We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood platter for two”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Far Horizons Restaurant - CLOSED

Far Horizons Restaurant
Price range: $9 - $113
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our ‘One Chef's Hat' Far Horizons Restaurant (awarded in 2012 & 2013) and Best Wine list awarded by Gourmet Traveler in 2012 is the only venue in Palm Cove on the absolute beachfront. Enjoy a lazy breakfast, long lunch, sunset cocktails or a relaxed dinner. This award winning restaurant offers a menu leaning towards classic contemporary cuisine and features the finest local produce available.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Seafood platter for two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful location with good service and the seafood platter for two a killer.

We tried a number of restaurants in palm cove and this and The Reef House were our favourite.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJKing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAGBR, General Manager at Far Horizons Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear MJKing1
Thank you for sending in your review from your recent dining experience. I am delighted that you enjoyed your seafood platter and the service provided.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Nicholas Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    49
    25
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Try elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Lovely location, but whilst the staff are friendly - the service is slow, and some of the staff seem to be disinterested.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveller9987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAGBR, General Manager at Far Horizons Restaurant, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear traveller9987
Thank you for taking the time to post your review from your recent visit.
I am sorry that you found the service to be a little slow. I trust you enjoyed your meal and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Best regards
Nicholas Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Far Horizons will take your breath away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

After a busy year, I escaped to Palm Cove and my time at Far Horizons made it all worthwhile. After spotting the restaurant's coffee and cake signage, I persuaded a friend to walk the length of the esplanade for the deal. A mouthwatering cheesecake and long black, served promptly by professional staff was the perfect start to a relaxing day. With palm trees fringing the foreshore there were uninterrupted views across sparkling oceans with quaint islands dotting the horizon. Another friend arrived for a ladies lunch, during which I chose the salt and pepper squid dish with mango sauce delightfully washed down with lemon, lime and bitters. My account came to $20 meaning value for money in a second to none setting. Is it any wonder a young Japanese couple chose the venue for their wedding on that Spring day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jazznhanoi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAGBR, General Manager at Far Horizons Restaurant, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Jazznhanoi2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us both for Coffee and Cake and also your lunch.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards
Nicholas Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sunday Jazz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had stunning weather, a view that is gorgeous. The jazz was just right, from 2-6 pm on Sundays they have Happy Hour and Jazz, and did I mention the views. A blissful way to spend an afternoon. We have booked to return in 2 weeks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angsana10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAGBR, General Manager at Far Horizons Restaurant, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Angsana 10
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience. I am very pleased that you had a fabulous time and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Our 42nd Wedding Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Now...this Restaurant has class!
Our 42 Wedding Anniversary dinner was intimate, was most appealing in everything we saw, showed some class without being to anal about that class look and focused on the customer being us and everyone else!
The waiters were calm, seemed to be friendly without being "over the top" for that tip....just right.
The food was very good.. Had 1 dozen oysters (nice size too) between the 2 of us. Wife had 3 lamb roast (3 different types of lamb cooked with veggies) I had Vanilla Roast Pork (with crackling), no sweets but I had a 15 year Single malt and Wife had a Baily's.....just to settle the stomach.....that was our excuse.
Costs were reasonable for this type of restaurant ($130+)...and yes we left a tip!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheAngryAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAGBR, General Manager at Far Horizons Restaurant, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Aundry W B
Many Congratulations and Thankyou for taking the time to submit a review on your recent dining experience at Far Horizons.
It is most pleasing that you had a fabulous 42nd Anniversary dinner and tha the food and service were just to your liking.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards
Nicholas Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far Horizons Restaurant also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing