We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best pizzas I've had”

Il Forno Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 58 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of the best pizzas I've had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I love me a thin base pizza. I used to live in the Cairns region and this place was easily the best pizza I've had. They use fresh toppings, the ham is the sliced kind you get at the deli and not the usual shredded ham you see on most pizzas, the basil is fresh from their herb pot etc. Sure you wait a good 20 to 30 minutes and probably pay a little more, but it is worth it. Every time we go back to visit Cairns, il Forno for dinner is a must. We bring a rug, grab a couple of take away pizzas (a must have is the il forno, a little spicy and the artichoke works so well) and sit opposite on the beach under moonlight. For a little while, the world is so perfect.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    176
    57
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Top prices for very average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Got two take away pizzas and it cost $47 - credit cards add $2 and if you pull out cash don't expect it to get rung up on the register. While we waited for our pizzas (30 minutes) we noticed that the cash transactions (both take away and dine in didn't get rung up) which is a serious concern if you care about people paying their fair share. Spoke to the owner about it and he explained that sometimes they forget when it is busy - given we were the only ones at the register when we ordered that sounds a pretty limp excuse. After all that the food was pretty average despite the well above average price. Wouldn't bother again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DougofMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor value and quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had pizza at il Forno and left hungry. The base was so thin as to be almost nonexistent! The pizza was garlic prawns and there were very few prawns on it. We felt it was very poor value indeed..
The wine arrived in a glass tumbler!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CanberraConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Plain and simple: very tasty pizza and very good service. Lots of options and quick take-away service. Would recommend highly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Smiley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced In Palm Cove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My teenage sons and I were looking for something tasty, quick and not expensive one night for dinner while visiting Palm Cove for three nights. Il Forno pizza was perfect! Both boys said this was one of the best pizzas they have ever had!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Forno Restaurant also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Il Forno Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing