagh666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHorizonAirlie, Danielle Borg, Manager, Blue Horizon Resort Apartments at Blue Horizon Resort Apartments, responded to this review, March 24, 2009
The team at Blue Horizon Resort Apartments pride themselves in their ability to provide guests with premium accommodation at affordable rates. Being accredited by AAA with 4.5 stars for facilities, services and appearance, the resort is an ideal location for family holidays and romantic getaways.

Most of all, however, our team takes pride in offering friendly service to our guests. One of our credos is that when guests enter our resort, we treat them like visitors into our homes, rather than customers in our place of work. It’s this form of service that we feel sets us apart.

The facilities and services we provide differs from that of a hotel. We are serviced apartments, and with that, services such as porterage are not included. However, in saying this, this is a service we do provide when requested, or when free staff members are on hand. The services we provide are also dependent on circumstances.

This was the case in the month of January, one lift in the building was not working for a short period. During this time, porterage services were on offer between office hours of 8am to 6pm.
Repair works to the lift began the day the lift stopped working and continued for the next couple of days. As we advertise lifts as a facility in the resort, we do understand the importance of having such facilities in working order. It is this reason that we had an authorized repairer onsite, working 16 hour days to reinstate the lift.

We appreciate the above reviewer’s feedback, as it enables us to reflect on our communication policies in regards to afterhours assistance. We have now amended our welcome letter to clearly advise guests how to access afterhours assistance if need be. We have an onsite caretaker who is available 24 hours a day and an answering service for the property that directs after hours calls to management. If a situation such as the stair access area being closed as mentioned by this reviewer had arose, a simple phone call to reception would have ensured management opened the doors within a 5 minute timeframe. It would never be suggested that a guest had to call a security firm in town. We do utilize a local security firm, however their responsibility is to ensure the safety of guests and the building. Guest assistance comes under the responsibility of management.

Blue Horizon Resort Apartments have policies in place to ensure guest security. With this, includes no staff access to occupied apartments without the presence of the guest. As the guest in this review was not onsite during the day for us to enter the apartment, we did have to wait until their return to attend to the lights.

We appreciate all guest feedback, as this enables us to build our standards and improve on our facilities and services. During the wet season, upkeep of the walkways is a large, continual task. Our walkways are open air and rain does affect them. The walkways do form part of twice daily cleaning routines, along with constant checks with different department within our resort.
Blue Horizon regrets the reviewer and her family were disappointed with their experience, and welcomes the opportunity to make a better impression on another visit. The management and staff are dedicated to providing an enjoyable stay for all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2009

I thought these apartments were lovely. I was really pleased with them after my other half chose them (i'm normally in charge of booking hotels/apmts!)
First of all you are about 1km (10min) walk from the town of Airlie but it is not a hrad walk. The bad thing is the steepness of the street the apartments are on and the driveway is near vertical. That was the only downside. However, if you are fit or have a car this is not a problem.
We stayed in a 1 bed apartment and found it very spacious. Everything we needed. It has a lovely balinese feel about it. The balcony is very big and has a sun-lounger and table and chairs on it. The pool is great and was always clean. The sun was shaded from about 5pm from the pool.
The new Port of Airlie development is straight accross from it but I never heard a single noise from it and they were working every day. The view will be amazing once this opens.
The cockateels sometimes visit the balcont (they ask you not to feed the birds and we didn't but they still came to have a nosey at what you're eating). I found the beds very comfy and didn't have a problem with them.
The last time we were in Airlie we stayed in the Portside and this time they were more expensive and we only had a small studio in the Portside so the Blue Horizon was better value for money.
Hope this helps.
Jac
Dumbarton, UK

  • Liked — Pool and rooms
  • Disliked — Steep hill and small walk to Airlie
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JacsDumbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#4 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#22 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
#11 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#45 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Resort Apartments

Property: Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Address: 3 Hermitage Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Horizon Resort Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Blue Horizon Resort creates the perfect setting for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday holiday. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway, a family friendly destination, or somewhere to mix work with pleasure at Blue Horizon Resort can cater for all tastes.The resort’s modern, Balinese inspired 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and 3 or 4 bedroom top floor luxury jacuzzi penthouses offer spacious balconies with views over the Coral Sea. With an emphasis on comfort and warm friendly service at Blue Horizon Resort is your home away from home.With the beautiful Whitsunday weather you can choose to relax in the heated spa, rise early to take advantage of the fully equipped gymnasium or relax poolside. The toddler wading pool and play room helps to keep little ones occupied while the Horizon heated swimming pool provides year round fun for all. Our onsite tour desk will assist you to choose the perfect activity to make your Whitsunday experience a memorable one, from a romantic secluded island beach picnic to a thrill seeking parachute jump our dedicated team can make it happen.at Blue Horizon Resort is the perfect spot for small to medium sized conferences, boasting a large, modern, dedicated conference room with state of the art audio visual equipment, broadband internet access, and versatile choice of room configurations at Blue Horizon Resort presents itself as a resort focused on driving business results. at Blue Horizon Resort, located a short walk from Airlie Beach village is the ideal base for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Blue Horizon Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing