We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. Looks nice inside, staff friendly and great pools. Looking at other reviews I find it funny that people talk about it being a mission from central Airlie. My boys aged 2 and 5 happily walked to the lagoon and back twice a day so I don't agree a high level of fitness is required. Only negs was no bath in the two bedrooms (my fault I didn't realise when booking) and the kitchen not as big and stocked as other places we have stayed. I cook on holidays so that was something I noticed, would not bother most. That said, last time we stayed at Searene which had better views, kitchen and spa but more expensive so Blue Horizon is still great value. Also enjoyed the gym. I would highly recommend particularly for families.

Room Tip: Two beddys don't have a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 365 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was fun staying there, although the first day we could not figure out how to work out the TV. There is no reception in mobile. There is no free internet, you need to pay from $5.95 for half an hour or other packages available. No food available at the hotel or nearby. Markets are 10 mins walk away. Its Quiet and its lovely though in a weird way. The pool and gym are alright. The couches needs new thick cushions but overall its good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Recently stayed at the Blue Horizon at Airlie Beach as part of a wedding party who recommended these apartments. The service and facilities were fantastic and the rooms were clean and tidy. The location was perfect as it was away from the noise and bussle of the town centre but close enough to walk into town to grab supplies and visit the local restaurants. Thanks again to the team at the Blue Horizon for a memorable few days!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fcosta01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here for a girl's weekend. We had the two bedroom penthouse...with three beds added under a low ceiling area. Was really meant for kids, not adults. However, the two bedrooms were nicely appointed, the master bedroom with a bath and shower beside the bed. Unusual. The balconies had great views, as did the lounge room. The outdoor spa was fun.

The kitchen had most things we needed and he champagne and chocolates in the fridge was a nice touch.

However, it wasn't really suitable for five ladies. Would recommend for young families with primary aged kids, as no privacy in the three bed area.

The heated pool area was great. Very relaxing area.

Lastly, the place is on a steep hill, only accessible by stairs or a very steep driveway. Older people or prams would have a tough time. It is also out of the town area..we walked each day for exercise.

Room Tip: Go high for the view. Ground floor has direct access to the pool. Could be noisy in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richardlizkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Blue Horizon were standard Balinese inspired serviced (or not so serviced) apartments. Rooms were big, but never cleaned and the walk into town was a little on the long side. Adult oriented.

When you get to Airlie Beach, keep going: Blue Horizon is on the other side of the town. There are two driveways, the second one is a bit steeper so save your legs for the walk into town and take the first one, continue to the lift at the back of the carpark which will take you up to reception (hold your nose for the stinky garbage bin while you wait for the lift). If you came by plane and organised a return trip on the shuttle bus, they will pick you up and drop you off just above the second driveway. Very convenient.

Check-in was easy, however this was the only staff member I saw the whole four days we stayed at Blue Horizon. The staff was helpful but be mindful this is not a 24-hr manned desk (it does have a drop off key box). Just out past reception is the pool area overlooking the river. It is a little small. Take the steps down the back left side to a somewhat concealed wading pool. Visiting during the shoulder season, we never found it to be overcrowded, or for that matter, overrun with children.

Rooms are spacious with great air-conditioning and large balconies overlooking the river and pool area. Perfect for north Qld weather. The bed was comfy and a welcome sight after a long day out on the water or sightseeing around Airlie. The sofas were a bit hard, but you shouldn’t spend much time on the couch with all that Airlie has to offer.

While the bathroom was compact and the toilet was positioned badly, the shower was lovely. Mind turning on the spa, you might need your earplugs! Ladies, the hairdryer was quite good.

With a 10-15 minute walk into town, including a slight hill, this is not the best-positioned accommodation. Customer service was a bit lacking for those looking for standard hotel amenities, such as making up rooms, and be prepared to take your own trash out.

If you don’t mind the walk, or lack of hotel features, this is a nice comfortable choice in Airlie.

Foodies: Try Mr Bones – delish lunch with quirky décor and attentive service
Do: Hire a care and explore the area – visit the waterfall
Do: Ocean Rafting – an action packed day out on the water seeing the Whitsundays and culminating in a peek into a colourful underwater world with your snorkel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived here on Australia day and it was extremely busy with people drunk in the small pool. I began to think it would be a nightmare and a really bad choice. But it turned out fine as the apartments was virtually empty 2 days later and we more or less had the place to ourselves for a week. The pool area is not huge and you do have to chase the sun around the pool a bit. Its about a 10 minute walk in to airlie beach to the restaurants and bars, but I found it to be a nice walk and I think its better than staying in the very centre. The room sizes were great, more than adequate. You are pretty much left to your own devices after 5 oclock when you wont see anymore staff and I would actually check to see if they are going to be there to check in before you arrive (depending on your flight time). When the staff are there they are helpful.

All in all I really enjoyed it here but if it was a busier period I can imagine it to be a bit crowded.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin_2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I absolutely love staying at Blue Horizon. Firstly there are the excellent rooms with spa's views awesome comfy beds and big kitchens and deck chairs on the balconies where you gaze out upon the balconies. Next there is the staff at reception, I have had such amazing expereinces with them, they are attentive, thoughtful, human and beautiful. thirdly there is the pools and spa's down below -- so wonderful to laze on a deck chair whilst sipping a beer between swims!
I love the proximity to Airlie town and my favorite music places and food haunts - its a 15 minute walk away which is great for me! and there are tours organised through them that pick you up from the hotel and take you to the ferry pick up point. I stay here heaps and I recommend it.

Room Tip: go top floors spa ocean view rooms! awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.2 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#49 of 56 in Airlie Beach
293 reviews
0.4 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#25 of 56 in Airlie Beach
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#7 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Resort Apartments

Address: 3 Hermitage Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $147 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Horizon Resort Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Blue Horizon Resort creates the perfect setting for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday holiday. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway, a family friendly destination, or somewhere to mix work with pleasure at Blue Horizon Resort can cater for all tastes.The resort’s modern, Balinese inspired 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and 3 or 4 bedroom top floor luxury jacuzzi penthouses offer spacious balconies with views over the Coral Sea. With an emphasis on comfort and warm friendly service at Blue Horizon Resort is your home away from home.With the beautiful Whitsunday weather you can choose to relax in the heated spa, rise early to take advantage of the fully equipped gymnasium or relax poolside. The toddler wading pool and play room helps to keep little ones occupied while the Horizon heated swimming pool provides year round fun for all. Our onsite tour desk will assist you to choose the perfect activity to make your Whitsunday experience a memorable one, from a romantic secluded island beach picnic to a thrill seeking parachute jump our dedicated team can make it happen.at Blue Horizon Resort is the perfect spot for small to medium sized conferences, boasting a large, modern, dedicated conference room with state of the art audio visual equipment, broadband internet access, and versatile choice of room configurations at Blue Horizon Resort presents itself as a resort focused on driving business results. at Blue Horizon Resort, located a short walk from Airlie Beach village is the ideal base for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Horizon Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing