We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza”

Il Forno Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 58 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Il Forno is a family run business with a new management. At Il Forno we specialise in Roman style Pizza which has a soft but crunchy thin base. We follow the traditional way of Pizza making which does not grant the use of any machinery for the handling of the dough, not even a rolling pin can be used. We do it the old way, by hand! At Il Forno you will find a little corner of Italy where the owner and staff are Italians. To ensure a true Italian Pizza to our customers we import a lot of our ingredients and the local ingredients we use are made by Italians here in Australia.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was a easy place to grab a pizza after a busy / tiring day! We all liked the pizza and we were able to carry out to our hotel which was convenient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KHSLex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    181
    57
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best pizza in Palm Cove!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I dined here twice and got a takeaway pizza once in our week at Palm Cove. Nutella Calzone...seriously? WOW!!! To die for but it's too much for one person. The owner is a character and she has a passion for her food and service. It is very friendly, casual but also romantic. You can sit inside (window seats are great as you see the beach right in front of you) and outside in the little quirky shopping precinct piazza. The atmosphere outside is entirely different to inside but both are very good. The romantics might prefer outside! The pizzas were brilliant and consistent. We tried pizzas from three places at Palm Cove (yes we are addicts!) and those from Il Forno were easily the best! The staff are always on the look out for walk ins and those needing service at their table. If you take away then you can sit outside and have a drink while you wait. We'll be back there on our next Palm Cove stay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimpama, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“nutella calzone...OMG!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Pizza bases light and crispy, toppings tasty and fresh and great service!
The nutella calzone takes deserts to a whole new level! You have to visit just for this !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynnp2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First welcome dinner to Palm Cove”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Our first dinner on day 1 in Palm Cove.. My new husband loves Italian especially a good pizza.
I ordered gluten free which was beautiful & my husband a meat lovers, both were very nice.
Dessert - Nutella calzone & tiramisu..
Both were amazing & my husband is going to have cravings for the calzone until we return to Palm Cove
Definitely recommend for a yummy pizza & dessert!!
Service also very good as they were very busy!

Helpful?
Thank BrookeMcQuilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Small, friendly and unpretentious restaurant that serves great food. We ate here one night on the off chance and were so glad we did. We had a selection of antipasti (prosciutto, buffalo mozzarella, and olives) which were beautiful and two pizzas (a supreme with extra chilli and a Pompeii). It was so good we'd love it if they opened a branch in Sydney!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank natnats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Forno Restaurant also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Il Forno Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing