We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Awesome place to stay. Stayed one night in a 2 bedroom apartment with 3 friends was a good location and really good size. We payed extra and were lucky enough to have the room till 5pm which was great for us. The only let down was when we went to have a hot spa after diner and the actual swimming pool was warmer than the spa. Would definitely stay here again rooms were clean and modern.

Room Tip: we were in b block on the 4th level and had a really good view but i think all rooms will get a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jademurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 367 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Beautiful location n rooms!! Loved it. Only issue was checking in as you had to drive up the steep hill to check in but there were no parks available at top do I had to drive back down and walk up. In fit so it's ok, but if u were old or until it would be uncomfortable!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gixxerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great location, amazing views, friendly staff and lovely rooms. I cant praise this place enough, would definitely stay here again if I return to Airlie and definitely recommend it to others coming here.

Room Tip: Blue horizon does an amazing deal if a wed or sun night are included in your stay, makes it a really...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Views = great (for those whining about the construction out the front, have a spoon of cement, can't be helped and still loads of great sea and marina views!)

Facilities were good, car park ok, pool and spa were great. I did not actually get to deal with any staff, but if they had not been great my new wife would have certainly let me know!

Couch was HORRIBLE! It was a pain and gave me back spasms and the seat cushions kept coming off the base. I did not come on my honeymoon to sit on the couch I agree, however at the end of a full day, and bub down to sleep, an hour of cuddling in front of the TV certainly would be nice. Instead, ended up going to the bed most of the time and it was comfy! So usually went to sleep early! :D

Lot of feedback here about crappy couch, seriously fix that and I will be back there everytime without fail.

And to those also having a whine about the distance into town (excepting those with recent knee surgery!) give me a break, I'm tubby and unfit and the 850 metres into the centre of town was nothing, even with a slight hill...

Thank you for a good honeymoon location to explore from!



(For Trip Advisor: Should be able to select Not Applicable from the below ratings - ie: no room service, no restaurant etc)

Room Tip: 1 Bed and 3 beds have Spa - 2 bedders do not, although they do have a full kitchen to preapre own fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the first floor & it was great. Staff were friendly. Full kitchen (even a dishwasher). Dining table inside & a table outside on the balcony too. Balcony was huge & covered thank goodness because it rained for most of our stay so we could still eat our meals outside without getting wet. Lounge sofa was uncomfortable but not a big deal. Rooms were clean & there was a washer & dryer as well. Lots of hot water in the shower. We all slept well - beds were comfy & no noise. If you haven't read about the rooms when you book, the information book there is loaded with info. You are provided with a starter set of amenities - ours lasted for our stay - & rooms are not serviced each day. Kids loved swimming in the pool (it was great to see a small toddler pool too) & they loved the huge spa. The car parks are very tight but are undercover which is good. It's a bit of a walk to the main street but it's all on a cemented footpath & our kids rode their scooters (although we mainly drove because of the rain). Overall, we were happy with our choice & would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We looked for apartments for 13 of of us for a 65th birthday celebration and found the ideal place. Chosing a location off the internet can be difficult. Rooms were spacious clean and beds very comfortable. good size fridge for all of our requirements. Washing and drying facilities all helped make our stay perfect. Spacious verandas to sit back and enjoy the winter sun in Airlie. Walking distance to town for those who enjoy a drink and dining in the local restaurants. Plenty car parking as we all drove there from Cairns area. Only setback was that Blue Horizon was on a bit of a hill so those not so fit (3 of us had knee surgery with on going problems) who did walk to town found it a bit of a chore going back up to the resort.

Room Tip: We had our son and his wife and baby with us and had adjoining apartments via the veranda and entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Dear Valerie H,

Many thanks for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your 65th birthday celebration and stay at Blue Horizon Resort. The rooms are indeed spacious with modern fixtures, lovely to have your son and his family in the adjoining room enabling you to enjoy family time easily.

Having recently purchased the property we are excited to have Blue Horizon Resort as a member of at Hotel Group.

We anticipate including a courtesy shuttle to Airlie Beach in the coming months, whilst the walk to Airlie Beach is less than 10 minutes we would like to offer a courtesy shuttle to Airlie Beach and the shopping precinct for those guests wanting to take advantage of the self-catering options at Blue Horizon....stay tuned.

Geoff, Mel, Matt and I look forward to welcoming you back to Blue Horizon Resort

Sincerely

Jeff Aquilina
Managing Director
at Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed 8 days at Blue Horizon Apartments and enjoyed every moment of it. The room was beautiful, spacious, clean and well-positioned. Staff was really friendly and professional and did everything to make our stay as welcome as possible. Asked for fresh towels and clean sheets after some days and was no problem at all. Quite a bit of walk into town but with the Whitsunday islands right at your doorstep it was more than ok. We would be more than happy staying at Blue Horizon Apartments again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Dear Henry H,

Many thanks for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your 8 night visit at Blue Horizon Resort and the magical Whitsundays.

The rooms at Blue Horizon Resort are indeed spacious with modern fixtures and lovely views to the Coral Sea and Whitsundays.

Thank you for you kind words in regards to our team, I have passed you feedback to Geoff, Mel, Matt and the housekeeping team.

Having recently purchased the property we are excited to have Blue Horizon Resort as a member of at Hotel Group.

We anticipate including a courtesy shuttle to Airlie Beach in the coming months, whilst the walk to Airlie Beach is less than 10 minutes we would like to offer a courtesy shuttle to Airlie Beach and the shopping precinct for those guests wanting to take advantage of the self-catering options at Blue Horizon....stay tuned.

Geoff, Mel, Matt and I look forward to welcoming you back to Blue Horizon Resort

Sincerely

Jeff Aquilina
Managing Director
at Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.2 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#48 of 56 in Airlie Beach
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#27 of 56 in Airlie Beach
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#8 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Resort Apartments

Address: 3 Hermitage Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $119 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Horizon Resort Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Blue Horizon Resort creates the perfect setting for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday holiday. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway, a family friendly destination, or somewhere to mix work with pleasure at Blue Horizon Resort can cater for all tastes.The resort’s modern, Balinese inspired 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and 3 or 4 bedroom top floor luxury jacuzzi penthouses offer spacious balconies with views over the Coral Sea. With an emphasis on comfort and warm friendly service at Blue Horizon Resort is your home away from home.With the beautiful Whitsunday weather you can choose to relax in the heated spa, rise early to take advantage of the fully equipped gymnasium or relax poolside. The toddler wading pool and play room helps to keep little ones occupied while the Horizon heated swimming pool provides year round fun for all. Our onsite tour desk will assist you to choose the perfect activity to make your Whitsunday experience a memorable one, from a romantic secluded island beach picnic to a thrill seeking parachute jump our dedicated team can make it happen.at Blue Horizon Resort is the perfect spot for small to medium sized conferences, boasting a large, modern, dedicated conference room with state of the art audio visual equipment, broadband internet access, and versatile choice of room configurations at Blue Horizon Resort presents itself as a resort focused on driving business results. at Blue Horizon Resort, located a short walk from Airlie Beach village is the ideal base for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Horizon Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing