We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lift your game”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Far Horizons Restaurant - CLOSED

Far Horizons Restaurant
Price range: $9 - $113
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our ‘One Chef's Hat' Far Horizons Restaurant (awarded in 2012 & 2013) and Best Wine list awarded by Gourmet Traveler in 2012 is the only venue in Palm Cove on the absolute beachfront. Enjoy a lazy breakfast, long lunch, sunset cocktails or a relaxed dinner. This award winning restaurant offers a menu leaning towards classic contemporary cuisine and features the finest local produce available.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lift your game”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We dined at Far Horizon on Christmas night and were very disappointed in the experience, the scallop dish I had was over cooked and not nice, my wife enjoyed her entree, I had an eye fillet with a side of mash ( my wife the Duck) and both mains were cold including the mash, the steak had been sitting as it was dry on the outside thankfully it was medium rare inside, the dessert my wife ordered ( banana cheesecake crepe) would have to be one of the worst desserts I have seen in a quality hotel something you would expect at Sizzler. We decided not to return any of the food as there were very long waits for service and we really didnt want the night to drag on. Since there was a 15% premium on the bill I expected the service to be of a good standard, even though the service staff were very pleasant we and everyone around us had to wait a long time for food.This restaurant has the best location in Palm Cove but sadly some of the worst food ! This was my third and final visit ( I am a Local ) Will stick to Nu Nu and Vivo in future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewRUK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    49
    25
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delish with a fab view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Yummy food, fast, friendly service & excellent views. Full panoramic view of the beach & palm trees, it was very relaxing

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAGBR, General Manager at Far Horizons Restaurant, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Hayley J
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments I am so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Nicholas Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

and that is the reason we were there. The service was very hit and miss but the food was acceptable. Would probably return purely for the setting/view.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 123free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAGBR, General Manager at Far Horizons Restaurant, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear 123free
Thank you for your comments on your recent experience. I a glad you enjoyed your meal and sorry the service fell short of your expectations on this occasion. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards
Nicholas Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Disappointing breakfast. For the breathtaking location you would expect a lot better. The breakfast is something you would get from a cheap cafe. Basic meals with no wow factor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAGBR, General Manager at Far Horizons Restaurant, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Laura B
Thank you for your comments on your recent dining experience. I am sorry to hear you found the breakfast was not upto your expectations. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so we can provide you with a meal that does meet your expectations.
Best regards
Nicholas Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We love going here when we are in Palm Cove, the setting is just beautiful, right by the beach and the service is great. The menu has changed since we were here last and the prices were raised but the food is always amazing and so are the cocktails.

Helpful?
Thank Travel_and_try
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAGBR, General Manager at Far Horizons Restaurant, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Travel_and_Try
Thank you for taking the time to write your review I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent dining experience and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards
Nicholas Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far Horizons Restaurant also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing